We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I thought staying in the park would be a good thing. When we got to the Grand Canyon, our room was not ready, so we took a tour. We came back at 4:00, check in time. It was still not ready. By 4:30 it had not been inspected yet. Finally, we were allowed access. If I had inspected it, I would have failed it. The rug was filthy. I never took off my shoes. The bathroom had recently been painted, and the fumes were still lingering. The TV and remote were almost non-functional. Since it was April, we didn't need air conditioning, but be aware, there is none. If you choose to stay here, have no expectations and you will not be disappointed. The cafeteria in the lodge is fine. I would suggest looking at the other two hotels in the park that are actually on the rim of the canyon. Better views and they have restaurants, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestChester_PAPerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    1,186
    885
    226
    94
See reviews for
1,148
942
92
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Nothing fancy but a good place to stay. Friendly check in. Clean, odor free rooms. Convenient location with good access to the shuttle bus system. TV was old CRT but we didn't really care. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The lodge offers affordable accommodation in the park. Room is basic and the bathroom not that great - a bit cramped. The mattress was worn out and needs replacement. The room was pleasantly warm as it was freezing outside. Dining options limited to the standard fast food rubbish which you find in these type of places. Priced in line with the overall offering.

Room Tip: Rooms get assigned, no real choice offered. Not worthwhile asking for something better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in the cabins and I was initially worried about doing this because of some negative reviews...but found the cabin perfectly acceptable... Nothing fancy, but clean and convenient...and well-heated (which was a good thing given an April snowstorm). Good value. (We also parked right outside our cabin and could leave our car in that convenient location for our whole stay.) We saved our money and had two lovely meals at El Tovar. We didn't go to the canyon to lounge around in our room, but it was a fine place to sleep, shower, brew a cup of coffee and ready ourselves for a magnificient day. Met our needs just fine!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolCarpeDiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Actual buildings are a 3 star but the location is a solid 4! It was a 4 minute walk to the rim but I enjoyed being away a little further away since I could let the kids wander to cafeteria whenever they wanted without being worried that they might walk down a trail.

Xanterra people are very nice even when I had to call them for a couple of things like a screen door was off its hinges and wouldn't go back on.

Cafeteria food was good portion size and just fine but VERY slow for burgers. They grill each one separately before moving onto the next person. We waited 25 minutes in line and then for ours while the other half of our family grabbed a sandwich and was done.

Beds, linens, bathroom were all average-very average but clean. Pillows were very flat so I borrowed a couple from the rollaway beds in the hallway.

Overall it is about location. It would be nice to have espresso at the cafe but the walk to Bright Angel lodge was lovely in the morning.

Room Tip: Aspen upstairs was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rootsandshoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in a 2nd level north room in the Maswik lodge with two queens. We were one of the buildings further back, so we had the forest behind us which was a nice view out the window. The room was more spacious than I expected and the mini fridg was a bonus. The bathroom was clean and updated with nice tile. The bedding, however, was terrible. The comforters are the thin, dated, hotel style and the pillows we all agreed were the most uncomfortable we've ever had. It was cool at night when we were there and we needed to use the heater. It was unfortunatley loud when it kicked on, but of no surprise for a motel-style. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at Maswik. The location and proximity to the dining area at Maswik was very close and it was a quick walk, car ride or bus ride to El Tovar or anywhere else in the park.

After reading reviews before our trip, I had very low expectations for the Maswik dining area. We were very pleasantly surprised. There were no lines (early April), the food selection was good for us and our two kids and the prices were reasonable. I ordered a reuben from the grill and it was delicious. The cafeteria style was easy, quick and convenient. We would absolutely stay here again and recommend the lodge to friends. We wanted to stay in the national park for the full experience and Maswik delivered.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
353 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We booked a package trip to the Grand Canyon which included a train ride from Williams, AZ. To the Grand Canyon with an overnight stay at the Maswik Lodge and return trip to Williams, AZ. It was well worth the cost. We had a great time. The facilities at both places were excellent, the food at the dining lodges was average as they were both buffets. I like buffets but there needs to be more variety in my opinion for the prices charged. When you are in a tourist trap like the Grand Canyon you expect that the prices are more than average. I don’t mind but I want value for my money. The sights and sounds were absolutely spectacular. One cannot imagine what is the Grand Canyon? It is so beautiful and amazing to see. I am so glad we chose this trip over a visit to another country. We have so much here in America. Do take your children or yourselves to see this 7th Wonder of the World.

Room Tip: It seems that all the rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inspecchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,266 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,894 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,670 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Property: Maswik Lodge
Address: 1 Main St, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing