We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you plan the Bright Angel Trail”
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stay here if you plan the Bright Angel Trail”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We did the Bright Angel Trail and wanted to stay directly at the rim. A plenty of rooms are put together in little houses. The rooms are a little dark but clean and with enough space. Free WiFi is only available at the reception (but very slow connection). The Maswik lodge has a food court which serves not the best food, you can get a big pizza for 15 $ or a burrito for 8 $. The Bright Angel Trailhead is in 5 min walking distance.
If you just wanna sleep directly at the rim, this is your choice!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian-20131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    1,180
    877
    225
    93
See reviews for
1,140
935
90
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at Maswik for two nights prior to our hike into the Grand Canyon. It was a great location, close enough to walk to the rim and Backcountry office, and on the bus line. It's not a fancy motel, but it was clean, well kept, and had a refrigerator in the room. For the price, it's unbeatable to stay in the Canyon unless you are camping. The meals at the cafeteria were fine for our purposes, which kept us quite busy.
The staff there is fabulous. We locked our key in the car, and AAA Xanterra got us out in about a half hour. Our daughter lost a silver earring she had saved for on our way out. I called the Grand Canyon lost and found when we got home, they had the earring, and mailed it to us. Glad I left a good tip for the housekeeper!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertainez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
245 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nothing fancy. For folks that enjoy the Grand Canyon on a smaller budget. Clean but basic accommodations. A good choice to stay if you're into hiking. There is a Hiker's Express bus stop.. leaves 6,7,8,9 AM that will take you to the South Kaibab trailhead and a Back Country ranger station just across from the Maswik Lodge that will answer all your inquiries about trails, weather conditions and tips to help you make your hiking experiences more enjoyable while at the Grand Canyon. If you return from the Colorado River via Bright Angel Trail, you will end up minutes away from the Maswik Lodge when you are back on the rim. A good choice if you plan on taking the South Kaibab Trail down to the river and the Bright Angel Trail up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great Location, nice check in staff.
Average room but clean and reasonable.
Elk outside the room.
Would stay again.
Tip: Eat early and plan your restaurant - not much to choose from and too many people looking.
We ended up in the food hall at the Maswik and it was basic - fast food - but we made do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Nothing beats stopping inside the park, Maswik Lodge was a great choice for my family. It had two restaurants, a gift shop, was a tour pickup/drop off location, and had a lot more close parking spaces than the other lodges in the village. The room was what I expected and all we needed, really. We only were in the room to sleep and shower, we got up at 4am to watch the sun rise then breakfast then trekked down the canyon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theellitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Previously I spent $100 for a room in a super 8. It was large, clean, had a view of a trailer park and the nearest activity was a grocery store.
For the same money I got a room five minutes walk from the edge of the Grand Canyon.
Yes it was small, basic, I think a good word was "rustic" but it was on the edge of one of the seven wonders of the world!
We stayed an extra night and moved to a cabin. Whilst more spacious it was a lot colder than the motel style rooms. May be worth bearing in mind.
Both had a TV, fridge, 2 queen beds. You can get wifi in the common areas.
Laundry facilities would have came in handy, a small gripe.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittenwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at eleven hotels during a 17 day trip to the area and this was by far the worst. Cleanish, maybe, but our room was outdated and you could only get away with it at the price in a National Park. A young woman travelling alone in our party was intimidated to find her bedroom door opened out onto a carpark. She said she was scared and I guess she was probably speaking for most women travelling alone. Our room facilities were adequate, but not nice. I expect nice as standard these days at the price charged. Whatever you do, if you know you are staying at Maswik in advance, make sure you take a torch and use it. There is no lighting in the outdoor public area after dark. I fractured my ankle coming out of the cafeteria, yes I said fractured, still in plaster as I write. Not my fault, I came out of a bright interior onto a tarmac path in the pitch dark and was caught out by the 10 inch drop down to the car park... The route between cafeteria and accommodation should have lighting, duty of care and all that, but doesn't, only spots at each cabin door. The food in the cafeteria was pretty good, no complaints there although the atmosphere was a little institutionalised.

Room Tip: If you are a woman travelling alone you might not like a bedroom opening out straight on the car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Canyon National Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Property: Maswik Lodge
Address: 1 Main St, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing