We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For basic comfort, it was far better than we had imagined”
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Lake Villa, IL
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For basic comfort, it was far better than we had imagined”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in one of the less expensive rooms, not in the main lodge. It was old, but definitely clean and comfortable. I was not expecting much, but it was fine for the night and we were surprised it had a TV and refrigerator. There is no air-conditioning, but it was cold when we were there so it didn't matter. The lodge has a food court, within a short walking distance, so our dinner was good but not expensive. If you are looking for something that is not overpriced (at least we didn't think it was) and functional, you will not be disappointed. We made up our minds this stay wasn't about the room, but seeing the amazing beauty of the canyon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tu2rgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    1,213
    906
    236
    99
See reviews for
1,189
961
96
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent 3 nights here in an older, non-air-conditioned building (#2), and were pleased with the price and the accommodations. The room was fairly spacious except for two areas: 1) narrow traffic lane at foot of 2 queen beds and table and TV. 2) Toilet/tub area was very tight, but OK. Soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion were wall-mounted dispensers and high quality. The room was clean and well-maintained. You can save energy by signaling no new towels or room service by putting out "Do Not Disturb" sign. Two fans were provided and we used them even though temperatures outside were moderate. Room was very dark when the window curtains were closed. Easy walk to main lodge/cafeteria. The Blue Village Shuttle Bus stops right in front of the lodge, and the scenic Red Bus is a very short walk from here. We would definitely stay here again but would book earlier to get a newer room with air-conditioning if there during hot weather.

Room Tip: Book early to get an air-conditioned room in hot months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlrmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The cabin was small which we didn't mind. The carpet was nasty, the bathroom floor and toilet were dirty. The fridge was not cleaned out from the previous guests. The blankets smelled like cigarette smoke. The beds were terrible! With as much money as this place racks in they can afford better mattress! The pillows were horrible and smelled like smoke. However the front desk staff and the transportation lady were very nice and helpful. The food was good, not a bad price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank D'esirae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Canyon National Park hotels

Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We did the Bright Angel Trail and wanted to stay directly at the rim. A plenty of rooms are put together in little houses. The rooms are a little dark but clean and with enough space. Free WiFi is only available at the reception (but very slow connection). The Maswik lodge has a food court which serves not the best food, you can get a big pizza for 15 $ or a burrito for 8 $. The Bright Angel Trailhead is in 5 min walking distance.
If you just wanna sleep directly at the rim, this is your choice!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian-20131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at Maswik for two nights prior to our hike into the Grand Canyon. It was a great location, close enough to walk to the rim and Backcountry office, and on the bus line. It's not a fancy motel, but it was clean, well kept, and had a refrigerator in the room. For the price, it's unbeatable to stay in the Canyon unless you are camping. The meals at the cafeteria were fine for our purposes, which kept us quite busy.
The staff there is fabulous. We locked our key in the car, and AAA Xanterra got us out in about a half hour. Our daughter lost a silver earring she had saved for on our way out. I called the Grand Canyon lost and found when we got home, they had the earring, and mailed it to us. Glad I left a good tip for the housekeeper!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertainez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nothing fancy. For folks that enjoy the Grand Canyon on a smaller budget. Clean but basic accommodations. A good choice to stay if you're into hiking. There is a Hiker's Express bus stop.. leaves 6,7,8,9 AM that will take you to the South Kaibab trailhead and a Back Country ranger station just across from the Maswik Lodge that will answer all your inquiries about trails, weather conditions and tips to help you make your hiking experiences more enjoyable while at the Grand Canyon. If you return from the Colorado River via Bright Angel Trail, you will end up minutes away from the Maswik Lodge when you are back on the rim. A good choice if you plan on taking the South Kaibab Trail down to the river and the Bright Angel Trail up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great Location, nice check in staff.
Average room but clean and reasonable.
Elk outside the room.
Would stay again.
Tip: Eat early and plan your restaurant - not much to choose from and too many people looking.
We ended up in the food hall at the Maswik and it was basic - fast food - but we made do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,430 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,954 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,707 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Property: Maswik Lodge
Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing