We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outdated” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maswik Lodge
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outdated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our room was very outdated and had bugs, including some decent sized spiders. The bathrooms appear to have been updated in the last few years, but had not been cleaned very well. The bedspreads are very old and outdated. Didn't even want to touch them much less sleep under them.
The cafeteria had decent cafeteria style food.
Signs to denote where various rooms are would be helpful, as would lighting for people returning after dark from dinner or sunset tours.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BM8-11-1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    1,148
    853
    221
    87
See reviews for
1,103
914
87
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
529 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

In a nutshell: I am giving this place 5 stars for location, cleanliness, friendliness of check-in staff, ease of reservations, and comfort. As long as you know that this isn't the Ritz, you won't be disappointed. It's basic and clean and you cannot beat the price or the fact that you are a few minutes walk from the GRAND CANYON!!

I have stayed at Grand Canyon lodges several times, always in the Maswik. This is a basic, super-clean, motel-styled lodge in a gorgeous setting. The rooms open to outdoor corridors like in the older hotels. The room is very functional, clean, and has everything you need. The beds were comfy, with clean sheets. The bathroom was small, but clean, with plenty of fresh towels. There’s a small frig, TV, coffee pot, and the heat works. There are 2 fans in the room, so I don’t know if there is airconditioning. There’s a little desk, but no wi-fi, except in the main Maswik area where you check-in.

LOVE the green aspect – shampoos and conditioners and body wash were in stationary, reusable containers, same with the hand soap and lotion at the sink (REALLY reduces plastic waste). I love staying in “green” hotels – but, unfortunately, they are few and far between; I appreciate that this place recycled and even had a recycle bin in the room!

What I love about this place, and other national park lodges, is dealing with the Xanterra Corp. Making reservations is incredibly easy and efficient. You have everything you need when you check in. The lady who checked me in at Maswik was wonderful – she was so nice and helpful, as are all employees from Xanterra I have come into contact with here and at other national park sites.

The rate was AWESOME considering I stayed a few steps from the Grand Canyon. The rate here was better that a rate I got an hour and a half away in Flagstaff, Arizona.

If you have ANY reservations about staying here, forget them. It exceeds all my expectations every time I stay here. Trust me!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent one night here to be near the rim of the Grand Canyon. Check in was easy and quick. The room was better than expected for park lodging. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Bathrooms appear to have been recently updated. Wifi was spotty in the room but got better the closer you were to the main building. Maswik has a nice cafeteria. Very short walking distance to Grand Canyon Rim and other south rim lodges.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gofar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We found the accommodation clean and comfortable. The rooms are large and close to the south rim, you can slip down and watch the early sunrise, just remember to take a jacket.
We found the food sufficient for what we needed. There was variety and whilst not an outstanding meal, it was fine for our needs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in the cabin area of Maswik Lodge. the cabins were neat and clean. They had ceiling fans and heaters . Also coffee makers and a frig. Parking was at your door. The cafeteria had good selections at resonable prices. The walk to the rim was about 5 minutes.
A pleasent surprise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mslbwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Husband booked a room for June 13th-We checked in our room on June 13th and found out the air conditioner did not work-staff told us it takes about 10 minutes for the air con to turn on-After 15 minutes we complained to staff-the room did not appear clean and the queen beds had dirty bedspreads, took bedspreads off the bed only to find the blankets were not clean either. Called the registration office and staff agreed with me that the bedspreads do not get cleaned often(mostly never)--yuck--we canceled our reservation but staff was nice enough not to charge us for the room--and they re-booked us at the Yuvapai lodge. If you like a clean room and clean bed--this is not the place to stay

Room Tip: we left before we could comment on sleep quality but the mattresses appeared to be well worn out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cajunandmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Canyon National Park hotels

Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This place looks straight out of the 70's. Broken down and old facade that has not been updated in decades. The rooms are tired and gross. Sheets had holes in them, bathing towels so rough you could exfoliate with them. Moldy smell in rooms. Blanket is paper thin. I can go on and on and on. The front desk staff is not overwhelmingly helpful and the dining options are terrible. Oh the TV is from the 90's a 25 inch tube TV which kept getting pixelated signals in. Come on this place was BAD.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rustinkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.7 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Property: Maswik Lodge
Address: 1 Main St, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and HotelsClick so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing