We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The cottages were fine but eat elsewhere.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colter Bay Village
GreenLeadersBronze level
DC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The cottages were fine but eat elsewhere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed in the colter bay cottages during our stay in July. The cabins are very rustic but they have bathrooms and heat. We felt the rooms were clean. We spent very little time in the cabin so it suited our family very well. The cottage had 3 beds--2 queens and one twin which worked out nicely and more than enough room for 3 adults and 1 toddler.

The restaurant at colter bay was terrible though. The worst dining experience of our whole 2 week trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arunie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    425
    183
    62
    37
See reviews for
461
362
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We tent camped in the tent-only loop at Colter Bay. Originally we wanted Jenny Lake because we thought Colter Bay would be too busy/noisy but that was full when we arrived. It turned out very nice. The site was clean and wooded enough that you couldn't really see your neighbor. The bear box was such a convenience after staying elsewhere without one and having to repack everything into the trunk after each meal. It was quiet and peaceful, yet only a short drive to the supply store and visitor center. Coming from Yellowstone, this was such a blessing. Next time I'm in the area, I will definitely be staying at Grand Tetons and taking day trips into Yellowstone instead of spending nights in Yellowstone. The customer service at Colter Bay was also fantastic.

We hiked in the area as well, which was amazing. The views of the Tetons are incredible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I knew the cabins would be rustic but that doesn't mean they should be dirty. If housekeeping would put more time into keeping the cabins cleaner, it would be a big improvement. The reading lamps above the beds were installed too low so every time you rolled over, you knocked the lamp - very annoying. Also the location within the park isn't the greatest. We did enjoy the onsite restaurant though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bams220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Traveling as two couples, we stayed in a 2 bedroom / 1 bath cabin. Cabins are definitely rustic. What you would expect when staying in a campground. The price was a bit steep given the rustic accommodations, but that is to be expected given that they are located in the National Park.

Upon arrival we were informed that all of the restaurants had already closed and that the gift shop / grocery store would be closing the next day at the end of the day. Given the number of vehicles we saw, it was obvious that the cabins were mostly occupied. Therefore, you would think that the restaurants and shops would remain open to provide services to the paying guests. Especially when the overnight rate is the same whether you stay at the end of the season (like we did) or a the height of the summer (July/August). The rate should have been reduced given the lack of available services.

As others have noted, there was virtually no water in Jackson Lake.

The description on the website for Colter Bay Village included: that the mountain cabins are located on a beautiful lake; that there is a museum (was closed), lake cruises, guided fishing trips and canoe rentals. None of which were available, yet we were charged the full rate. If the guest services are going to be closed and the lake is bone dry, then the rate should be heavily discounted... at least 20%.

We were fine with the cabin itself... but, were disappointed with the lack of services and the false advertising...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife, sister-in-law and I were at one of the private 2 double bed cabins for couple of nights. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Rooms were decent size and our room was very close to dining areas so that helped immensely. Room had good wifi connection, room service was very good and can't really complain about anything as such. We had bed and breakfast room so got vouchers for a full size breakfast buffet. That was nice since the buffet by itself is about $12-13 per person. The cabins are little hard to find it in the dark since there are hardly any road lights. Its little far from main Teton park attractions and the price wise its above average. The only little fuss we had was with thermostat for heating which was not good enough and room used to get too hot or too cold. Overall, a great stay in the park.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Visited here in late September so it was perfect weather. We stayed in a cabin - these are authentic log cabins - not fancy but they are large, with simple bathrooms and bedding. And very clean. The cabin's locations spread throughout the woods is perfect. Even thought the place was nearly full, it wasn't noisy and felt private. We saw some deer at night and in the morning, just hanging around our cabin. Just a short walk to the marina and shore of Jackson Lake and to nearby restaurant and small bar. We intended to go hiking in the Tetons so this location was a short drive from several trailheads.
My only gripe is that because we were staying near the end of their season they didn't let us know that the restaurant and bar was only open one last night and breakfast was only open one morning. If they could have communicated this to us before we arrived, we could have done some food shopping so we'd have a better breakfast than what you can buy at their little general store.
Nonetheless, everyone was friendly and helpful and seemed to enjoy working there. Why wouldn't you, in such a lovely environment? Great for couples or families too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootallhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We chose Bay Cabins over Lake Jackson Lodge because the rate was about $100/night less. I really expected to be a short walk from the water, but was not. As others have said in September the bay was bone dry. I was told this was unusual. The log cabins looked great from the outside, but the inside was disappointing. There was no carpet and the floor was cold. Lotion, shampoo and conditioner were not supplied. The room was a tight fit, but the bathroom was larger than other park cabins we stayed in. The bed had a hard mattress.

There is a community room on the grounds which has wifi, ice and soda machines. It has sofas, chairs and tables.

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful when I had to return for something I'd forgotten in the room.

We drove to the Lake Jackson Lodge for dinner which turned out really well. We planned to go sit outside on the bar's patio for a drink and then go into the dining room. But the view was so spectacular we ended up ordering sandwiches from the bar and stayed outside for 4 hours. There were moose and elk and a gorgeous sunset!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
14.0 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
23.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
24.0 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa- A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
3.6 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#2 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
9.5 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#3 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Property: Colter Bay Village
Address: Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Region: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing