We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Tetons Retreat”
Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colter Bay Village
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Grand Tetons Retreat”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Colter Bay Village was easy to find, the road and signs were well marked. We were pleased with the location too...we had considered Flagg Ranch and are glad we didn't stay there (too far north...almost can't see the Tetons).

We arrived in a downpour, cold and wet. Front desk were super friendly and efficient in getting us checked in and squared away in our cabin. Loved our log cabin! Woodsy, nice furnishings, wall heater (some cabins have wood stoves). In summer the heat probably isn't an issue, but since we arrived on a very cold wet day, we really appreciated the heater in the room.

Our cabin (212) was very spacious, and had 2 queens and 1 twin bed, a large sofa, desk, several chairs and generous closet space. The bathroom was OK, poor lighting and a shower insert that was dark. However, this was easy to overlook because of the charm of the cabin and its proximity to Colter Bay Village (walking distance to general store, launderette, restaurants and marina).

When we checked out, the staff went above and beyond in helping us resolve an unpleasant issue involving the Mural Room restaurant (at Jackson Lake Lodge). This staff is dedicated to customer service. Oh, and housekeeping overlooked our cabin one day...not sure what happened there. We got fresh towels but she didn't make up the room. No big deal to us, but it might bother some. Our daughter was a housekeeper at Yellowstone Old Faithful so we know how the stress of that job is, we are probably more forgiving in that regard!

If you decide to stay here, you might want to look into how your cabin is heated (if that's important to you). No microwave or fridge in our cabin, that was not an issue for us. Also, there was a barking dog in a nearby cabin...apparently the vacationers just left their dog inside all day (why take your dog on vacation then??). No wi-fi or internet at all inside the cabin, and even though you're supposed to be able to connect to wi-fi from the general store or launderette, we found that unreliable.

Overall we had a fantastic stay (with the backdrop of the Tetons it's almost impossible not to) and were so sorry to leave!

Room Tip: Ask about heating in the cabin, inquire about location (for example, if it's important for you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    433
    187
    63
    38
See reviews for
472
368
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Good location in the Park.
Cabins very basic and furnishings just about okay. Service poor -cabin did not get cleaned despite requesting the front desk.
Definitely have a flashlight if you arrive here at night.as cabin numbers very difficult to locate on the ones that face away from the street.

Room Tip: Many of the cabins have a common wall with other cabins -arrived at about 11.30pm and kids crying an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-K-B0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were so excited to find a cabin that sleeps 5, always a problem in hotels. The cabin was cozy and cute. No problems with ants, but Mosquitos were terrible. Overall the cabin is dimly lit, but you get use to it. Our biggest complaint was the poor selection of food in the restaurants and this high price. Unfortunately it rained every day so we didn't get to do as much hiking as we would have liked. Pack lots of sweatshirts and rain gear! About an hour and a half to Old Faithful, great location to enjoy both parks.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3GoofyKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

“Fantastic Fun”
5 of 5 stars Pending review
We recently stayed at the Colter Bay cabins. I was a little unsure if everyone would like it, as there were 7 of us between the ages of 9 and 75. We all had a blast. The cabins were rustic (no TV, phone, clock, a/c) but were very comfortable and clean. The mattresses were great, it was the best night sleep I had up to that point of the trip. The location was great, right near the lake and within a short distance to great hiking and scenic trails. We tried to extend our stay, but they were full. Book your reservations early and be sure to book at least a few nights! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed in one of the larger cabins (3 beds). It was in good condition and quite spacious. Bathroom was functional. Heater worked but was quite loud. I would definitely stay here again.

Colter Bay has everything you need. No central lodge but nice small grocery store, good restaurant, activities desk and laundromat. Ranger talks in the amphitheater and guided hikes are worthwhile. Very scenic views from the shoreline.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tarheeltraveler367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have been going to GTNP for over 30 years and have loved staying at Signal Mt. due to the proximity to the lake. I have visited Colter Bay Village many times for the store, etc., but stayed in the cabins for the first time this past weekend. I loved it!!! From the staff at the front desk to the staff at the marina, I was treated like family! Go with friends, children, pets, or alone -- you will not be disappointed! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Book early for anywhere in Grand Teton National Park! Ask for anything you might need, they are ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan R, Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your kind response to our accommodations here in Colter Bay. I am so pleased to hear you had such a wonderful time. Our staff goal is to provide authentic, genuine guest service here in Grand Teton National park and it certainly sounds like you had the experience of a lifetime. Thank you again for your response and we welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaffney, South Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in the cabins in Colter Bay Village. They were VERY rustic, complete with ants. Mattresses were in need of replacing. Not very well insulated, you will hear everything your neighbors say. That being said, I would stay here again. I am a country girl and enjoy rustic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewanddonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
3.7 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
18.0 mi away
Grand Targhee Resort
22.6 mi away
Teton Teepee Lodge
Teton Teepee Lodge
#1 of 4 in Alta
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#3 of 14 in Grand Teton National Park
1,829 reviews
9.7 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#4 of 14 in Grand Teton National Park
415 reviews
11.7 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Property: Colter Bay Village
Address: Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Region: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing