We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was everything we were looking for.”
Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colter Bay Village
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 August 2009

As part of a roadtrip from Minnesota to Colorado, we wanted to meet my brother from Montana along the way. My girlfriend suggested meeting near Jackson, Wyoming. I went on line, found Colter Bay, and booked a great cabin. We reserved a campsite for my brother, because he was showing up late. We only stayed two nights, but wished we could have stayed longer. The restaurant/bar was excellent, the laundry and store had everything we needed. By the way, I proposed to her on the bench in front of the store, and people passing by stopped to congradulate us. We certainly will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doughoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

Our cabin was built in 1922. It was rustic but clean. Bathroom small yes but clean. Heat worked well. Restaurant was surprisingly good. Very short walk to marina where breathtaking views appear. Just lovely. Staff was very helpful and I hear the nightly programs are great although the weather did not cooperate for us to attend. We stayed along time ago at Jackson lake lodge but would stay here instead if we were to come back. Went to jackson lodge for morning breakfast in front of the majestic tetons and some hiking. Would stay at Colter Bay Village again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pickytraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This was a very nice place to stay. If you book your rooms 6 or more months in advance you can also get better prices.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We arrive at check in lodge and was greated warmly. Directed to our cabin which was within walking distance of the cafe and store. The one room cabin had very few furnishing but was very clean and well maintained. The beds were cormfortable, however the reading lights over the bed were too low and you could bump your head. We thought the cabins were of good value in price compared to other lodging options. We recommend going to the evening NPS Ranger programs.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank recfun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We were disappointed, after having stayed in 2 Roughrider cabins at Roosevelt in Yellowstone, in the Colter Bay cabins. They are basic, but non-descript and without character. We had 2 rooms in 2 different buildings (so much for clarity in the various possible options when you look online, and telephone conversations obviously also did not make it clear that we were a family of 4, looking for 2 rooms in the same bulding or next to each other. When got there, we were in assigned rooms in different buldings, quite a bit separated, with no room to change). Not the end of the world - we were there for 3 nights only. One of the rooms was across from the back entrance to the restaurant, with the constant hum of the airconditioner. It was also noisy: the walls are thin - our neighbor snored. And lastly - getting to the bathroom meant going outside. In itself not a problem, but so did everyone else in our 'unit' and most left the light on and the door open afterwards - e.g. mosquitos in the BR. And - for our room - the need to get up twice in the middle of the night to turn the light off so we could sleep - the curtains did not block the light.
But the Tetons are magnificinet, and we only slept in the rooms. The cabins are OK as long as you do not expect anything more than slightly above camping.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveltroel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We stayed two nights in a tent cabin at Colter Bay Village. These are not for everyone, but for folks who like to tent camp they can't be beat. (Those who don't would probably want to stay somewhere else) For about $60, you get a mostly canvas/partly wooden "cabin", with two sets of fold down bunks (bring your sleeping bags or rent linens there) and a woodstove. There is an outdoor covered deck and fire ring w/picnic table. All on a concrete pad. There are shared toilets like in most campgrounds. Pay showers are pretty good, but a little distance away. Location can't be beat; right in the park, with easy access to all the amenities of the resort village: restaurant, cafe, grocery store, marina. Also near the national park visitor center and Indian Museum.

The tent cabin looks kind of ratty at first site, but we really enjoyed it. My nine year old and five year old totally loved staying in the cabins.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BronxMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

we stayed one night here b/c we couldn't get a site at jenny lake campground. we got assigned F135 which was right across from the bathroom ($19/night)-- u pay as drive in (CC or cash). apparently this campground does not fill up until early afternoon (2pm)- first come first serve. it was a nice site although we can see our neighbors to our left since trees were not dense enough- but they were far away enough. we had a water spigot right at our site whereas other sites next to us did not. site is spacious and quiet. bathroom had two sinks with mirror, flush toilets. there was a separate room in between men/women bathrooms that had a big sink to do dishwashing, although ur not supposed to. they ask that u wash dishes at your site in pails and then just dump dirty water into this sink.

village is a small town in itself. shower/laundromat, store, gas station, souvenir shop, restaurant/bar. store had everything from packaged meat, veggies, fruits, ice cream, dry foods, drugstore products, alcohol. there is a walking trail around jackson lake-- wear mosquito repellent!!!!! shower is $3.75 for as long as u want. u pay cashier at the front before taking a shower. from what i saw, u can just walk into the shower room and just take a shower without paying. this is a very family-friendly campground. there is a boat marina right on the lake.

beware: if coming from YNP, there is construction on road from south entrance for a few miles. colter bay is ~30 min from south entrance of YNP. it's 30 min from jenny lake campground.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank maven5645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
22.7 mi away
Teton Teepee Lodge
24.4 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
24.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#4 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
2,039 reviews
13.7 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Fla...
#7 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
577 reviews
11.6 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Address: 100 Colter Bay Village Road, Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Region: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range: £195 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think of Colter Bay Village as summer camp for the entire family ~ kayaking, canoeing, horseback riding, log cabins, and a general store. This resort village on the northern shore of Jackson Lake has it all, and provides affordable vacationing. It’s everything you would want in a genuine Grand Teton National Park vacation. Picture a bustling marina with everything from boat rentals and gear shops to restaurants and a visitor center. On the wooded hill nearby, you will find a variety of accommodations where families of all types prepare for the day’s adventure. Colter Bay is an endless, untamed, Jackson Hole type of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing