We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike, not recommended for beginning hikers”

Cascade Canyon Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This uphill trail follows Cascade Creek for 4.5 miles and reaches Hidden Falls.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hike, not recommended for beginning hikers”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was an awesome, though very long, hike. We did about 10 miles of the 13.5 mile hike with our 7 and 14 year old sons. It was very hot with no shade in a few areas so if you don't do well in the heat, don't go in July. There was a great spot about halfway through the hike that had an area that you could dip your feet it and throw rocks. We rested here for a bit on the way in and the way back and it was nice and shady and cozy. We saw a moose eating near the lake and a bunch of other animals. A lot of people had said they had seen a bear near the trail in the days surrounding our hike but we had no sign of him, kind of disappointed to be honest. We were prepared with bear spray and a bear bell just in case so make sure you take precautions if going on this trail. The only annoying part of this trail was the boat ride over cost us about $65 for a family of four. It was a less than 10 minute ride over so I don't know where they came up with the prices but it was still worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessBubblegum197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    30
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great views of nature and wild life”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This trail starts after you get to inspiration point. If you want to read about the first part of the hike, go to the attraction page for inspiration point.

Cascade Canyon Trail has many breathtaking views of mountains, waterfalls, cascades, rivers and wild life. About half way up the 4.5 mile trail we ran into a Bull Moose who was about 75 yards off the trail laying down in the river. He was still growing his rack, but he was definitely a big bull. Not trophy size, but big. About another mile up the trail we ran into a Cow Moose about 125 yards off the trail in the river. She was probably about the same size as the Bull we saw, so she was a really big female.

We were also followed by chipmunks for a while.

One of the animals that I thought we would never see was the Pika. We happened to be resting near some rocks and one just popped its little head out of the rocks to say hello.

What an awesome experience to be on this trail. Without a doubt worth the 1/2 to 3/4 of a day to hike up and back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Husker_0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AWESOME HIKE!!!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was a great day hike and my friends and I thoroughly enjoy it. Along the way to cascade canyons, we will meet with Hidden Falls and Inspiration Point. The total round trip hike is 13.5 miles and depending on your pace it will take approximately 6-7 hours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jenkai92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
221 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Waterfalls and Snow Fields in July”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Beautiful flowers and scenery on a five hour hike. The first mile or so is very steep and rocky, but then flattens out into a gradually rising canyon looking straight up to the Grand Teton itself.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank CarrollZahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Crowded at the beginning but really good later on”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Up to the Inspiration Point it was a very crowded hike. Beautiful views, but you must be comfortable with the crowds. As you move further into the canyon it becomes a lot more remote, we saw 2 bears and moose on the trail. Lovely and flat enough for the kids to not get too tired.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KasiaLindhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cascade Canyon Trail also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 

Been to Cascade Canyon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing