We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough hike, but well worth doing!”
Review of Lake Solitude

Lake Solitude
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic lake popular with hikers and located in Grand Teton National Park.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Tough hike, but well worth doing!”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The roundtrip from the boat dock on Jenny Lake is nearly 20 miles, so cut 4 of those and pay the $10 bucks and have the boat shuttle you across Jenny Lake and back (you'll be glad on the return you didn't have to go another 2 miles). The first 4.5 miles of this trail are fairly easy and anyone with stamina and in relatively good health, and starting early (7AM is first boat crossing) can do it. The trail forks at the top of the canyon, and the right fork leads to Lake Solitude, another nearly 3 miles out. The distance is not so tough, but you must climb about 1200 or so feet over that distance, and as altitude is getting to the "beyond tree level" point the air thins a bit. Bring lots of water and bars and you'll be rewarded with a spectacular tarn (lake formed in a glacial cirque) that abuts the mountains rising another 2000 feet in front of you. Wow! Pizza and beer at Leeks Marina tonight!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Hikemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This beautiful lake is quite a hike to reach. One path is down the Cascade trail then to the Lake Solitude trail. This is the easier route. Cascade is easy both ways but Lake Solitude is a little uphill toward the lake. The much more challenging route but recommended it up Paintbrush canyon and over the Paintbrush divide then down the long downslope to the Lake. You can also do the loop. It's around 17 miles.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FECTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south WI
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Up close moose was a highlight”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We were not "in shape" for the 18 miles that this hike demands. We could have taken, shuttle, but opted for the full experience. Glad we did it. Plan on a lot of congestion at hidden falls and inspiration point, but once on cascade trail, a lot of quiet. Saw several moose n this 4 mile stretch, before heading NW to lake solitude.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank appalachiantrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hike!”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Wife & I hiked there from the Lake Jenny side & it was fantastic! We saw moose, marmots and a huge variety of birds. The views are incredible & we took some of the best pictures of our trip. We did the hike in the beginning of June & the last couple of miles were completely covered in snow. Not so much that it couldn't be hiked but enough to slow things down. The snow also covered trail markers so there is some guess work required at the end. At one point we saw a bridge & realized we were about 100 yards off the trail. It should be noted that the very end of the hike is very steep.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jeremy78Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful Alpine Lake and Meadows”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I'd recommend visiting this lake on the Paintbrush-Cascade Loop - assuming the snow lets you over Paintbrush Divide. Cascade Canyon is a beautiful hike up to the lake, but if you can do Paintbrush in the same day, that's an incredible canyon!! I'd recommending going up Paintbrush and out Cascade. I have a lovely peaceful lunch at Lake Solitude. You won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Aduncan722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Solitude also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 

Been to Lake Solitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing