We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post sunrise visit worked for us”
Review of Haleakala Crater

Haleakala Crater
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.00*
and up
Maui: Haleakala - Ioa Valley - Lahaina Tour
More Info
US$130.00*
and up
Maui Haleakala Day Bike Tour
More Info
US$150.00*
and up
Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A dormant volcano measuring 10,000 feet above sea level, it is Maui's highest point.
S.E. PA
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Post sunrise visit worked for us”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were told hundreds of people trek up each morning to view sunrise atop the crater rim. If you do, dress warm and prepare for traffic. We visited around 11am as part of our bike ride down the mountain. At that time it was warm enough for shorts and t-shirts. It's a pretty easy van ride up the mountain. We were told that riding bikes down as part of the sunrise tour can get a little hairy as there is a great deal of traffic coming off the mountain in the morning.

The views are great and the bike guides provided plenty of information about the crater and the interesting US observatory and "star wars" facility atop the crater. They also told us about the protected silverswords plant and program to replenish the plant around the crater.

I recommend you take the time to see the crater no mater what time of day. It's amazing. It's best described as the surface of Mars. It's a real natural gem on Maui.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LuvDaSun222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,863
    938
    181
    48
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunset July 14th”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Just a handful of cars for sunset. Really spectacular view, fortunate clouds cleared. The time between 6:50 and 7:30 pm are photo worthy. Temps at sunset 49-50 deg F. We waited for sunset at the summit visitor center where temps seemed 10 deg warmer.

As noted, no food or gas are near. Would advise you bring some snacks and fluids no matter what time you go. We had a transit time of 3 hours. Add your time at the park and someone will be hungry or thirsty.

Also recommend Sudafed or similar meds before your ascent. It's 10,000 feet above sea level. Even with, I struggled with head and sinus up and down. Dope up & be prepared with some pain meds.

Look forward to a sunrise or sunset visit next time on the island. The entire mountain is worth some serious study.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Whon-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Must see”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The day that we went was very overcast but right when we walked up to the crater it cleared! Absolutely breathtaking! It is very chilly though so I would suggest a jacket and possibly light pants or something. The drive is not the best but if you tried the Road to Hana it is a breeze for sure!

Helpful?
Thank Mallory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great! And you don't have to hike!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We ended up driving to the crater on a spur of the moment decision. Luckily, we had long sleeves, but I was wearing high heeled sandals. I was worried about that, but we made it all the way to the Summit and I was able to walk all the way around and see each wonderful vantage point with no issues. We seemed to recall reading that this was a 4 hour round-trip tour, but we made it up, around, and back down in an hour and a half and did not feel that we missed the views, so feel free to squeeze it in. This is an un-earthly landscape that is very worthwhile.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Make time to see this unworldly place! My husband and I hiked on the Sliding Sands Trail into the Haleakala Crater, and the views were amazing! It's definitely a hike (we didn't have time to hike the whole trail) so make time for it. Also, going down into the crater was easy, but come back out of it and walking on a sandy trail was tiring! Make sure you have food and lots of water. Most of the people that we talked to said it took twice as long to hike out it. We heard that some people were camping in the crater and some folks were taking bike rides down the mountain (though this has been controversial if you read about it online). The view of the crater is amazing though - it looks like you are walking on Mars! The sands are multi-colored and beautiful. The drive up was also amazing as you literally drive through the clouds. If you can watch either the sunrise or sunset, you are in for a treat! The temperature definitely drops so be prepared. We were lucky that it was only in the 50s at night, but we brought sweatshirts, jeans, and a blanket from our condo so we were fine. We heard that in the morning it can be in the 30s so pack a jacket and warm clothing otherwise you will be miserable! To watch the sunrise/sunset, be prepared to be outside for at LEAST 30 minutes. To be above the clouds is absolutely amazing. You must do this!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haleakala Crater also viewed

 

Been to Haleakala Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing