We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must”
Review of Haleakala Crater

Haleakala Crater
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.00*
and up
Maui: Haleakala - Ioa Valley - Lahaina Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A dormant volcano measuring 10,000 feet above sea level, it is Maui's highest point.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went for sunset and it was brilliant. As most people note it is fairly cold at the summit so be prepared.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NLtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,704
    915
    175
    46
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strengelbach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Coming from Kahlui we first missed the turn on Hwy 37 towards Haleakala. As it was around lunch time we headed towards Hana for a few miles to enjoy a delicious lunch at Mama's Fishouse in Paia. After this culinary delight we made our way up the serpentines to the top of Haleakala. Clouds and mist were lurching up the slopes of Haleakala right to the caldera. Very impressive sights nad well worth the xth visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank peterringier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome ”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views. Great drive. Nice break from the beaches. Bring sweatshirts and even some running shoes or something descent to walk in. Don't forget the camera. Great photo ops.

Helpful?
1 Thank rpmotocross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Volcano trip with family”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Driving up to the volcano is a beautiful drive. We went with three children and they loved the landscape. We made two stops on the way to break it up for them and although the road up is a bit windy we all did fine without any motion sickness.
It is relatively inexpensive to get into the park which is awesome and there are very good informational signs at the crater.
A very short walk to the top of the summit for amazing views of the crater. Our almost 3 year old "hiked" up with complete ease but we saw lots of tourists wearing flip flops and heels which are totally inappropriate footwear for a rocky terrain.
Was cool temperature and wished we had brought a sweater but it wasn't that bad. Bring lunch or snacks and water as there is nowhere to stop nearby for food or drinks.
This is a super trip, well worth it and loved the landscape.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneMarieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.E. PA
Level Contributor
312 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Post sunrise visit worked for us”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were told hundreds of people trek up each morning to view sunrise atop the crater rim. If you do, dress warm and prepare for traffic. We visited around 11am as part of our bike ride down the mountain. At that time it was warm enough for shorts and t-shirts. It's a pretty easy van ride up the mountain. We were told that riding bikes down as part of the sunrise tour can get a little hairy as there is a great deal of traffic coming off the mountain in the morning.

The views are great and the bike guides provided plenty of information about the crater and the interesting US observatory and "star wars" facility atop the crater. They also told us about the protected silverswords plant and program to replenish the plant around the crater.

I recommend you take the time to see the crater no mater what time of day. It's amazing. It's best described as the surface of Mars. It's a real natural gem on Maui.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LuvDaSun222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haleakala Crater also viewed

 

Been to Haleakala Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing