We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Part - Bamboo Forest”
Review of Pipiwai Trail

Pipiwai Trail
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$118.42*
and up
Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic hiking and horseback riding trail that features major waterfalls, beautiful pools and an eerie bamboo forest.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Favorite Part - Bamboo Forest”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was a really fun trail. Difficult to get to (end of road to Hana) but a good one. As I mentioned, my favorite part was the bamboo forest - I hike a lot and this was my first experience with it. We went down to the waterfall pools afterwards for a quick swim.

Tip: Try to get there no later than 2-3pm

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JAKHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    143
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome hike - sad the pools were closed”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good length hike (we are casual hikers) with a few challenging spots but overall an average difficulty. Not a whole ton to see on the first half of the trail but there are a few highlights and the banyan tree clearing is pretty cool. The bamboo forest was surreal - it looked like something out of crouching tiger hidden dragon movie. The sound was pretty cool as the bamboo knocked against each other. It was a rainy day when we went so I was very happy that the especially muddy areas had a boardwalk installed so we didn't get totally covered.

Waimoku falls was gorgeous but the 7 pools / bottom of waterfall was closed due to high waters/bacteria concerns. We went as far as the signs allowed (and maybe a few steps more) to take some pictures and then headed back. I think overall it took us just over 2 hours to get in and back (we didn't spend a ton of time at any of the various spots in the hike). I would do it again if the pools were opened.

There are bathrooms and plenty of parking at the entrance to the park. There is a little store there as well but it mostly sells souvenirs, I was surprised they didn't sell water or anything else of that nature. We totally could have gone for a nice Popsicle or something frozen when we got back to the car!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cailet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the Effort!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very scenic and moderately strenuous trail. It took us the average of 2 hrs and my husband is not much of a hiker. Bring shoes! I changed out of my flip flops for this one and felt sorry for those who didn't. Think stubbed toes.

Hint: Take this trail first and then take the 1/2 mile trail to cool off in the pools below.

The Giant Banyan tree is lovely and the bamboo forest sounds like a giant set of bamboo wind chimes. Here it gets cooler and less humid and lets you know you are close to the falls which are in and of themselves awe inspiring.

I'm surprised about someone saying that parking is $10, which is rather misleading; this is part of the Haleakala national park and you are paying the park entrance fee. If you paid at crater road, you don't have to pay again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Heyeokah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kula, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trail!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Parking $10

2.25hr round trip hike to the end

Detour to infinity pool slightly illegal but totally worth it and gorgeous. The swim in the pool was plenty refreshing and made for an awesome photo.

Bamboo Forest tranquil

Bring keens so you can hike and not worry about getting wet. Bring lots of water, sunscreen, and some mosquito repellant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hike to Waimoku Falls”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This trail takes you to the 400-foot Waimoku waterfalls. It is a 4-mile round trip hike that is definitely worth the effort. This is a moderate+ hike and not for the very young or very over weight. It has gotten more difficult over the years (this our 3rd trip in about 10 years), probably due to erosion. The National Park Service has done a fine job maintaining the trail, but can only do so much. The hike takes you past a large banyan tree, over and past several other waterfalls, and through a bamboo forest before reaching the Waimoku Falls. Several signs warn you of the dangers and possible fatalities along the way. Within 100 feet of the falls is a sign like this and warns of a $100 fine if caught going beyond this sign due to safety issues. All other hikers (including us) that arrived when we did took the chance and went the 100 feet further up the trail to the waterfalls. During our previous hikes up here, the signs were not posted. Make up your own mind whether it is worth the risk to continue all the way to the waterfalls. The hike down is nearly as strenuous as the hike up. Park across the street, where you can also visit the seven pools, for a $10 fee. If someone in your group is disabled and has a National Park Membership you can park for free.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pipiwai Trail also viewed

 

Been to Pipiwai Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing