We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renewed our awe with the planet!”

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$205.00*
and up
Triple Crater Hawaii Volcano Hiking Adventure
More Info
US$95.50*
and up
Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Waterfall Red Lava Glow Viewing Tour from Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
redlands, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Renewed our awe with the planet!”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I knew it would be good but I didn't expect it to be THIS good! Since we were staying on the west side of the island, we got up early to drive to the southeast portion, giving us plenty of the day to explore the park. As we neared the park, we experienced "vog" (volcanic fog) and watch the landscape change from greenery and flowers to hills of lava and desolate wilderness. The park was anything but desolate! We started off with a tour from the visitor's center. Travis, our tourguide, was full of fascinating facts, so much to remember that I wished I had taken notes to refer to during one of our many hikes that day. At the end of our tour, he sang to us a traditional Hawaiian song about respect of the volcano and its place in the birth of new land. It was haunting, for sure! Later, on our own, we hiked past vents huffing with sulfur-scented steam, along lava-lined trails bursting with the color of wild orchids and tropical plants, weaving around the rims of slumbering cones. All this to the tune of the many songs of Hawaiian's songbirds. We couldn't get enough. At the end of the day, we saw the orange/red/yellow glow of Kilahuea illuminating the night sky. While there were no eruptions and flows that day, we were amazing at all we saw. The trip was too short. Yes, we'll be back! P.S. On the way home, it was very late. We rolled down our windows and drove with the accompaniment of the eerie and loud peeping of Hawaii's frogs.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lileduk8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,925
    1,084
    210
    29
    15
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Islip, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not miss!!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We visited the Park on 7/16/2012 and were amazed. My kids normally aren't big on the sight seeing things, but we set out to only do the drive around Crater Rim Drive, but we ended up also driving down the Chain of Craters Road. The kids loved it. It is well worth the drive down Chain of Craters Road to see the Sea Arch at the end. Don't miss the Thurston Lava Tube, too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Welll worth the time”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We did a day trip from Maui. Booked flights and a rental car myself and saved >50% over the cost of an organized tour. Well worth the trip! Steam vents, lava tube, chain of craters road, amazine crasing waves at the end of that road. Spectacular. Museum is very nice too. Nice educational and scenic trip for the family. Memorable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank IntuitivelyObvious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome at dusk”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We did this as a day trip from Waikola and visited Rainbow falls on the way. A must see visit awesome - we did a small hike from the visitor centre to the lava tunnels and then went back just before dusk and saw the volacano glowing as it turned to night. if you visit Big Island you have to go to this huge live volcano! If you do the night tour take something warm to wear, it's 9,500 ft above sea level and get quite chilly late afternoon and into the evening.

Helpful?
Thank DAFYDDHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Must See while on the Big Island”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

It was amazing to see the top of the volcano. Steam is puffing out of the crater in thick clouds. You actually can't see any free flowing lava except through a helicopter tour. The experience is still unforgettable. There are steam vents located in several places throughout the park. The Jagger Museam is pretty interesting and it was fun to give it a quick walkthrough. The Thurston Lava Tube is also an amazing natural phenomena that is a must explore before leaving the park.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Courtney2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawaii Volcanoes National Park also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing