We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day Trip”

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$205.00*
and up
Triple Crater Hawaii Volcano Hiking Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Day Trip”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We visited the National Park in March 2013. The park is huge and they have miles and miles of trails you can walk if you are up for an all-day trek. We decided to stay in our rented jeep wrangler and explore the park that way, considering the wind was blowing about 25 mph and it was about 20 degrees cooler up on top! The park is truly amazing in that there are still 2 active volcanoes that are erupting sulfur and other gasses on a daily basis. Because of this, the north rim of the volcano was too dangerous to get close to, and the park was closed on that side. We did get out and take a lot of picture of the steam vents and the crater. We heard you could do a helicopter ride where you actually got to see lava flowing into the ocean but did not have time as this was just a day trip to the Big Island.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,744
    1,052
    204
    29
    15
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots to see here”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was our first trip to see a live volcano. We visited several times, to see the park fully. The petroglyphs are excellent, and they photograph well after a light rain. We were fogged in and did not get the best evening glow, so keep an eye to the weather. Also, if anyone in the group is sensitive to the sulfur fumes, there is a website to check the direction of flow - very helpful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved the Park!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great hikes that take you through steaming vents.Amazing night views of the glowing lava pool in the crater.We enjoyed staying at the Volcano House.The information at The Visitor Center and over at Kilauea Crater was fascinating.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank onthegoallthetime57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
170 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

There are few words to describe this park. We both found it amazing to see everything from the active steam vents, to the Thurston lava tubes, the Kilauea Iki Crater, the Chain of craters drive and the "glow" at night from Jaggar Museum. Definitely worth spending time here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TrudyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was good, except..”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was hoping to drive the Crater Rim, but due to high fumes, could not go too far, but saw the Lava Tube and just took pics from afar. Overall, just amazing to see the real power of what the earth has to offer!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawaii Volcanoes National Park also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing