We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like no where else on earth!”

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$205.00*
and up
Triple Crater Hawaii Volcano Hiking Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Like no where else on earth!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We visited as part of the Circle Island tour 15 years ago and knew we wanted to go back. This time we planned a full day and a stay over night. I highly recommend taking your time through the park, driving down to the end of the road and walking to where the lava crosses the road and see the sea arch. You MUST witness this incredible location after dark! It is truly amazing!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank wdw4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,745
    1,052
    204
    29
    15
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Loysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Once in a life time”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This place is simply amazing!!!! We stayed in the volcano area for 3 days, beyond words if you get the chance to visit ...you must.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kids21510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must in Hilo”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

An amazing and unforgettable Geology class in gorgeous Hawaii! Interesting road trip where you can see all those different types of rocks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RickTambosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Danger in the Lurking”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I absolutely loved touring the geological formations of Volcanoes National Park from a helicopter. However, it was not until we were hovering over the crater of molten rock that I realized should an equipment failure occur, and the pilot was forced to land, we would surely die. That thought made the hike on land seem very appealing. It's amazing that for miles and miles you see
baron smoldering land that cannot anything, then suddenly you're in the Hawaiian jungle. The visitor center has a lot of information, and in the evening you can view the activity from the craters. If you want to get up close and personal with the volcano, the best way to view the park is by air.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ToniaPoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Visited the lava tube - a tunnel created by lava flow. This was simply amazing. The short hike to the tube was also interesting as we got to hike through the rainforest and observed some unique tropical plants and wild flowers.

Can be chilly with slight showers. Hence, a wind breaker will be handy.

Visited the Visitors' Centre with a clear view of the crater which still has lava. The centre's museum was quite resourceful as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JL7712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawaii Volcanoes National Park also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing