We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for park only”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location for park only”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

KMC is a great place for viewing the volcano attractions in and around the park but far from everything else that the Big Island has to offer. Not much outside the park and Hilo is about 30 miles away. 95 miles to Kona side so if you can, split your trip between the park and Kona.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    102
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
89
90
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have stayed in historic cabins and rooms within several National Parks, and this is one of the best! We had a two bedroom with kitchen, and it provided a very enjoyable "camping" experience. You will be disappointed if you are expecting a luxurious resort. The cafeteria is OK, the fast food is good, the general store well-stocked, and the laundry facility very good . We didn't use the recreation or movie facilities, but these would be terrific for a family with children. KMC provided a home-base as we explored the National Park and also drove in a complete circle around the island. It was only 35 minutes from Hilo Airport. Take advantage if you qualify.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I for one after 22 yrs in the military, very much appreciate the facility and thankfull that with all the federal budget cuts, its still open. Its not the Hilton, but neither are the prices . If you have complaints, then your roughest day in the service must have been at a Motel 6 years ago. Thanks for the opportunity to stay at the facility and with a little work on clean up, it should be fine for anyone that chooses to stay there. Great experience, thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 91USARETIRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The words Military Camp set the tone for my expectations. "Camp" do not confuse with hotel or the Four Seasons and I've stayed at the four seasons several times and I thought KMC was just charming. Not to mention how old the place is and they are in the midst of making it a historical property. Compared to a couple of hotels in Hilo town, the camp and its facilities are far greater. The Kilauea Lodge which is right outside the park in Volcano is a B&B and pretty nice, but for the money and facilities for a family traveling with little kids... KMC is a winner! For my active boys, they had plenty to do at the camp as well as Volcanoes National Park. They played tennis, bowled, went on nature walks, played at the playground, made their own ice cream in the dining hall! Don't forget the lava tube and black sand beach with Turtles and building a fire in the fireplace. Lots to do for 3 nights. (we had to bowl every day to keep the boys happy)
We had a two bedroom cabin with a fully stocked kitchen, one full bath (with the jetted tub) and the other one was a half bath. The beds were comfortable and easy to push together so they were safe for sleeping. Each room of the cabin has a heater and we sure needed it. The kitchen table sat 6 and right out the back door of the kitchen we had our own parking space. There were several large umbrellas in the cabin, as well as flashlights. The couches were a little stained, but it didn't bother us. The (original) hardwood floors were nice, windows and black out curtains all worked fine, so did the fire place. The tv had a built in DVD player and the back room had a flat screen tv mounted on the wall. It was also pretty clean, except for 3 Hershey candy wrappers I found while my sons were looking for treasure under the twin beds.
The store had just about everything - even children's acedomedophin which we needed when my son came down with a fever. The fire dept and ambulance are right on the property as well - near the gas station. The dining facility was ok. It was better to order off the menu. The teriyaki chicken was great and the salads, fruit, papaya and French toast were good. We didn't rent any equipment aside from bowling and we didn't use the gym, laundry facility or watch movies. The boys played a couple of games in the arcade and I had a Starbucks latte (no soy avail).
the first night we saw a large group of children visiting the mess hall and we were almost afraid to go in, we did anyway and it wasn't a problem, even though some of the salad bar items were low. We ventured out for a nice meal in Volcano at the Volcano Rock Cafe. Superb music and the Lilikoi salad dressing...a house specialty...was amazing! They also sell the original Lilikoi Butter next door in their store -- we went back the next day looking for the dressing.
All in all, we had a great time at KMC and are planning to return during the summer. Hopefully the cutbacks that are happening with our federal government won't affect this very special place.
I must mention also, that the ladies at registration are so nice and knowledgeable and anyone we encountered had Aloha.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NuuanuBrownies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed in a large 2-bedroom cabin with kitchen. It was a stone cottage next to the general store. The cabin was roomy and comfortable. It's a fun place, especially when you consider the proximity to the volcano crater...you are sleeping ON the volcano! We only had breakfast at the cafe, and it was decent for the price. We bowled one night and had a tasty volcano themed drink at the Lava Lounge. We spent two nights, which was plenty. It rained a lot. Each cabin is equipped with umbrellas. You can almost see the red glow from the crater from the cabin. I would definately visit again, it would be a great base from which to hike in the park. There are fireplaces in each cabin, you can buy wood at the general store. Great prices on Hawaiian coffee and gifts at the general store.

Room Tip: Our cabin with a kitchen was HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WIstoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackenbach
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Facilities are above average for the comparative price in Hawaii. They are slightly aged, but absolutely acceptable for a family of four who spent most of our time sight-seeing. The location is key - inside the park and near the black sand / sea turtle beaches. Bring your running shoes hiking boots because sandles just won't cut it. Wireless Internet was available for a fee, but I found my GSM data to be faster and more reliable (tether if you need to do work while there). We ate at the buffet once (exhausted from a day trip) and it was okay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank mtboger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
249 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Thankfully, we stayed only one night in Cottage 24 (2 bedroom with kitchen). When we arrived the garbage can outside of the front door was overflowing with trash to make a good first impression. When we opened the front door, we were overcome with the stench of fireplace smoke from prior guests. The furniture was well worn and in desperate need of replacement. The unit had a newer main bath (with a rear exit), but everything else needed updating badly. Not all of the windows were secure. At least it was clean. The front desk staff was friendly and polite and there's internet access in the lobby. It's shameful that they charge our DoD members so much for lodging this poor. It's convenient to stay in Volcanoes National Park, but that's about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 50StateVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.0 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
800 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
388 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
760 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
294 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Property: Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Military Camp, a Pacific Lodging Recreation Lodging facility is for the Active, Retired Military along with DoD Civilians, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserves, and Sponsored Guests. Valid Military ID or Department of Defense ID and current Leave and Earnings Statement is required for check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing