We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I work within the travel industry and spent quite a bit of time researching the Big island in order to make a decision as to where to stay. We were island hoping so the 5 days we were spending on the big island were for the sole purpose of hiking, as were also "doing the resort thing" on another island. We were traveling with our adult children, who at first glance were very disappointed with the property (somehow they were expecting more palm trees & beaches). It ended up to be perfect as we had plenty of room to spread out so that we could all have some down time each day. It is certainly not a fancy place but very comfortable and our gal from housekeeping was awesome and very accommodating. The front desk staff was most helpful and gave us some great travel tips too. The food has a little to be desired, especially after you just spent a few days on a resort so we ended up picking up things to have for breakfast in the cabin but we did eat in the cafeteria twice and it was fine. It seemed like many tour groups have some sort of relationship with the camp as there were often tour vans there at meal time but it was a big place and they moved people in and out quickly. It was sort of a pain to drive so far to different locations but interesting that we met many people in the course of our travels who basically said that no matter where you stay on the island, you have to drive long distances in order to see everything. We talked about splitting our time between two places but decided it was a hassle to move and the price of this place couldn't be beat...I'm glad we just stayed put!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    102
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
89
90
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This visit was a time of nostalgia for my husband, who came here with his parents as a child. We now brought our daughter and her family. Not much has changed, except, as my husband said, the streets are now paved with asphalt. Still, it is a great place to stay, especially on the side of a volcano.

We went to the visitor center first, watched a movie there on the park, and then went to check-in. The process was easy and the staff very pleasant. They gave us a map of the facility, which was a great help in finding our cabin. Our accommodations were terrific, albeit not fancy. There were 6 of us, and we had 4 bedrooms, two baths, and a living room with fireplace. There were umbrellas for us in the closet, and because it was drizzly out, they came in handy.

As others have reported, there are all sorts of "extras" at the camp, e.g., basketball court, tennis court, gas station, baseball field, laundromat, theater, chapel, post office, etc. We did not use any of them, for we had only one night there. We did go into the PX, which had a variety of items at what we thought were steep prices. (We had bought nice flip flops at Costco 3 days before in Kailua Kona, and the price there was 19.95. They were $30+ at the PX.) Food items were more reasonably priced. We ate at the mess hall, and that was nice simple fare. The all inclusive (salad bar, drink, ice cream) short ribs cost $15.95, the teriyaki chicken (yummy) $12.95, the NY steak (which was not great) $21.95. The all inclusive buffet cost $10.50, the all inclusive children's dinner was $7.50, and the children's bbq chicken was $1.50. Should you like to eat elsewhere, the Volcano House is down the road. Because we had no reservations, we would have waited over 1 1/2 hours, so we chose to eat at the camp.

There is an entrance to a hiking path right across the street from the flagpole, and my husband and I chose to hike the crater rim along this path, which our daughter and her family chose a more strenuous hike along the rim and into the crater, We went to the Jaggar museum to see the volcano caldera at night, a wonderful experience. We drove down the road to the ocean and saw the Pu'u Loa petroglyphs, the Holei sea arch, and the area where the lava flows into the ocean. Unfortunately you can't get close to that, but the drive down through the lava fields is amazing. We stopped at the Thurston lava tube, and because it was getting late, we were the only ones in it. So cool.....

Would I stay at KMC again? Absolutely....and I hope that a fifth generation will visit it in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schneewitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Really enjoyed our time here back in April. The mana pua or char-Sui bao at the store rocked. Locals were cool, the aloha spirit is strong here. Regular folks, I got invited to boar hunt. Maybe next time. The history of KMC and walking around like Ike was neat. There were some halau's practicing before the Merrie Monarch Festival. Was able to watch them a little. Hula and the music going on was a treat. That's the kinda stuff you see here. Then there is the magic of the volcano..... what can you say?
The bungalows are clean and everything works. Staff are great. The food at the chow hall was basic and really good. You want fancy, go back down the mountain. Stay a night or two on Kilauea, it is a special place. And KMC rocks.....Aloha!

Room Tip: One bedroom bungalows are perfect for a couple, get the larger ones if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maui-Honu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, MT
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

There are only two places to lodge inside the park. This is one of them. Place is in good shape. Pictures are accurate. Obviously price is based on rank, so depends if that is a good deal or not. They do have a shoppette on the property, seems like anyone can use it. I saw a foreign tour group make purchases and then get in their van.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

KMC is a great place for viewing the volcano attractions in and around the park but far from everything else that the Big Island has to offer. Not much outside the park and Hilo is about 30 miles away. 95 miles to Kona side so if you can, split your trip between the park and Kona.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have stayed in historic cabins and rooms within several National Parks, and this is one of the best! We had a two bedroom with kitchen, and it provided a very enjoyable "camping" experience. You will be disappointed if you are expecting a luxurious resort. The cafeteria is OK, the fast food is good, the general store well-stocked, and the laundry facility very good . We didn't use the recreation or movie facilities, but these would be terrific for a family with children. KMC provided a home-base as we explored the National Park and also drove in a complete circle around the island. It was only 35 minutes from Hilo Airport. Take advantage if you qualify.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I for one after 22 yrs in the military, very much appreciate the facility and thankfull that with all the federal budget cuts, its still open. Its not the Hilton, but neither are the prices . If you have complaints, then your roughest day in the service must have been at a Motel 6 years ago. Thanks for the opportunity to stay at the facility and with a little work on clean up, it should be fine for anyone that chooses to stay there. Great experience, thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 91USARETIRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
2.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
49.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Property: Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Military Camp, a Pacific Lodging Recreation Lodging facility is for the Active, Retired Military along with DoD Civilians, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserves, and Sponsored Guests. Valid Military ID or Department of Defense ID and current Leave and Earnings Statement is required for check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing