We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome value and great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Awesome value and great location”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

So the draw for us to the Big Island was the Volcano State Park and you can't get any closer than staying inside the park. Our little cottage was perfect for the 2 of us. Separate bedroom and living room with a fire place. We had a mini fridge and a microwave which was fine for us over a long weekend but they do have units with full kitchens. This place has some good amenities too; an onsite lounge, restaurant, bowling alley with snack bar, ticket and tour office, movie theater, gym, game room, internet game room, and sports courts. I guarantee you that you can't get better for your dollar.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Spicoli76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    106
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
96
92
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A perfectly charming place to spend a few nights with the family. It's an old Army camp that's actually within the boundaries of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. You can't get much closer to the Kiluea Crater--it's literally across the street. Being in the park is wonderful, especially at night when you can go just down the road and see the glow from the volcano.

They have a bowling alley, a tiny movie theater room, an arcade, a general store, and cafeteria-style dining. It's relaxed, and this is a relatively lesser-known MWR property (especially compared to the Hale Koa on Oahu) which makes it a bit of a hidden gem.

If you're expecting a luxury experience, you'll be disappointed. But the cottages are large and well-maintained and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reaganomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Almost walking distance to the crater rim.
Day trips to a good coffee plantation and to the Black Sand Beach are easy.
Easy to sit and relax with the family.
Military and DoD only.
The Friday evening family luau was great fun. It was like being a part of a backyard family luau, rather than a commercial venture. The matriarch got my wife and girls up front dancing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stewfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAlester, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I are staying here during our first visit to the island. Staff here is very helpful. We had signed up for all three of their day tours. One of them was cancelled because of driver unavailability; however, they found an alternative for us.
Cabins are basic, but comfortable. Towels are soft. Umbrellas and flashlights are supplied in each cabin.
Cafeteria food is ok.
Excellent value overall.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CPThurber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

There are two hotels located close to the Kilauea Volcano and the Jagger Museum. This is the closer one, only 1.5 mile away. It will take you only 30 minutes to drive from this hotel all the way to the end of the Crater Road. You cannot find a better located hotel in the volcano national park.

The rooms are in well equipped cabin with jacuzzi bath tub and a living room. The facilites include a cafeteria, Starbuck, well stocked shopette/ mini-mart, bowling alley, gym and a bar. You can also sign up for day tours of the Park and Hilo. There are only two restaurants in the park. One is located here, the other in the other hotel. Unless you want to drive half an hour into Hilo to dine, it is at KMC or the other one. They have a decent menu at good prices.

One issue at the hotel is the internet connectivity. It goes in and out and Apple devices have issue connecting

Other than than that, this is a fabulous park hotel for the family. I saw families spending their Christmas vacation there

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This facility is an aging military camp for military and military retirees. Amenities are bare bones and furniture is old, but fir the price it is a good value to be right in the Volcanoes Park. Do no expect a four star hotel and you will not be disappointed. Our unit does have TV with cable and fireplace and there is cafeteria available on site.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navybng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Being a retired military spouse, I was able to enjoy staying at KMC with my best friend and her husband. Since one pays according to rank, we stayed in a cottage with ensuite bedrooms-the main bedroom has a TV, a fully-equipped kitchen, a living room with a fireplace and TV. It's a throwback to the 50's but clean and functional. Above all, the price is right and affordable compared to the rest of the Big Island hotel rates. The USPS is right there in the camp and very convenient for shipping souvenirs back home. The camp is well-kept, has a small gasoline station, an entertainment/recreation center, a cafe/restaurant-foods/prices are decent, a convenience store and best of all, it's INSIDE the park and just 22 miles to/from Hilo.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GhenTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.0 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
889 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
406 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
900 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Property: Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Military Camp, a Pacific Lodging Recreation Lodging facility is for the Active, Retired Military along with DoD Civilians, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserves, and Sponsored Guests. Valid Military ID or Department of Defense ID and current Leave and Earnings Statement is required for check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing