We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in one of their two bedroom cottages with a full kitchen and jacuzzi tub. The grounds are made up of small little cottages which surround a bar, restaurant, cafe, general store and gym. From the outside the cottages look uninspiring. However once you enter, these little cottages couldn't be 'cuter'. The decor is very "cabin in the wilderness." Ours had a very nice wood burning fireplace decked out in wood walls and beams. It had two bedrooms. Ours had two single beds in one room and a queen in the other along with two bathrooms. We were told each cabin is configured slightly different and if requesting in advance you can have the bedrooms configured with various bedding types. Each bedroom was spacious and each bathroom was more than adequate. The kitchen was probably my favorite part of the cabin. It's outfitted with appliances that are designed to look antique and old fashioned but are actually fairly modern and new. I've never seen appliances like this before. It was truly unique. All-in-all we were pleasantly surprised by these cottages. They were spacious, comfortable and chalk full of character. I'm not one to typically frequent cabins or lodges in general. I'm more a five star resort kind of person, but I did enjoy my stay here and would recommend this to anyone. What makes this place even better is it's location. It's the only lodging inside the Volcano National Park making it easy to see the various attractions. However the biggest plus is since you're inside the park, you can easily visit the volcano crater at night and see the glowing steam not visible during the day. The general store on premise is well stocked and very reasonable. Breakfast was fairly standard but a good value. With everything said, expect a cabin experience when staying in one of these cottages. The beds are typical cabin style, not overly comfortable but not uncomfortable either. They all do have a cabin smell, but you'd expect this from a wilderness type lodging. All-in-all I couldn't have been more pleased with my stay. It's not five star but it's definitely worth the experience and was a huge value for lodging of this type in Hawaii.

Room Tip: After all the tourists have left the park, drive down the road to the volcano crater and check out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BizTravelFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    105
    33
    8
    9
See reviews for
95
91
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were here 4 nights. You can't beat the location (!!!), just inside Volcanoes National Park. Everyone was very helpful and kind (front desk, workers at bowling alley, etc,). The "huts," as we called them, contained the basics (small fridge, coffee maker) and were relatively comfortable, but our unit was not very clean. There was also some sort of issue every day with the towels, which became rather annoying. We came back after a long day out to no towels, and/or missing towels every day. My husband kept going to the front desk to get more towels! The food at the dining hall and bowling alley were average. As with most things in life, you get what you pay for. Tip: Don't miss the bright green Tuk Tuk Thai Food Truck in Volcano for a great meal (WAY better than the food at KMC), or treat yourself to a wonderful (and a bit expensive) meal at Volcano House.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This facility is a U. S. Army military recreation facility so you must be qualified to stay there (active/retired military, DoD civilian, etc.) If you clear this hurdle I strongly recommend KMC. It was built in the 1920s so don't expect the latest in room technology. That being said, it has been very well maintained. Our one bedroom apartment was clean and comfortable, however there were no kitchen facilities. There was a small refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffee pot, however, no sink, dishes, utensils, etc. The cottages may provide those. The landscaping was well maintained. There is a general store that has groceries and other things you would expect at such a facility. There is a cafe that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I would call it a basic military chow hall so don't expect gourmet fare but it is good basic food and the price is right. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There a variety of tours offered both at the volcano and to other sights on the big island. The real strong point is its location inside the Hawaii Volcano National Park. Right across the road is the Kilauea caldera and many associated hiking trails. It is a unique place and well worth visiting. Being able to stay at such a nice place at a reasonable price just makes it that much better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed for five nights in a one bedroom cabin in February. The location can't be beat; you walk across the road and you are on the caldera rim trail, one mile to the left is the Visitors Center and one mile to the right is the Jaggar Museum. We spent one day walking the trail to both of these locations and learning more about volcanoes; it was great to stay right in the Volcano National Park. Two of the nights we got to see the glow from the crater; other nights it was too foggy. It was a fascinating experience.

However, the accommodations need improvement. Thankfully there was an extra set of sheets in the closet, so I used one of them as a slipcover for the sofa as I wouldn't have wanted to sit on it otherwise. There was also a foul smell, like the tile around the toilet had absorbed, well, you know, over a long period of time. We went to the store on site there and bought Pinesol so we could pour some on the tile and into the garbage cans to try to override the smell. The carpet was very dirty and stained. The formica around the sink was chipped. The tub was stained. Overall, in serious need of renovation. Thankfully the bedding was clean.

We ate at the cafeteria only twice, and didn't want to eat there any more. We bought milk and cereal to eat breakfast in the cabin. We were glad there was a store on site where we could buy food. We ate at the Volcano House right across the road from the Visitors Center a couple of times, and it was delicious, although pricey.

We had scheduled the three different tours to go on before we got there, but when we arrived we were told that one of them, the Circle Island tour, had been cancelled because one of their drivers wasn't available. This was very disappointing to us as we hadn't rented a car and were counting on the tours to see the things they offered. We were figuring we'd have to take the shuttle down to the airport one morning and rent a car and try to do the circle island tour on our own, but then they arranged an outside tour guy to do this tour for us, and two other couples also joined in, so we were glad they did this. The best tour guide we had was Jerry, who took us on the Hilo and Beyond tour; he was very informative and congenial. We would have liked to have him for all three tours.

I'm glad we experienced the KMC and took the tours for our first visit, but if we ever go back to the Big Island again, I would check into getting a good B&B in Volcano and rent a car and do our own touring.

Room Tip: Ask if they have fully renovated any of them recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blynnsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Not every one can stay here......you have to be active/retired military or associated with DOD. This is not a Hyatt or Westin......but you stay in quaint, clean cottages that do the job. We ended a 3 week trip to multiple islands here, to take in Volcano National Park, and what a perfect location. The observatory is only a mile or so away. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage that included a living room, one bathroom and a small area with sink, microwave and coffee maker. Cable TV is included with all the channels you come to expect. There is a cafeteria style place to eat on sight with good simple food at a reasonable price. The Volcano House hotel is just down the street and offers places to eat as well. If you qualify for this place I would recommend it....
Staff was great as well....service with a smile!

Room Tip: This is a nice place comfortable and clean in a great location. You are staying where most others h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecanto, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We came here with a group of veterans and were very pleased with the ease of check in. We had a one bedroom cottage and were pleasantly surprised. The cottage looked-aged from the outside, but once inside, we were pleasantly surprised. There was a flat screen tv in the front room, along with fireplace, microwave and small refrigerator, which was adequate for our needs. There is also a dining hall, bar, general store, fitness center and laundromat nearby. Staff was quite friendly, and took care of our needs. We were only a short distance from the crater rim and were quite impressed.
All in all it was a very good experience and well worth the money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lecano_FlStan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage with a family of 4 (two teens). The location and convenience of staying in the National Volcano Park for an affordable price are the best features of the KMC Lodge. The cottages were clean and there was plenty of room for 4 people. All of the staff were friendly and willing to help. Check in and check out were a breeze. The double beds are small and need to be replaced but that is the only negative thing about KMC. (Note: my teen sons are over 6'1" so one had the bed while the other slept on the sleeper sofa). The cottage has a small microwave and refrigerator. The bowling alley grill was opened until 9:30PM for those arriving late. We did not eat at the dining hall and we did not use the other facilities except the general store which was centrally located. The food at the bowling alley was just that- short order cook/bowling alley food- nothing to write home about but it was convenient, affordable and it filled us up after a late check in and traveling all day. The drive in to town to eat dinner or to go to the grocery store is about 25 minutes. Overall, we would stay again at KMC if we came back to the Volcano Park. Be sure to bring warm clothes. The weather was surprisingly cold!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4puts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.0 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
865 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
306 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
866 reviews
24.6 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Property: Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Military Camp, a Pacific Lodging Recreation Lodging facility is for the Active, Retired Military along with DoD Civilians, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserves, and Sponsored Guests. Valid Military ID or Department of Defense ID and current Leave and Earnings Statement is required for check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing