We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying here enriched the experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Staying here enriched the experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Visiting Volcanoes National Park is a great experience. Staying inside the park is better. Staying in the military camp is the best! We were sponsored by my veteran father. It is reasonably priced, comfortable and far more interesting than a conventional accommodation. The grounds are extensive. It was great for our teenage and older offspring to have room to roam. We walked right to the active volcanoes rim. Had a good quality breakfast at the cafeteria. Loved walking everywhere and handy with a large group. Make it happen and you will be so happy for the experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    102
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
89
90
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

KMC was an outstanding choice as we returned to the Volcano. The cabins are rustic but fit right in at the Volcano. Service was good but checkin/checkout was a bit slow. The KMC offers a cafeteria, a mini-base exchange, a lounge and a gas station. Everyone can use the facilities, with the exception of lodging which is limited to military personnel. The price for gas was the same as you would pay in Hilo. This property was ideally located for visiting the Volcano and for side trips to Hilo and down the eastern side of the Island. Overall, a great choice and I highly recommend checking out this property.

Room Tip: Lodging limited to military personnel. All other facilities are open to the public.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCABob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

It's not a 5 star resort; however, it offers decent lodging at affordable rates. When yo look at the services provided it's a steal of a deal. It has laods of onsite entertainment and services; bowling alley, theater, launder, general store, and much more. Tostay in town and the Volcano Lodge you'll easly pay atleast twice as much

Room Tip: Don't expect 5 star service. This is a rustic area close to all in he Volcanoes NP. Also, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enjoylifeplayha... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in apartment AK. Our friends stayed in the one right next to us. I would suggest getting an end apartment as it had a bigger bedroom, theirs had a much bigger living room. We had a huge, comfy king bed. It was extremely comfortable, the sheets were very clean, the comforter and drape set was updated, and the room was well decorated. The bathroom was wonderful, a nice tiled room, a massive jetted tub, hair dryer attached right next to the sink mirror. Our entire room was very very clean. Nice updated rooms and furniture! A really enjoyable stay, accommodations were impeccable! I would recommend this place to anyone. The people at the front desk were super inviting and super sweet.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kati3rams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The staff at check in was friendly, informative and absolutely wonderful! We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom 2 full bath unit #94, SUPER NICE SURPRISE! We didn't need the third bedroom but it was a nice place to store all our luggage. Don't expect 5 star accommodations as the units are old BUT they were clean, plenty of pillows, linens, towels and the beds were comfortable. Each room had it's own thermostat so no fighting over bedrooms being to hot. There was a fire place in the room but we didn't use it. Kitchen was supplied with everything you'd need to cook other than a cutting board and sharp knives. (Oh, there were knives but they were so dull a table knife worked better.) Unit had a small stove/oven, microwave and a full sized refrigerator w/freezer on top. Everything was clean and we didn't see any bugs. Housekeeping was available each day of our stay and helped us out with wire hangers when we had to fish out something that fell under our front porch. The small general store was pricey but worked in a pinch. We didn't use the bowling alley but kids went to the arcade a few times. The only downfall to the stay was we didn't have parking near our unit #94. We had to park in the Café lot or in a nearby parking area. Not a big deal for us but could bother others. Huge plus to the camp was being in the park. So nice to go and do the things available in the park and back to the unit for a rest and a bite to eat then back out for more adventures.

Room Tip: If you want parking next to your unit #94 DOESN'T have that but it is right next to the fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaBlessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We didn't realize that the Kilauea Military Camp had a general store until AFTER we'd spent an arm and a leg at the general store in town. Lesson learned. Prices still are not what you'd call cheap, but at least a full dollar less expensive than the general store's prices.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank StorytellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Spent one night here, definitely not enough time. Seeing the volcano caldera at night is a must see, drive the Chain of Craters Road to the Ocean. We will be back. Units available to fit any size family traveling together.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
2.6 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
49.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilauea Volcano Military Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilauea Volcano Military Camp

Property: Kilauea Volcano Military Camp
Address: Bldg 40 KMC, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilauea Military Camp, a Pacific Lodging Recreation Lodging facility is for the Active, Retired Military along with DoD Civilians, Coast Guard, National Guard, Reserves, and Sponsored Guests. Valid Military ID or Department of Defense ID and current Leave and Earnings Statement is required for check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kilauea Volcano Military Camp Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing