We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four stars yes, but such a waste of money.”
Review of Volcano House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Volcano House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Four stars yes, but such a waste of money.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

OK, yes I gave this four stars because how often do you get to sleep next to an active volcano, but it was outrageously expensive. We had room 11, upstairs. AWESOME view, we saw the red/orange glow all night. Breathtaking, amazing. One of our highlights for sure.

However, the hotel is open 24 hours a day and the entire bottom floor is wall to wall windows, dimmed lighting with plenty of comfy seating. Next time, we stay outside the park at a B&B and hang out at night in the lodge.

We stayed two nights so we could do the entire VNP and we did get plenty done. The restaurant is expensive, but we did get crater side seating. The breakfast buffet is awesome at $15 a person! That I would do again, the buffet, not the house.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisabdh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    332
    116
    54
    26
See reviews for
290
427
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

How many times in your life are you going to say you went to sleep with the glow of an active volcano outside your window? That is what we thought when we decided to book a crater view room. Yes, you can find less expensive lodging nearby. But you would certainly miss out on a once in a lifetime experience. Besides the view of the Halemaumau Crater, the room provides a wonderful base for exploring the many trails in the National Park. We took advantage of the early evening and morning before and after the tour buses arrived with tourist from nearby towns. Viewing the crater at night at the Jaggar Museum with the backdrop of the Milky Way and the millions of stars was breathtaking. We ate the breakfast buffet in the hotel which had a wide selection of food from smoothies to made to order omlettes. It was all very tasty and filled us up for our first hike of the day - Kilauea Iki Trail. All in all a great place to stay and explore this amazing park.

Room Tip: Book a Crater View room. It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klg252013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

For its location alone, overlooking the active Halemaumau Crater, Volcano House is worthy of five stars. At night, in the whisper quiet park under a canopy of stars and the Milky Way, the glow and steam of the volcano provide a practically spiritual experience. The hotel seems very recently renovated, with a rustic/outdoorsy yet elegant feel. Staying at the volcano is definitely more of a Yosemite type experience than a beach/tropical vacation (it's chilly at night!). However, rooms are luxuriously appointed, with a spacious walk-in closet, elegant bathrooms (subway tile bath and enameled sink, local Hawaiian amenities), robes and slippers, and complementary wifi. The bar serves specialty cocktails featuring Hawaiian spirits such as Okolehao as well as more typical Hawaiian drinks such as Mai Tais. The well-stocked gift shop is a great place to buy a hoodie before an evening walk to view the crater.

Room Tip: Definitely get a crater view room, it's the number one reason to stay at Volcano House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suffolkblueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at volcano house in June. recently renovated. Rooms clean, bathroom slightly small

Fantastic view of volcano glow at night

Breakfast lovely and great value at $15 with view over volcano

across the road from park headquarters so very handy

much nicer than staying in Hilo -

great for a 2 to 3 night stay

Room Tip: choose upstairs room with volcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

What can I say? Having dinner overlooking the active crater and having the staff randomly turn off the lights so that we could all ooooh and aaahhhh over the amazing natural spectacle outside the window? Simply amazing. That being said, rooms were clean and well serviced, a bit small, but a good renovation has made them workable rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: try to get the volcano view vs. the rainforest view, of course! we had room 32 which had a great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgregors4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudy F, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your positive review. Our team is honored that Volcano House is the highlight of your trip. The view of the glowing Halema'uma'u crater at night is uniquely breathtaking. We are glad that you enjoyed our renovations which still embody the historical charms.

We are glad you enjoyed your time on the Big Island and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Kids unplugged in a beautiful setting, sunrise and sunset at the crater cannot be beat at $55 a night. Gotta love the NPS. Cabins are completely fine as are the restrooms. We ate at the Volcano House buffet at 7 am on Saturday morning and enjoyed the view and the service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseygrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

If you do go to this remote destination I'd advise that you would choose the crater view room as the steam from the crater will light up at night giving off an astonishing glow. This vacation site I would only recommend for those who have a spark of curiosity and adventure in their hearts, as there is no JC Penny or Macys for you fashionistas. As for food wise the staff is quite friendly but it may take a while for your order to come. Their menu items are a vacation for your taste buds, and their deserts are exquisite. The view from their restaurant is incredible during day or night. All the hotel staff are very forthcoming and very friendly. We had a fantastic 2-night-stay. Will definitely go back again!!

Room Tip: Crater view rooms have a more entertaining view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
410 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
53.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
53.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano House

Property: Volcano House
Address: Crater Rim Dr, PO Box 53, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano House is the only hotel located within Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and is perched on the rim of Kilauea's Halemaumau crater. The historic Volcano House Hotel has long captured the imagination of visitors from all over the world with its iconic location, rich cultural legacy, and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Drawing upon a storied history dating back to 1846, Volcano House Hotel is now re-imagined for a new era with updated rooms, a restaurant and lounge serving Pacific Rim fare, and retail shops. Come experience the best Hawaii Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Volcano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano House Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Volcano Hotel
Volcano House Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing