We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, updates are nice”
Review of Volcano House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Volcano House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Its obviously a historic and dated property, but that's what you typically get when you stay in national parks. We got a volcano view room at the very end of the building and I think it was totally worth the price for the view. It was spacious and we had access to outside through the patio door. No it doesn't have a giant spa bathroom but that was ok with me. The food in the restaurant was pretty good for both dinner and breakfast; for dinner there were lots of fresh options and some specials too. The atmosphere was quiet but we were there on a Wednesday night so I'm not sure if its always like that. There are no TVs in the rooms, which is great for me, and the internet was actually pretty good.
I would go back here again if I visited in the future.

Room Tip: get a volcano crater view room, its worth it
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank internetreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
There are newer reviews for Volcano House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

I wanted to celebrate my birthday seeing the glow of lava out my window. The views of the caldera are awe-inspiring. This is all about location.

This is a historic hotel, so yes that means thin walls, small rooms and no TV. Go elsewhere if you can't cope. The hotel has all new furnishings and fresh paint on those historic walls. Our room was comfortable and attractive.

We spent three nights here and ate at several places during our stay, including several with top tripadvisor and opentable ratings. The best dinners we had were at The Rim. The view was frosting on the cake. The breakfast buffet was outstanding (reduced price for guests), and the friendly hostess walked us through explaining what things were (like coconut scones). The chef at the egg and waffle station was also great. And again, there's the view.

The front desk staff was okay -- some effort to be friendly and helpful would make the arrival more welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biondabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you like white walls and the feeling of an old hotel in a national park then this place will not disappoint. I did like looking out of our room and seeing the glow of the volcano. The service at check-in was slow and the staff member wasn't very friendly. Perhaps she had a hard night or a long day.
My favorite parts of this hotel were the fireplace in the large lobby area and the enormous gift shop.
What I didn't like about the hotel was that the property felt like a level above camping. The room was small and the bathroom even smaller.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Napua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We did not stay here, but wandered in looking for a bit of breakfast before a day of hiking. The view from the big picture windows of the volcano was so jaw-dropping, we just had to stay. The buffet breakfast was really excellent and a pretty good value at $15. Made-to-order waffles and omelets, fresh fruit, muffins, and delicious coffee! Everyone there was so friendly and helpful, too, making sure we had everything we needed and even giving us advice for the park and other local activities. And, again, the view (right on the rim of the crater)!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginny10036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is one of my favorite places to stay. To be able to look out my room window at a volcano crater is really an amazing experience. The hotel has a rich history dating back to 1846. There is a large fireplace in the common room that supposedly has never gone out. The food is very good in the dining room, with striking views of the crater as well. Two gifts shops feature shirts to sculptures. A warm atmosphere!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT66momma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Food was good. Need to go near dusk to see the volcano glow. Worth the trip and a must seen in addition to the park. The crab cakes were excellent and the fish was fresh and wrapped in pineapple with a cream sauce. The salad with shrimp and papaya dressing was excellent. Make it a day and see the park and finish it with the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had reserved two nights at the Volcano House with the understanding that we had received the two nights promo with a allowance. When we checked in there was no promo o n the reservation. Even though I referred to the promo and the detail,we were refused it.Now I know that is something to take up with the travel agent but the desk could have been accommodating. That being said the room had a crater view which was outstanding. Other reviews of the restaurant were right--good food which is surprising often in a national park lodge.
We checked out after one night--the room cost over four hundred dollars a night (that included taxes) for something not much better than a camp cabin but the lava glow at night was outstanding.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank jdkegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
53.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 21 in Volcano
924 reviews
24.3 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
53.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano House

Address: Crater Rim Dr, PO Box 53, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range: £236 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano House is the only hotel located within Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and is perched on the rim of Kilauea's Halemaumau crater. The historic Volcano House Hotel has long captured the imagination of visitors from all over the world with its iconic location, rich cultural legacy, and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Drawing upon a storied history dating back to 1846, Volcano House Hotel is now re-imagined for a new era with updated rooms, a restaurant and lounge serving Pacific Rim fare, and retail shops. Come experience the best Hawaii Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Volcano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano House Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Volcano Hotel
Volcano House Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing