We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced lodging”
Review of Volcano House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Volcano House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The room we had was one of the cheapest as we didn't want to splurge. If you can't afford a room looking at the volcano then forget it.
A parking lot view wasn't exciting and the size of the room was small. The old style bathrooms made me claustrophobic and longing for more value.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MouseTravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Aloha MouseTravels4,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback on your recent stay here at Volcano House, located in Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our views and cleanliness.

I'm sorry that you didn't find value in our Standard rooms. While our standard view rooms don't overlook the summit caldera of Kīlauea, they are still an excellent choice when staying with us. We offer close proximity to all that Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park has to offer. You can access hiking trails directly out of our back door or sit and enjoy your morning coffee in our meditation rooms while overlooking the caldera.

Complimentary with all of our rooms are daily guide led tours of the Park, iPads and WiFI, bicycles to ride in the Park, and a host of other amenities including a lending library with natural history books and children's bedtime stories.

Please feel free to contact me to further discuss this.

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

What a fantastic place to come and getaway. Often maligned by people who stay here with unrealistic expectations. Come here expecting an old time vacation and you will be more than happy. Come here expecting a fancy place for the price then you will be disappointed. People have unreal expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Aloha Lily M,

I appreciate your feedback on your recent visit here to Volcano House located in Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park.

I'm sorry that I didn't respond sooner, somehow I missed this wonderful review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you will come visit again soon.

Mahalo

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

It is situated in an amazing place on top of a volcano. I took a walking tour, and the guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We walked through some amazing rainforests and saw some volcanic gases and lava that glowed at night, and it was great for photography but a bit long so I wouldn't recommend it for families with young children. The rooms were small but well cleaned, and there was a little restaurant inside the building with yummy Hawaiian based food. Id like to mention that there is also free wifi, though the rooms did not have TVs. It was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akinatorhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Aloha akinatorhannah,

I appreciate your feedback on your recent visit here to Volcano House located in Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our evening walking tour provided free to all in-house guests as well as our free WiFi. I'll relay to the restaurant staff that you enjoyed our Taste of Hawaii menu and to the housekeeping staff that you felt you room was well cleaned.

Mahalo

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We checked in on February 20th for two nights but chose to stay only one. This was not a problem provided one checks out before noon the next day. The reason we checked out is because we saw what we wanted as the road had been closed past the lookout point due to the release of gases and the Park deeming it unsafe.

The hotel is old and one can see this. It has been renovated and it is very clean. The staff is great.

The room we had contained two double beds and faced the volcano. The room was clean. The bed we used was comfortable as were the pillows. There was a closet in our room that was walk-in and on the far wall in the closet was a doorway that could join/open the room next to ours. The walls are “paper thin” and we were able to hear the actions and parts of conversations of those in the next room therefore they too could hear us and this was with the closet door and bathroom doors closed. It would have been nice to have the rooms properly insulated to provide the privacy when the hotel was renovated. One could also hear people in the all but the reason we were there was not to stay in the rooms but to get out and enjoy the wonders of nature. Was it an issue…no, people in the hall did not stay there to talk and people in the next room were only heard once in a while. Again, the weather was beautiful and we were not there to sit in the room. We had robes and access to the in-room safe. The coffee in the room was not great but the coffee downstairs was. I would stay there again without a second thought.

There is no television but they do advertise iPads on a first come, first serve basis. There was no fridge or microwave either so you are down to the basics but you are not there for these extras in the room, you are there to see the wonders of nature and the creation of an island. The volcano was glowing and from our understanding, it was down 400 feet therefore we would not see any “activity”. The fog moved in later that evening therefore we were not able to see the glow of the volcano very long that evening however at 05:00 the next morning, it had cleared and we were able to see the volcano. The windows are “old style” and the screens are too.

The restaurant is expensive but the food is good. The staff is attentive in both restaurants. The food is good and the breakfast buffet has a lot of choices therefore, if you leave hungry, it is your fault. Get there early and get a table by the window. The early morning view as the sun covers the Halema‘uma‘u Crater is spectacular. The gift shops, there are two, have lots to choose from but both carry pretty much the same things. The staff are friendly and they make sure to wrap everything well.

There is an area to sit and just experience the views but we came from a winter climate and we were not prepared to sit inside.

A stop at the Information Center is a must. The staff is excellent and they provide one with the information to fully appreciate and experience the volcano.

Go there for the historical value, the view, the experience, and you will not be disappointed. Our experience was priceless to us.

Room Tip: Ask for the crater view room. If you are going to spend the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrannyAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Aloha GrannyAC,

Thank you so much for the kind works in your review of Volcano House located in Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park. I'm glad you appreciate the historic value of our property, the view from the lodge and the experience this unique location has to offer.

Thank you also for sharing your great experiences with our restaurant food and staff. I agree that our breakfast buffet is full of wonderful choices and one should never leave hungry!

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is sparce ... Like a YMCA camp room. It has no TV but the lack of air conditioning made for a sleepless night. There is no air flow and we sweated all night even though it was cool outside. For $340/night this is highway robbery. Stay just a mile or so away at the Kilauea lodge which is half the price and you get air conditioning and a nice room. I travel significantly and would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Aloha Sharon A

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at Volcano House. While you enjoyed the views from our lodge, I'm sorry to hear that we didn't live up to your expectations and that we let you down specifically no television, no air conditioner and small bathrooms. I've responded to the same concerns from your traveling companion's review below, so I apologize ahead of time for using some of the same wording in this response.

The lack of TV's in the rooms was a conscious decision by the National Park Service they believe guests are here to see and appreciate the beauty the Park has to offer. We offer free iPads to all of our guests and along with free WiFi you can stream content to these iPads. We are purchasing boards games so that guests can spend time connecting with their traveling companions. (these have been ordered and will be in place this week) We are also developing a lending library for our guests. We already have children's Hawai'i bedtime stories for loan at our front desk. We also offer a free evening guide-led interpretive tour for all in-house guests. We also offer free live music 4 nights a week in Uncle George's Lounge.

The average high temperature in Volcano, Hawaii runs between 66.9 degrees and 72.4 degrees Fahrenheit with average lows in the low to mid fifties. At an elevation of nearly 4000 feet, most guests are often surprised how cool it can be in the Park and that is why we've installed new heaters in all of our rooms. We do have fans available to our guests that may require a bit of additional cooling and I apologize that one wasn't made available to you. I've ordered smaller fans to leave permanently in each of our guest rooms.

I'd like to discuss these comments with you further so that I can learn to do a better job meeting guest expectations, so please feel free to contact me.

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed for one night, hiked the trails for a couple hours once we checked in at 3:00pm. We had a deluxe crater view room on the top floor which was very nice. Dinner was fantastic and especially our waitress, Sadie. She totally pampered us as we were celebrating our anniversary. Sitting in the lounge staring out at the GLOW of the crater is something we will never forget. Up early next morning and walked down to the crater floor and across to the other side. Can't think of too many places to go to have the experience that we did while staying at the Volcano House. For us, everything was simply amazing!!!!

Room Tip: Crater room for sure. No swimming pool or fitness centre and that is what made it excellent as we g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nips7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Aloha Nips 7,

Thanks for the wonderful feedback about your stay at Volcano House located in Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park. I'm glad that you enjoyed your room, the Rim Restaurant and your hiking experience in the Park.

I will share your feedback about your restaurant experience with Sadie, she will be thrilled to hear about this.

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Where do we start, we booked a deluxe twin crater view room at volcano house for two nights, which was a more expensive option. First we were told that they hadn't reserved us a twin and now none were available. Then when we went to the room it was only possible to glimpse the smoke from the crater if we stood in one corner on tiptoe. When we complained we were told that not all crater view rooms have a view of the crater!! They reluctantly moved us to a room with a view but we were told we could only have it for one night. Moreover the deluxe rooms are pretty standard and not private as you can hear people talking,moving and much more in the surrounding rooms.

The food in the restaurant is not worth the money paid, and we asked for a window table which we got but was with an obscured view.

Disappointed with the whole experience so checked out after one night. Very poor value in all counts and would not recommend on that basis.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noellecuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Aloha Noellecuk,

Thank you for providing us with valuable feedback on your stay at Volcano House located in Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park.

We are working on better communicating about the view from our guest rooms. All of these rooms overlook the summit caldera of Kīlauea and also allow views of Halemaʻumaʻu crater. Not all rooms allow for clear views of the plume being released from Halemaʻumaʻu crater and we are working with our reservation service and our web developers to make certain each potential guest better understands this.

I apologize for the disappointing experience and I would like to make it up to you. Please contact me so that we may further discuss.

Mahalo

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
25.4 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 22 in Volcano
983 reviews
53.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
24.3 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano House

Address: Crater Rim Dr, PO Box 53, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range: £242 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano House is the only hotel located within Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and is perched on the rim of Kilauea's Halemaumau crater. The historic Volcano House Hotel has long captured the imagination of visitors from all over the world with its iconic location, rich cultural legacy, and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Drawing upon a storied history dating back to 1846, Volcano House Hotel is now re-imagined for a new era with updated rooms, a restaurant and lounge serving Pacific Rim fare, and retail shops. Come experience the best Hawaii Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Volcano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano House Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Volcano Hotel
Volcano House Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing