We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Perfection Along the Caldera's Edge”
Review of Volcano House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Volcano House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
255 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Rustic Perfection Along the Caldera's Edge”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This newly refurbished hotel inside Volcanoes National Park was terrific! The staff was outstanding, the food was surprisingly great, and the location is spectacular--right on the edge of the caldera. The historic hotel is well maintained and has been updated with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, robes, slippers, a great turndown cookie and hot chocolate and coffee. They even pass out fresh baked cookies in the early evening-- a nice touch!

The dinner and breakfast were a true surprise. The dinner in the caldera side dining room served amazingly creative and tasty cuisine that would have been welcomed at our 5 star hotel. The server was outstanding and everyone has just the right, authentic sense of Aloha.

The hotels isn't fancy -- this is a lodge. But what a great place to serve as your base while you explore this fascinating park! It also is a great choice to stay 1 or 2 nights so you don't have to have the nightmare drive back to your hotel which is much further away than you ever might have imagined.

One tip-- I'd end my big island visit here and fly out of Hilo to your next stop.

Aloha and enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a Deluxe room! Well worth the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRVLtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha Mattsaab,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay here at Volcano House, located ion Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our recent renovations and the food in our restaurant.

Thank you also for appreciating that we're a historic lodge located in a a National Park. We offer a truly unique experience to our guests and we are glad that you joined us here.

Thank you again for the review and I wish you safe travels!

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625




Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    317
    111
    52
    24
See reviews for
260
414
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

If you are coming to see the volcano and can swing the cost this place is worth the cost. My room had a view of the volcano. There is nothing better then the glow of the volcano as a night light. The bar also has a great selection of local beers and the restaurant has good but pricey food.

My biggest complaint is that there was no bottled water available anywhere in the park. The only option was a $35 hotel branded bottle in my room.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Also there are plenty of outdoor activities in the park. Great hiking!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha Jason G,

I'm glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and inviting here at Volcano House, located in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with folks on TripAdvisor about our lodge.

I'm also pleased to hear that you enjoyed Uncle George's Lounge and the Rim Restaurant - both offer a great selection of food that is prepared from locally sourced ingredients.

I'm sorry about the bottled water. The bottle in your room is free for use during your stay - it's filled with rainwater that has been filtered and purified by the National Park Service - it is some of the best tasting water I've enjoyed. You can purchase a version of it in our gift shop - I apologize for any confusion.

The National Park Service purposely prohibits the sale of bottled water at Volcano House. We are more than happy to fill your reusable water bottle for you with ice and fresh water at anytime during your stay.

Take Care!

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625




Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

There was no TV in the room, no icebox for keeping your beverages cold and no AC. I have never stayed at a hotel with no TV or icebox or AC. I was in shock that these things were missing since I know they had just remodeled the hotel. The last straw was no washer or dryer. Our clothes got wet from the rain even with our raincoats, and the hotel didn't even have a dryer.Oh, but they had two gift shops! This was unacceptable, considering what I was paying for the room. Maybe get rid of one of the gift shops and put in a laundry room for the guests. Although the beds were comfortable, because we were on the bottom floor, we kept hearing the guests over head. Every time someone walked on the floor, it sounded like a herd of elephants. Because the hotel is only a wooden structure, every time a guest room door closed, the whole building vibrated. I didn't get a sound sleep either night. I can't believe that no one thought about putting in insulation or sound proofing!!! :(

Room Tip: Don't rent a room on the right; it only has a view of the parking lot. Get a room on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesireeWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Aloha DesireeWatson,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at Volcano House, located in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. I'm sorry tho hear that you didn't know ahead of time that we don't have televisions or air conditioning. We alert guests to this fact on our website, in our confirmation letter and in our pre-stay letter.

The average high temperature in Volcano, Hawaii runs between 66.9 degrees and 72.4 degrees Fahrenheit with average lows in the low to mid fifties. At an elevation of nearly 4000 feet, most guests are often surprised how cool it can be in the Park and that is why we've installed new heaters in all of our rooms. We do have fans available in all rooms to our guests that may require a bit of additional cooling.

We have purposely kept televisions out of our rooms to encourage guests to enjoy all the beauty of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. In fact, many guests thank us for this . Instead of televisions, we do offer free use of iPads and Wi-Fi, daily guided walking tours of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, free bike rentals, live entertainment in Uncle George’s Lounge on Wednesday, Saturday & Sunday evenings, board and card games, and a lending library with guide books, cultural history and children’s bedtime stories. If you do need to catch the big game, television is available in Uncle George’s Lounge.

It's true we don't have a washer and dryer for guest use. There are 2 laundry mats located within a few minutes of Volcano House (Kilauea Military Camp and Volcano Village). I'll let the front desk know to tell guests about these. We will also look into offering a clothes drying service to our guests by utilizing our commercial dryers that we have on property.

Built in the 1940's, we are a historic lodge located in a National Park and therefore we balance the maintaining the historic fabric of the building and the needs and expectations of our guests. We offer spa sound machines in all rooms that help folks who may be having trouble sleeping.

Thank you again for the feedback.

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for two night on our honeymoon. The view was impressive and your first impression is great. We ate at the rim restaurant which was good and got to see the red glow. The room was clean and decent but the building is very old and has no sound privacy. We could hear someone snoring in the next room over!! Not very romantic. It's great location for seeing the park and therefore I'd do it one night but two nights was definitely too long and we were ready to get out of there and move on to the next place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Aloha Ashley 2121,

I appreciate you leaving a TripAdvisor review about your recent stay with us at Volcano House. I'm pleased to hear that you found our views impressive, that you enjoyed your dining experience in the Rim Restaurant and that your room was clean. I'm sorry you disappointed in the noise level heard from your room.

As an older lodge constructed in the early 1940's, we are respectful of the historic nature of the building and continually work to balance this with he needs of our guests. We have spa machines located in all rooms that provide a level of ambient noise that many guests have found to be a nice addition. We also have sleep amenity packets at the front desk that contain ear plugs, a sleep mask and chamomile tea. I'll make certain the front desk let's guests know about this on check in.

Thank you for joining us at Volcano House for your your Honeymoon and I wish you a happy marriage!

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
239 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here so we could stay in the park and do more things. Given the rarity of seeing an active volcano, we but the bullet and payed for a crater view room (not cheap). While to hotel has undergone recent renovation and is a far cry better than it was 20 years ago, it is still an old building and even with bed upgrades, rooms are medium sized, but bathrooms are cramped and adornment and furniture are pleasant but plain and simple. The bathroom has a shower only with a small sink and no space for cosmetics, etc. The area where TV's used to be has been turned into a large mirror for make-up use. There are no TV's in the room as they want you to enjoy the view, but when we payed in out bed or sat on the couch it was hard to see the crater, even at night. The front desk has a few IPads for guest entertainment that are free to borrow. We tried to open a window to take pictures but there was a screen in the way. When I unhooked the screen to push it out it nearly fell of the building. Our room was connected via a closet to the adjoining room but the doors are so out of square that noise travelled easily from one room to the next. There was no elevator to the second floor so you have to haul your luggage to wherever your room is.

In the morning we slept in a little bit and were treated to the maid banging to vacuum against the walls in the hallway outside. We made it to breakfast buffet about 20 min before closure and the host was a little miffed we came in that late. The fire at night is nice and other staff were super friendly.

For the price not sure I would stay again, but seeing the volcano at night with the stars above was worth it once.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank docallergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Aloha docallergy,

Thank you for posting a TripAdvisor review on your recent stay here at Volcano House, located in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. I'm glad that you enjoyed the view from the lodge and that you found our fire nice and our staff super-friendly.

We are open from breakfast from 7:00 to 10:00 daily, and our staff are trained to welcome each and every guest, regardless of the time they join us. I'm sorry this wasn't the case for you. I'll work with our restaurant managers to retrain our morning crew on this.

As an historic lodge located in a National Park, our screens and windows are part of the historic fabric of the building and were not altered during the recent remodel (the same is the case for the built in furniture in the rooms). I'll work with the National Park Service to see if there is something that can be done about obtaining a different type of screen.

We work hard to communicate that we don't have televisions in the rooms. We state this fact on our rooms description page on our website and in both our confirmation letter and in our pre-stay letter. We actually get more positive comments about no television than negative ones. Many families state how nice it was to play games with their children or go for walks and explore the park and create memories.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent visit!

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Loved our stay here, had a fabulous room overlooking the caldera, (many rooms have their view partially blocked by trees). The regular rooms are small, so definitely worth the upgrade to a deluxe. The bed was very comfortable, and every night there were delicious cookies left on our pillow. There is no bar fridge in the room, but you do have an ice bucket and ice available at the bar. Probably because of the age of the building, you can sometimes hear noise from other rooms (the person using a hairdryer at 5am!) but a sound machine is provided next to the bed with a choice of rain, ocean etc to block out any noise.

There is a lovely lounge area with an open fire, tea and coffee, and rocking chairs to relax in and admire the view. There are two gifts shops with a large range of very good quality items we did not see elsewhere.

Be aware, the caldera is not always visible if it is misty/voggy. We were disappointed on our first night when there was not even a hint of red glow visible until about 10:30 pm, and it had completely disappeared again before dawn when we were hoping to get some photos. We later found out that even when it is too misty to see from the hotel it is often visible from the Jagger Museum, which is much closer.

We were served by a very helpful and friendly waiter, Skyler, at Uncle Georges. A nice casual spot to eat, with yummy food (although, as another reviewer mentioned, the sorbet trio was the size of 3 gumballs, without even a wafer or garnish). About a mile away is the Kilauea Military Camp, and the public are welcome to eat at the restaurant and coffee shop there. The food was average but fun to go somewhere a bit different.

Don't miss the lava tube, the Kilauea Iki hike, Steaming Bluff, Sulphur Banks, and Chain of Craters Road. Free bikes are available at the hotel, and we really enjoyed cycling round the area. We stayed 3 nights but wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back!

My only small criticism is that when we asked at the front desk what we should see and do while there (no one else was waiting) they told us to go to the information centre across the road and ask there.

There is a free bus from Hilo to the information centre across the road ($1 for each piece of luggage) several times a day, although you really need a car to see all the attractions

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer wing have much larger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha Susan S.

What a great review of your stay here at Volcano House, located in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback to us. I've let Skyler know what a great job you thought he did and I posted a copy of this review by the time clock with a small note of thanks to him.

I'm sorry our front desk folks weren't as knowledgeable as they could have been on the Park. Since your stay, all of our Front of House employees have participated in four hours of interpretive training including hiking in the Park - this will provide them with a solid base to provide information to our guests.

I'm sorry about the bottled water. The bottle in your room is free for use during your stay - it's filled with rainwater that has been filtered and purified by the National Park Service - it is some of the best tasting water I've enjoyed. You can purchase a version of it in our gift shop - I apologize for any confusion.

Thank you again for the review!

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625




Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is an older lodge that has been very nicely updated with attractive room decor, comfortable bed and small but well-appointed bathroom. A crater-view room is well worth the extra $$…the volcano is your night-light! The restaurant is also to be commended for offering a variety of dishes featuring locally-sourced ingredients, creatively prepared…and a fine view of the caldera…as the sun sets, the volcano's glow appears in the distance. Staff were all professional and very friendly to us. Terrific breakfast buffet included an omelet station and plentiful tropical fruits. Guests are provided free wi-fi. Wish we'd had more time to try out riding the bikes around. Worth the expense as it's really a unique experience to stay.

Room Tip: Go for a crater-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Aloha nanm00,

Thank you for sharing your experiences from Volcano House, located in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. I'm glad that you enjoyed our restaurants and appreciated the locally sourced ingredients. It always amazes me how much we source from right here on the Big Island. Our produce comes from Johnson Farms where they have 5 acres of organic produce growing year round just for our restaurant. We also source all of our seafood and much of our meats from the Island and of course our coffee, chocolate and vanilla all come from nearby farms.

Thank you again for the wonderful feedback and I wish you safe travels!


Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
50.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
837 reviews
53.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano House

Property: Volcano House
Address: Crater Rim Dr, PO Box 53, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano House is the only hotel located within Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and is perched on the rim of Kilauea's Halemaumau crater. The historic Volcano House Hotel has long captured the imagination of visitors from all over the world with its iconic location, rich cultural legacy, and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Drawing upon a storied history dating back to 1846, Volcano House Hotel is now re-imagined for a new era with updated rooms, a restaurant and lounge serving Pacific Rim fare, and retail shops. Come experience the best Hawaii Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Volcano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano House Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Volcano Hotel
Volcano House Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing