We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The location is definitely a five” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The location is definitely a five”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

How can it get much better than to lie in your bed at night and see the Southern Cross and the glow of the caldera. The setting is nothing short of spectacular. Besides the views from the hotel itself, the location puts you in easy access to all the park has to offer including the Jaggar Museum, the Chain of Craters Road and the best hiking trails. (Kilauea Iki is a hike not to be missed.) The hotel has been recently updated and is attractive and comfortable, within the restraints of it's historic and historical limitations. The bathrooms are small. The rooms will be cooled by your open windows. Instead of these being liabilities, they help you connect with the history of the building and park. And, if the lack of a television in your room is an issue, try looking at the thousands of stars that are visible, or watching the ever-changing glow of the caldera, or listening to the sounds of the night, or taking in the live acoustical entertainment in the family-friendly lounge.
Service at the hotel is where they lose their five star rating, as it is uneven. The young man who checked us in on the afternoon of June 27 was efficient and very friendly. The woman who checked us out two days later would hardly look up and never gave a smile. The man at the omelet station was incredible, keeping the line moving quickly as he made two omelets and two waffles at a time. Our waitress at dinner, while efficient enough, lacked the flair of service that should go with
the linens, menu and prices. The young man in housekeeping that we encountered more than once in the hallway, always greeted us with a smile and hello. If the hotel and restaurant could get all their employees to up to the same level of service, Volcano House would earn a five every time.

Room Tip: The second floor offers spectacular views of the Caldera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveadventure4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha loveadventure4,

Thank you for the great review of Volcano House. It sounds like you had a wonderful time here and really understood that we are a historic lodge located in a National Park and offer a unique experience to our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed our live entertainment in Uncle George's lounge. This is free to all to enjoy on Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday nights.

I'm sorry that you found our level of service uneven, I'll let the afternoon front desk clerk, the breakfast cook and our houseman know hat you enjoyed their service. We are in the process of providing all front of house employees with extensive training on working with our guests. Most have completed four hours on interpretive information about Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and next is training to help elevate our level of customer service that we provide to our guests.

Thank you for the feedback!

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625




Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    295
    105
    50
    22
See reviews for
235
385
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I love national park hotels. They may not be the most modern or comfortable, but you can't beat their historic vibe, interesting architectural details, and ambience. This one is no different. Where else can you sit in comfort and watch a volcano glowing red hot not a mile away? Amazing! I didn't stay in the lodge--all sold out--so I stayed in a camper cabin that is part of the lodging. It's four miles away, and you have to have some basic gear, but they provided very comfortable beds, bedding, and towels. The cabin is half mile from Jaggar Museum and night viewing of the crater; and is surrounded by forest so you wake up to bird song.

My only complaint: they were breaking in a new key card system and I had to go back several times (4 miles each way) to get two keys that worked. They should bring the new keys out to you if they can't fix the system. Old-fashioned keys might be a lot better!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123carolyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha 123carolyn123,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a recent review of your stay with us at our cabins. I also appreciate you sharing your experience of the lodge and the iconic view of the glow from the crater - it is indeed magnificent!

I'm sorry that you were on of our guests that experienced issues with our card system. It's been in use for a year, but we believe we may have had a bad batch of blank keys. We had a couple of days of all sorts of lock issues out of the ordinary. I agree, we shouldn't have made you drive back and forth. We've actually started a system were our night porter can drive new keys over to guests so that we don't have this issue again.

Thank you again for the wonderful feedback!

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625




Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We ended up at the Volcano House after a terrible experience with a VRBO home rental. When you hear the horror stories about dark, dirty and mildewed rental homes - believe them. After we escaped the rental, we decided to try the Volcano House as we wanted to stay in the park. It has definite pros and cons.

Pros:
1. Location can't be beat. The view of the volcano was outstanding. Of the 3 nights we stayed, it was clear as a bell 2 of the 3. Only one night was cloudy/rainy.
2. The historic aspect of the hotel was charming.
3. They have a cookie happy hour at 6:30 every night. We missed it one night, so the front desk manager was kind enough to set aside 2 cookies for us upon our return. That's customer service!
4. Bike rental is free and they are in good shape.
5. Several of the main hiking trails end up right in the backyard of the Volcano House.
6. Wide selection at the bar.
7. They have board games and a lending library.
8. If you just can't stand not having a TV, they have loaner iPads. Just ask at the front desk.

Cons:
1. It is a bit pricey for what you get.
2. We stayed in room 11 and we could smell the burning wood from the fireplace below day and night. Made it feel a bit like we were living above a BBQ restaurant.
3. There's not much of a cross breeze in the rooms. If we were to open the door, we would have been cool as a cucumber, but who wants to sleep with their hotel door standing wide open?
4. Restaurant food is overpriced for the quality and offerings.
5. The bathrooms are TINY. Shower only. I'm 5'2" and I couldn't stretch my arms out all the way on either side.

So overall, we enjoyed our stay. It was a HUGE step up from the crappy rental home we started in, but I do still feel it is a bit overpriced. Just know what you are in for and you'll enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: TIPS: 1. Ask for a room in the main building on the wall facing the volcano. 2. Ask for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StorytellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
238 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This newly refurbished hotel inside Volcanoes National Park was terrific! The staff was outstanding, the food was surprisingly great, and the location is spectacular--right on the edge of the caldera. The historic hotel is well maintained and has been updated with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, robes, slippers, a great turndown cookie and hot chocolate and coffee. They even pass out fresh baked cookies in the early evening-- a nice touch!

The dinner and breakfast were a true surprise. The dinner in the caldera side dining room served amazingly creative and tasty cuisine that would have been welcomed at our 5 star hotel. The server was outstanding and everyone has just the right, authentic sense of Aloha.

The hotels isn't fancy -- this is a lodge. But what a great place to serve as your base while you explore this fascinating park! It also is a great choice to stay 1 or 2 nights so you don't have to have the nightmare drive back to your hotel which is much further away than you ever might have imagined.

One tip-- I'd end my big island visit here and fly out of Hilo to your next stop.

Aloha and enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a Deluxe room! Well worth the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRVLtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha Mattsaab,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay here at Volcano House, located ion Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our recent renovations and the food in our restaurant.

Thank you also for appreciating that we're a historic lodge located in a a National Park. We offer a truly unique experience to our guests and we are glad that you joined us here.

Thank you again for the review and I wish you safe travels!

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625




Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

If you are coming to see the volcano and can swing the cost this place is worth the cost. My room had a view of the volcano. There is nothing better then the glow of the volcano as a night light. The bar also has a great selection of local beers and the restaurant has good but pricey food.

My biggest complaint is that there was no bottled water available anywhere in the park. The only option was a $35 hotel branded bottle in my room.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Also there are plenty of outdoor activities in the park. Great hiking!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Aloha Jason G,

I'm glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and inviting here at Volcano House, located in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with folks on TripAdvisor about our lodge.

I'm also pleased to hear that you enjoyed Uncle George's Lounge and the Rim Restaurant - both offer a great selection of food that is prepared from locally sourced ingredients.

I'm sorry about the bottled water. The bottle in your room is free for use during your stay - it's filled with rainwater that has been filtered and purified by the National Park Service - it is some of the best tasting water I've enjoyed. You can purchase a version of it in our gift shop - I apologize for any confusion.

The National Park Service purposely prohibits the sale of bottled water at Volcano House. We are more than happy to fill your reusable water bottle for you with ice and fresh water at anytime during your stay.

Take Care!

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625




Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

There was no TV in the room, no icebox for keeping your beverages cold and no AC. I have never stayed at a hotel with no TV or icebox or AC. I was in shock that these things were missing since I know they had just remodeled the hotel. The last straw was no washer or dryer. Our clothes got wet from the rain even with our raincoats, and the hotel didn't even have a dryer.Oh, but they had two gift shops! This was unacceptable, considering what I was paying for the room. Maybe get rid of one of the gift shops and put in a laundry room for the guests. Although the beds were comfortable, because we were on the bottom floor, we kept hearing the guests over head. Every time someone walked on the floor, it sounded like a herd of elephants. Because the hotel is only a wooden structure, every time a guest room door closed, the whole building vibrated. I didn't get a sound sleep either night. I can't believe that no one thought about putting in insulation or sound proofing!!! :(

Room Tip: Don't rent a room on the right; it only has a view of the parking lot. Get a room on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesireeWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Aloha DesireeWatson,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at Volcano House, located in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. I'm sorry tho hear that you didn't know ahead of time that we don't have televisions or air conditioning. We alert guests to this fact on our website, in our confirmation letter and in our pre-stay letter.

The average high temperature in Volcano, Hawaii runs between 66.9 degrees and 72.4 degrees Fahrenheit with average lows in the low to mid fifties. At an elevation of nearly 4000 feet, most guests are often surprised how cool it can be in the Park and that is why we've installed new heaters in all of our rooms. We do have fans available in all rooms to our guests that may require a bit of additional cooling.

We have purposely kept televisions out of our rooms to encourage guests to enjoy all the beauty of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. In fact, many guests thank us for this . Instead of televisions, we do offer free use of iPads and Wi-Fi, daily guided walking tours of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, free bike rentals, live entertainment in Uncle George’s Lounge on Wednesday, Saturday & Sunday evenings, board and card games, and a lending library with guide books, cultural history and children’s bedtime stories. If you do need to catch the big game, television is available in Uncle George’s Lounge.

It's true we don't have a washer and dryer for guest use. There are 2 laundry mats located within a few minutes of Volcano House (Kilauea Military Camp and Volcano Village). I'll let the front desk know to tell guests about these. We will also look into offering a clothes drying service to our guests by utilizing our commercial dryers that we have on property.

Built in the 1940's, we are a historic lodge located in a National Park and therefore we balance the maintaining the historic fabric of the building and the needs and expectations of our guests. We offer spa sound machines in all rooms that help folks who may be having trouble sleeping.

Thank you again for the feedback.

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for two night on our honeymoon. The view was impressive and your first impression is great. We ate at the rim restaurant which was good and got to see the red glow. The room was clean and decent but the building is very old and has no sound privacy. We could hear someone snoring in the next room over!! Not very romantic. It's great location for seeing the park and therefore I'd do it one night but two nights was definitely too long and we were ready to get out of there and move on to the next place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Volcano House, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Aloha Ashley 2121,

I appreciate you leaving a TripAdvisor review about your recent stay with us at Volcano House. I'm pleased to hear that you found our views impressive, that you enjoyed your dining experience in the Rim Restaurant and that your room was clean. I'm sorry you disappointed in the noise level heard from your room.

As an older lodge constructed in the early 1940's, we are respectful of the historic nature of the building and continually work to balance this with he needs of our guests. We have spa machines located in all rooms that provide a level of ambient noise that many guests have found to be a nice addition. We also have sleep amenity packets at the front desk that contain ear plugs, a sleep mask and chamomile tea. I'll make certain the front desk let's guests know about this on check in.

Thank you for joining us at Volcano House for your your Honeymoon and I wish you a happy marriage!

Mahalo,

David MacIlwraith
General Manager
Hawaii Volcanoes Lodge Company
dmacilwraith@hawaiivolcanohouse.com
808.756.9625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
1.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
53.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
53.3 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
1.7 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano House

Property: Volcano House
Address: Crater Rim Dr, PO Box 53, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano House is the only hotel located within Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and is perched on the rim of Kilauea's Halemaumau crater. The historic Volcano House Hotel has long captured the imagination of visitors from all over the world with its iconic location, rich cultural legacy, and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Drawing upon a storied history dating back to 1846, Volcano House Hotel is now re-imagined for a new era with updated rooms, a restaurant and lounge serving Pacific Rim fare, and retail shops. Come experience the best Hawaii Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano House Hotel Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Volcano Hotel
Volcano House Hawaii/Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing