We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
At the Craters Edge
Nearby Hotels
US$188
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$228
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$181
US$158
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$385
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano House(Hawaii Volcanoes National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
45
12
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
12
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe banana breadhot tubb bour honeymoonyogurtbeautiful rainforestgarden roomrefrigerator was stockedthe big islandvolcano national parkthe room was nicespent nightsvolcano areaenjoyed our stayzaikahostsretreat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed at the Crater's Edge for 2 nights and 3 days on the occasion of my daughter's birthday. She loved the cozy, comfy room with a king size 4 post bed and fireplace and enjoyed the sauna and jacuzzi very much.

We also took the opportunity to get a lomilomi massage from an excellent professional masseuse at a nearby local spa. Our host Melanie helped to set up the appointment. She is a wonderful and conscientious host.

The main house was also open to us and Melanie made strong local coffee and fresh chocolates. We were even invited to a special piano concert in the living room with about 3 dozen local artists and residents living in Volcano town. That was superb!

One night after dinner we took a ride to the Jagger museum visitor center where we watched the glowing pit of Halemaumau crater send a thick billowing plume of smoke into the moonlight night sky. That was spectacular. Another day we went to Pahala to enjoy the Ka'u coffee festival celebration and on the last day we took a nice half day hike across the lava fields to pu'u huluhulu and listened to the birds while looking out over the volcanic landscape.

It was a wonderful get away to a comfortable, quite, elegant home in a very special part of the Big Island. I would certainly recommend this to friends and family and would come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derek925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We stayed here for several days when we visited the Big Island last October. We stayed in a room called the Haiku Garden. Overall, we were very disappointed.

The "hotel" is really just 3 rooms in a private home on a side street. Not very easy to find. When we arrived at night, we were greeted with the following: "Who are you?" Needless to say, we did not feel welcome. There are many stairs up to the room from the driveway. There was no offer to help with our luggage. If you are elderly or have any physical limitations, we highly recommend that you do not stay here. Hauling the luggage up from the driveway to the room was a bit of a challenge.

The room was a little shabby and not super clean. These rooms are supposed to be "environmental," but our room had a jacuzzi? Also, if you use the bathroom floor warmer, then the hot water does not work in the shower.

Importantly, "Bed and Breakfast" is a misnomer. The room had opened cereal boxes, used peanut butter, and a half-empty milk jug. It was not very sanitary in our view. It was more like a hostel. There is no maid service whatsoever. There is no kitchenette, so you have to wash dishes in the bathroom sink.

The only positive is that it is very convenient to the volcano, but there are other lodging options that are equally convenient to the Volcanos National Park.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank islandspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We stayed here while driving around the Big Island. We had stayed at larger hotels at other locations so it was fantastic to get such a lovely warm welcome here. We were shown around the apartment and then out into the gardens where the biggest surprise was. There was a jacuzzi hidden in the rain forest garden. It was beautiful with lovely lighting. Behind the jacuzzi was an actual volcano crater in the garden! The owners were lovely, very friendly, and were very informative.
The apartment had every you could want - and more! There was a little bread basket with home made banana bread and the fridge was stocked with everything that we needed. There is a couple of restaurants within a short walking distance, although the location feels as if you are in the middle of the rain forest. We thoroughly enjoyed it and it was an absolute joy to find this place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Great place to stay in Volcano. The website accurately describes this property, very comfortable, the bed was excellent, the surrondings are beautiful, the spa, was wonderful. The Rooms have plenty of fresh air, and quiet, and plenty of creature comforts. The owner Melanie leaves, fresh fruit, wine, bread, and chocolates for guests. The refrigerator, has all we needed for a health concious breakfast, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, orange juice, tea and coffee.

We clike to spend our money on great accomodations when traveling, but like to save money on eating. We recommend the Cafe Ohia in Volcano, for great deli food at a reasonable price.

We would highly recommend "At Craters Edge" for anyone traveling to Hilo.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Morticia415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed here hoping to have a romantic somewhat pampered experience for our honeymoon and we were quite disappointed with this B & B. Sure it looks nice in the pictures and don't get me wrong it's very nice but for the price we paid it sure wasn't worth it. We had to make our own breakfast from cheese string sticks in the fridge or from the single served boxes of cereal. Yes there were some nice fresh fruit when we got there, but if you're staying more than a couple of nights like we did nothing gets restocked and you end up having to go out and get your own food. The host wasn't there the whole time we were there so it felt like we were abandoned after we spent a lot of money. The rooms weren't nicely tidied up after we left or anything. We had to take out our own garbage as well. When I'm on vacation, let alone my honeymoon I don't want to do too much work or ALL the work for that matter. This place should be advertised as a Bed only...cause the breakfast and service was more or less MIA.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelz540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews