We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Valley Campground
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must go”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Awesome place. It's very quite too. Try to make it on a full moon night. But probably not a good idea to visit it in summer. The campground is surprisingly clean. Bring along lot of water for washing and drinking since it get really dry.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank atanuach04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Campground in a beautiful setting with famous rocks and climbing areas nearby! Basic (bring along enough water for washing/ cooking), but quiet, peaceful, close to nature, no artificial lights and amazing scenery at night - never seen so many stars before! Go there!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank kloea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed with my wife for two nights last week and was in awe the entire time! Campsite (#34) was amazing...excellent view, flat area for tent and rock overhang for shade. The trails (we did Lost Horse Mine and Barker's Dam) were incredible, offering scenery like we'd never experienced before (we're from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada), wildlife and a great workout - in the case of Lost Horse. Ranger at the Yucca Valley Station was very knowledgeable and helpful. Note, this campsite is BYO everything (except TP). Fire wood can be purchased for about $6/bundle in Yucca Valley and 2 bundles should be plenty for dinner/evening (if you're conservative). Saw Jackrabbits, squirrels, chipmunks and were woken up by the howls of coyote our last night there...simply amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank Mozeleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I believe the park is 500,000 acres overall so there should never be a dull or boring moment. Lots of places to hike, bike and stroll too! Enjoy the peace and quiet and the scenery. One of my favorite places to stop at least 4X a year!

Room Tip: Make sure that your RV actually fits in a space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inclineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in late September, which is to say, just as the weather transitioned from absurdly hot into climbing-friendly. This meant the best sites were all taken by mid-afternoon and the campground was completely full. Basically, given the proximity to LA, if the weather is nice you need to get here early.

There seemed to be a wide variety of campsite size and quality. I'd recommend figuring out what portion of the day you're likely to be in your site and choosing one based on shade availability at that time. The campsites and generally fairly sandy, with big rocks all around. The Joshua trees themselves are ubiquitous.

The main reason to stay here is the location. In addition to the bouldering problems located right in the camp, there are numerous climbing opportunities within a couple of miles. Hidden Valley itself is just a few minutes away by car, and there are other rocks with name routes within walking distance of the camp.

(Our first night there, a rare storm system was coming through and we kept climbing up the nearby rocks to see one of the best sunsets any of us had ever witnessed. The clouds lingered all night and we were treated to an awesome sunrise as well. I don't think this is a common occurrence, but it was absolutely awesome.)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2007

We just camped there last weekend, and it was amazing. Our campsite was facing the Jushua tree forest in the open valley, when we woke up in the monring and opened the tent, we were speechless with such an amazing view in front of us.

The campground was very quiet, and there was plenty of space to each camp site so it felt very private.

  • Liked — view, quietness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank norcal_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree National Park
3.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.6 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Campground

Property: Hidden Valley Campground
Address: Joshua Tree National Park, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92277
Region: United States > California > Joshua Tree National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Joshua Tree National Park
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Campground Hotel Joshua Tree National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing