We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Sacred Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sacred Sands
Wall Township, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Living on the Atlantic coast, we went to the desert knowing that it would hold small appeal. Joshua Tree was a slightly convenient national park where we could extend a trip to LA. However, Sacred Sands proved an oasis at the edge of a natural gem.

We have stayed at B&Bs for over four decades. Scott and Steve, the designers/owners/innkeepers of Sacred Sands, were outstanding hosts in a stunning setting, among the best we have experienced. The inn’s strawbale construction, decor, lighting, and amenities were just so interesting. The bathroom showers alone are worth the stay. Each of the two rooms offers awesome views of the surrounding hills, augmented by a private outdoor space with a hot tub and bed. There are ample indoor and outdoor public areas.

I avoid hot tubs, certain that they have unspeakable histories; however, when Scott described the extreme cleansing they undergo between guests, adding that the fresh water was “on its way to 104 degrees,” we were hooked. Nights turned cold during our December stay, but a long warm soak prompted us to use the outside bed. What a delightful way to spend hours watching stars in an inky sky.

Delicious and artfully presented breakfasts were painstakingly assembled in the inn’s great-room. Excellent food and coffee prepared us for each day’s exploration of Joshua Tree. Scott and Steve were rich sources of information about how best to manage the park. They maintain a library of guide books available for guest use. The park itself is such a different world that words and even photographs cannot do justice. It must be explored, preferably at length.

We are eager to return, trying other seasons. Sacred Sands is so worth the trip.

Room Tip: Similar rooms; one has an extra window--possibly a small advantage; basically a tossup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank W J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
117
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Perfection.
Looking for a base camp to relax at night after a day of exploration in the park? Check.
Looking for a convenient location two miles from West entrance? Check.
Amazing breakfast each morning? Check.
Helpful advice about local hikes in park? Check.
Quiet solitude? Check.
Relaxing hot soak after a long day of hiking? Check.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

There's a reason this B&B has received all 5 star ratings - these guys know hospitality! They manage to gratify all your senses during your stay, from the beautiful guest room and lovely views, to the quiet serenity you'll experience sitting on your private veranda gazing at the stars. Our room smelled heavenly when we arrived, the sheets were luxurious and the breakfast was tasty & well presented. There are many private alcoves & gardens to sit and enjoy the desert solitude and the innkeepers are friendly & informative but not intrusive. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tagnrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this as we wanted to have a brief excursion to a national park from LA. Initially we looked at Palm Springs but then stumbled across this property which is Just outside Joshua Tree Park. It is an amazing design and a joy to stay in, with an aesthetic which is very modern but blends and contrasts with the desert in which it is placed.
The park is stunning and you couldn't wish for a better base from which to visit it.
The hosts were very helpful before and during visit and take great pride in their unusual breakfasts.
My only area I could see for improvement would be to stock the fridge they provide with Water and Beer. These would have been very welcome after a long journey.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Sacred Sands is a truly exceptional place. I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to stay there. The views from the grounds are awe inspiring and the grounds themselves, including zen gardens, are filled with peaceful places to sit, relax and gaze out at the desert.
The large public room as well as the room we stayed in are decorated exquisitely - with lots of interesting and unique touches. The bedroom was spacious quiet, very comfortable, beautifully decorated and had a wonderful scent. The fabulous private terrace included a hot tub and a mat upon which to lay and watch the sky. It was a fantastic place to unwind and the night sky was amazing.
I cannot say enough positive things about the owners, Scott and Steve. Sacred Sands is clearly a labor of love for them and they share that love with their guests. Their breakfasts were delicious, gourmet and beautifully presented. Joshua Tree was closed during my visit, but Scott and Steve provided wonderful alternatives, as well as great recommendations of restaurants for dinners.
I do not usually stay in bed and breakfasts, but feel so fortunate to have been able to spend two nights at Sacred Sands. It was a fabulous experience I will not soon forget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesLois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Others have complimented and accurately described the accommodations and amenities, but there is more:
Yes, this must be the best lodging in Joshua Tree. But pick the whole place up and drop it in any of the world’s premier vacation spots and it would be the same. The Innkeepers have created a very special place with artistic vision and attention to comfort and detail. It mirrors who they are as human beings. As sublime as a cool desert breeze in the early morning sun.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We called a month ago and they had a cancellation and opening for a weekend visit. Still a wonderful experience. Great food. Rooms that are cozy and warm, but my favorite is still the outside spas with a window you can look out on to the desert at night and platform beds outside with mattresses, blankets and pillows for snuggling up to look at the stars even when 50 mile an hour wind is blowing (really, it was crazy). Great hosts. Steve and Scott always have great tips for hikes and adventures that suit our agenda. I will not list them here. Want to keep them to ourselves so you will just have to go to Sacred Sands to get their expert recommendàtions.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dhill100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree National Park
10.9 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
594 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
274 reviews
11.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
307 reviews
13.0 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacred Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred Sands

Property: Sacred Sands
Address: 63155 Quail Springs Road, HC1 Box 1071 A, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92252
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Joshua Tree National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sacred Sands Hotel Joshua Tree National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing