We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place”
Review of Sacred Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sacred Sands
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Sacred Sands is a unique and amazing place to stay. From the time you walk in you feel that you are transported to a calm and peaceful place to relax and unwind. The rooms both have jacuzzis which after a day exploring the nearby Joshua Tree National Park are a perfect way to relax. The proprietors Steve and Scott are there to help you in any way to make your stay an enjoyable one.

One more thing, the breakfasts. They are amazing beyond expectation. Unique and flavorful and simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We went on our honeymoon, this place is fabulous. Can't recommend it enough, if you have a chance go.

Breakfast was an amazing feast, the buildings are so interesting. The hot tub under the stars, the uninstructed views and the welcome. All in all just great

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mulligan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Words can't describe how beautiful, serene, and thoughtful a retreat Sacred Sands is. I echo all of the positive comments by other previous reviewers! But what truly makes this place so inspirational are the proprietors - Scott and Steve. They do not simply check you in and serve breakfast, they take time to get to know their guests and share conversation. Not only did they work hard to get the jacuzzi in the west room fixed so that I could use it during my stay, they also shared some amazing wine with me as a thoughtful gesture.
The highlight of my entire trip to Joshua Tree was a truly motivating conversation with Scott and Steve where they shared their wisdom and experience of starting a business with only a dream.
I came to Sacred Sands looking for solace, a beautiful space to practice yoga, and time to reflect on nature, but I also had an opportunity to get to know two truly amazing spirits.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Everything is thought of. It is simply beautiful. A lot of attention and care is given to ensure you have a relaxing stay. Great little patio with hot tub (view on the mountains), bed, chairs and outdoor shower. Delicious and healthy breakfast. The owners, Scott and Steve are great hosts, very knowledgeable about the region and very helpful in selecting hikes. Will definitely go back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DomVallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Scott and Steve have created a perfect place to unwind, 1 mile from the west entrance to Joshua Tree. They have left no detail unattended. From the hay bale construction, the color choices (I call it "desert chic"), the beautiful furnishings especially in the "great room" (their living room, but they share it with the guests 24/7), the freshly-raked Zen rock garden out front, the eucalyptus scent in the room, the hot tubs (with cut-out at eye level in the (intentionally) rusted metal privacy wall, so you can look at the desert landscape from your perch in the bubbly hot water) and viewing platforms complete with futon, pillows and fleece blanket for nighttime star-gazing, everything contributed to creating one of the most peaceful and special places we have ever been. Scott and Steve are gracious hosts, killer chefs, and full of great suggestions on places to eat and hikes to try. Would stay here again in a nano-second.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, and both are gorgeous. The West room has a slightly larger private outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parismuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I don't even consider myself a "B&B type" person, but I wanted to stay as close to Joshua Tree as possible, and couldn't resist the other reviews here. I couldn't have been happier with the choice. Breakfasts were amazing, the architecture and setting were phenomenal, the room was out of this world, and Scott & Steve provided the perfect combination of personal attention and privacy. The website does not do this place justice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent 6 days rock climbing in Joshua Tree and decided to relax after each days climbs by staying at a B&B instead of car camping. We certainly made the right choice by staying at Sacred Sands. It is 15 minutes away from some of the best climbing in Joshua Tree and 15 minutes away from the best dining in the town of Joshua Tree. Our days consisted of a great breakfast cooked by our hosts, a challenging day of climbing in Joshua Tree, followed by a nice shower and siak in our private 2 person seven foot jacuzzi under the stars. Then a short drive to a great dinner in town at one of several restaurants ( Steaks, Hamburgers, Pizza, Indian, Thai, etc.) After dinner a quick drive back to Sacred Sands for a peaceful nights sleep in a king size bed . We prepared our own lunch daily, making use of the refrigerator provided in our room, which provided ample storage for enough beers to enjoy with our nightly soak in the jacuzzi. The fact that there are only 2 large guest rooms and the straw bale construction insures the ultimate in peace and privacy while staying at Sacred Sands. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Both rooms are awesome. The more expensive room has a little larger outside area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree National Park
11.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
448 reviews
11 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
672 reviews
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
282 reviews
11.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree/29 Palms
Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua...
#11 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
15.4 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacred Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred Sands

Address: 63155 Quail Springs Road, HC1 Box 1071 A, Joshua Tree National Park, CA 92252
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Joshua Tree National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Joshua Tree National Park
Price Range: £194 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sacred Sands Hotel Joshua Tree National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing