We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You MUST NOT miss this hiking trail - one of the best trails we have hiked in US”

Harding Ice Field Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Guided Harding Icefield Trail Hike
More Info
US$212.15*
and up
Northwestern Fjord Sightseeing Cruise from Seward
More Info
US$133.90*
and up
Exit Glacier Ice Hike in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“You MUST NOT miss this hiking trail - one of the best trails we have hiked in US”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

it is a strenuous 9 miles round trip hike from visit center to the top, but the rewarding view and animals along the path is worth the effort.

we hiked in a rainy day with 2 kids (7 and 9 yrs old). it is not easy but we made it to the top. We saw a herd of mountain goats on the trail. Too bad we didn't see black bears as many others have seen. The close-up glacier view is fantastic. so do the glacier creeks. Unfortunately it was raining when we finally got to the top so that we couldn't see the grand view.

It took us about 7 hours round trip - 4 hours up and 3 hours down. We spent lots of time for taking pictures and breaks. so it won't be surprising if someone can make a round trip in 4 hours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Challenging Hike - But Well Worth the Effort”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Harding Ice Field Trail is a moderate to strenuous hike. If you are planning to hike the entire trail, I recommend good hiking boots (the trail had muddy patches, wet rocks and roots, patches of small rocks, patches of snow, and a couple of easy stream crossings) to make it a more pleasant journey. Much of the hike is uphill, so you should expect this hike to take longer than the 8 mile distance would generally lead you to believe.

But, with all the logistics and warnings out of the way, let me echo the sentiments of other reviewers: the view from the top is well worth it! I have hiked near/to many glaciers, but the ice field was an extraordinary sight unlike any other I have seen. And the view was made all the more sweet by the fact that the hike was a workout.

If you are fit (and equipped) for the hike, you will thoroughly enjoy it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTravelingNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Challenging hike”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is at the other end of the scale when comparing to Exit Glacier. It is a long walk with almost a constant uphill incline. You will need a good 5-6 hours for the whole trip depending how long you spend at the top. Children will find it challenging. Is it worth it ? For us yes. This is one place where you can see the birth of so many glaciers and the icefield is so large that one's camera can't capture it all. On the walk you get to see where the Exit Glacier starts from and with a bit of luck you might get to see some wildlife as well. If you're walking alone we suggest you utilise the facility at the start of the walk where you can sign yourself on and off the walk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ali921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the hike”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hike is hard. The guide books said 8 miles, my pedometer read 11.5 miles. You do not need hiking boots or poles but the hike is moderately difficult. It is a long hike uphill but worth it in the end. The last mile up is the easiest. Take plenty of breaks and pace yourself. It took roughly three hours to get up and two to get down. The path gets very crowded later in the day. Leave early in the morning to avoid the crowds. Offer some encouragement to those you see slugging their way up as you make your way down. Ladies there is limited area to take an outside bathroom break! At times the trail is very narrow surrounded by thick vegetation. There is a public bathroom at the bottom. You sweat enough going up, so be sure to bring water. It is quite windy and cold at the top. Bring layers for the last mile or so and a hat helps at the top. Bring a marker so you can sign your name at the emergency shelter. Enjoy the hike!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“got close, glad I did it, but wasn't easy”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I would go with a ranger if I ever did this again. I kind of felt nervous during some of it with it's drop off's and a 6 year old with no attention span

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank amandria1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harding Ice Field Trail also viewed

 

Been to Harding Ice Field Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing