We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest to 'Paradise', could use some rehab”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Rainier National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
NJ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Closest to 'Paradise', could use some rehab”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

There is no better place to stay then right in the heart of Paradise, with Mount Rainier as the backdrop and miles of hiking trails at the doorstep. That's why this gets the very good rating. Common areas are very nice, well maintained while still reminiscent of days gone by and very similar to the old photos displayed throughout the Inn. Staff was quick to start fires in the giant fireplaces when weather turned quickly one afternoon, drenching many, and allowing them to both warm up and dry their shoes. The rooms are nice enough, small but how much time do you really spend in them? We had a room in The Annex with bath, very convenient though I heard many guests did not mind having rooms without. The walls are thin, could hear the entire conversation from room next door regarding a real estate transaction, however it is an old building so not unexpected - bring foam ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. It is definitely time to invest some money in at least the Annex area, well worn with time and updates needed. If you are not familiar with staying in the national parks, as with many others, there are no phones or TVs in rooms. Ultimately, the beds were comfortable which is most important since that is just about all you do while in the room. Enjoy the outdoors, amazing scenery and the common areas as well along with your fellow National Park travelers!
We had some very good meals in the dining room, breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mooshele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you very much for your thorough review and friendly tips. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back for a return visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    335
    161
    77
    32
See reviews for
237
401
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I've climed Mt. Rainier many times with friends, and each time we always stay one night prior and one night after. This place is very cozy, warm and well received. The rooms are nice and the views are second to none. The staff does everything in thier power to be helpful. The food is also very good and they serve local beers! The Inn itself is very relaxing to stay at and during the day there are a lot of outdoor activities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments and for selecting the Paradise Inn as your home away from home when visiting Mount Rainier. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I would say it's all about location. Paradise Inn absolutely gets the best location, either as a starting point for exploring Mount Rainier the next day, or a destination after a long day hiking. We stayed one night here and enjoyed it. Mountains with snow cap are right outside our window. During the night, we spent some time in the yard just watching the milky way, which was kinda romantic. The mail box inside the Inn makes it very convenient to send postcards. Breakfast buffet is a bit expensive, but worth it I guess. I'll consider staying here again if I come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Q Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was on our bucket list. During our visit the weather was fantastic. The breakfast buffet was
wonderful -- the largest raspberries I have seen. You have to go down the hall to the bathroom and down a short staircase. The showers were also down the hall and were private. We didn't miss TV, internet, and phone. We loved the flowers, waterfalls, and wildlife. You could not believe how bright the stars were as we viewed them from our window. The hotel was constructed from huge logs salvaged from a fire years ago. Other reviews mentioned amenities we haven't covered. This was a part of our celebration of our fiftieth anniversary and it could not have been better

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Olechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.

Congratulations on your 50th Anniversary!

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a national park and remembering that, go for the mountain, not the lodging. This lodge is very rustic so this is not five star accommodations; however the staff and the scenery are five star! There is magic on that mountain and no television, phones and internet help make it possible. The check-in staff was welcoming and willing to go above and beyond to get me situated. One staff member let me borrow her personal blow dryer because rooms are not equipped with them. That is service!

This Inn is all about the scenery, so GO OUTSIDE! There are plenty of trails to explore and places to relax outdoors. The night sky will take your breath away. After a day and evening outside, the so, so accommodations don't seem to matter.

I would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Be prepared for no extras in your room. There is shampoo, conditioner and lotion but nothing else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YogaRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would be honored to welcome you back for a return visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We've been staying at Paradise Inn at Mt. Rainier since the 1970's. Sure, the price has gone from the mid-1970s $19 per night for a room with a bathroom down the hall to our end of September 2013 stay in a 2 queen room with a full bath at $187 per night, but, there's no other place quite like it! No matter what time of year the question is always, "I wonder if we will see the mountain?" When "the Mountain is out" there's hardly a more beautiful site. There it is! Right out your window or the front door of the Lodge. The two large stone fireplaces in the Lobby were carefully dismantled and reassembled a few years ago when the Lodge was renovated. Unfortunately, on our last visit (end of the season), they were at the very end of the firewood --- and the power went out due to a terrific snow storm that sent some people scurrying away earlier than they might have otherwise. Some staff got a little grumpy when guests asked about availability of food: "What??? The power's out! The generator only keeps the Lobby lights on and the computers running so we can process your bill"---(they didn't really say that...). We didn't make any generalizations about that behavior because we've always been really pleased with the hospitality. And the Sunday buffet luncheon is fantastic! We had great fun having "races" with lotion caps on the floor of our bathroom (which must have had a 3" difference in height from one end to the other). The place definitely has character. That's part of what makes Paradise Inn so unique. We've stayed at Paradise in the summer with the mountain sticking out there so majestically. And, this was our second time we've stayed when it has snowed (both times in September). We will return. The mountain teases us from the Seattle area and even native Washingtonians proclaim with glee, "The Mountain's Out!"

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the buildings have views of the mountain (when it's visible). The wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 411Shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Inn main restaurant serves fantastic food, drink, and the wait staff does a wonderful job. The check-in process is smooth and rapid. The Inn's great hall is majestically rustic and very Pacific Northwest in it's architecture. Many plush and comfy chairs for reading, napping, fellowshipping, etc. Free coffee and fixins provided in the lobby each morning. The snack bar area is quite expensive in my opinion but it comes in handy for a quick lunch. The gift shop has reasonably priced items and a nice diversity of keepsakes and memorabilia.

Managing expectations....

I saw no elevators, so you carry your luggage up the stairs. No bell hops to help either. The rooms were designed for one thing....sleeping. Our room had two twin beds that barely fit between the narrow dimensions of the room. The mattresses were, well, not all that comfy. There is a sink in the room. There is no air conditioning and no mini-frig. You can open the window. Got to take a leak in the middle of the night? No problem, just pop-on the nice white robe provided and take a walk down the hall to the gender specific bathroom. Need a shower? Just pop-on that robe and take a walk down the hall to the two private showers on your end of the floor. But remember, your room will be the last place you will want to spend your time in this one-of-a-kind destination. It works fine for sleeping, so no real complaints despite the quaint design of this very old Inn. It's a unique experience for sure. Our room cost around $130/night.

The Inn has a great patio with many chairs available to guests that just wish to sit, enjoy the views of Mt. St. Helens, Mt. Rainier, Mt. Adams, and the craggy peaks of all shapes and sizes. What this old Inn might lack in modern conveniences is more than compensated by it's location.

Don't drive by the Inn's parking lot because once you do, you are on a one-way road and if you accidently pass the parking lot thinking there is another entrance, you will get to drive a long way around a loop road for another try. Ask me how I know this. So when you think you see the parking lot, turn left and get in the darn thing.

Go prepared to enjoy some hiking and nature watching. The Blacktail Deer, Rockchucks (cousin of the eastern Woodchuck) and other mountain critters are all but tame and will allow for some really close-up photos. You will also see some amazing annuals and perennials along the trail worthy of a macro lens. The glaciers, snow melt water falls, and the many trail intersections make for some really nice photos. Take some good hiking boots, sun screen, sun glasses, a nice day pack and water bladder, some snacks, a camera, and get ready for a fantastic time of trail walking up the very manageable trails toward Rainier. We probably hiked about 1/3 of the way up, far enough to see Mount Hood about 100 miles south near Portland.

You will surely make some new friends at the Paradise Inn and on the trail. I encourage anyone on the fence to plan a visit to this very cool, old Inn and meet the old boss of the Cascades...the great and awesome Mount Rainier.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early. The Inn is a popular destination.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JAFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you very much for your thorough review and friendly tips. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Rainier National Park
11.1 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
9.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
12.5 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
14.3 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
13.5 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier

Property: Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
Address: Mt Rainier National Park, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98368
Region: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Rainier National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1916 and designated as one of the "Great Lodges of the West" this historic guest lodge sits in the shadow of Mount Rainier surrounded by mountain meadows lush with wildflowers. Miles of hiking trails just outside the front door lead to adventures in all directions and offer panoramic views of glaciers and waterfalls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Mount Rainier National Park
Paradise Inn Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing