We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Unique .. Food Terrible”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Rainier National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
“Hotel Unique .. Food Terrible”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the original part of the Inn with bath down the hall. The room was charming w/Pendleton blankets and a window that opened to view the mountain. Not expensive at $125 a night. But, on entering this lovely inn, you are startled to see a huge gift shop in the lobby selling the same ole same ole. I found the piano playing annoying. One 'dinner' was enough..as has been noted, service leaving a lot to be desired as well as the food..and it
was expensive and niggardly. Wonderful to sit outside .. you had to bring your own chair and
see the swallows and jays bikering. If you want a bigger, more modern room, there is the
Annex which, of course is double the price..but you have that bathroom which Americans seem to covet. The Inn is beautiful. Management of the dinning room needs to changed.

Room Tip: See what is available..get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonneannee741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts and comments. Please accept our sincere apologies as we did not meet with your expectations. We take all feedback very seriously and will share your comments with our team as we strive to improve all aspects of our operation.

Thank you again for your comments.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    341
    166
    81
    32
See reviews for
242
412
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Paradise Inn is a great place to stay. Location, location, location. Our room was small but the bathroom a decent size. We booked early enough to get a room with a private bath. Not all rooms have them so make a note if that's important to you. The rooms are very basic but the bed very comfortable, you are not there for the rooms but the location which was perfect. The Inn lobby is rustic but impressive and we were lucky enough to meet the artist who had painted all the chandeliers. The food was excellent and JT and M-It were so careful with my friend and my dietary issues. All the staff were friendly and helpful. we will be back.

Room Tip: If you want a private bath, book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wharton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

It was great to be in the park. The historic lodge is impressive. Enjoyed sitting in the lobby listening to the pianist and chilling. We had a sunny day to enjoy the mountain, before the rain and snow came through. Because of the time of year (mid June) many of the trails were snow covered., inaccessible.
The room: the room was much better than I expected after reading so many negative comments. We had a queen with a bath. There was room for all our luggage
and didn't seem crowded although it was small. Our room had a sort entry way with a dresser and room for the luggage. There was also a desk and one chair. We even had a view of Mt. ranier from our window which was nice. We were on the top floor so no noise from overhead. We could hear voices from next door although not loud enough to hear actual conversations.
Slept really well. Bed was comfortable., room was clean, again remember this place is really old.
Next time I think I would stay at the national inn at the bottom of the mountain, not because of the accommodations but because I was disappointed in the food offerings at the restaurant. Trying really hard to be gourmet, but the result was mediocre in my opinion.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHORELINE
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Depending on what you're looking for, this could be as close to paradise as you can get on earth. Figuratively, too. Considering that it's operated, under the auspices of the National Park Service (that's right, the US government), by Rainier Guest Services, LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of the Virginia-based Guest Services Inc., it is remarkable for its hospitality and the helpfulness of the staff. I'm not a particularly seasoned tourist, but I think the beds are more comfortable than any I've slept in at any hotel I've visited. Rooms are clean and well-maintained, though small and rustic. But the main draw is the spectacular views all around the hotel and the fact that this is the main base for climbing expeditions. The first thing that hits you entering the front door is the aroma of wood smoke from the fire places in the lobby, and you're immediately transported to an era before television, the cell phone and the Internet, when people actually enjoyed God's creation and communing with each other face-to-face. It's a bit pricey. There's no wi-fi, no TV, and little else to distract from the sheer beauty of Mount Rainier and environs. Bring your hiking/climbing gear. Bring your sweetheart. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LabGeek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Paradise Inn is a comfortable inn but is is more about the experience rather than the sleeping arrangements. There are no televisions, internet, and phones (of any kind!). Back to basics! The rooms were very small and an extremely tight bath, however it really didn't matter. We were no lounging in our rooms! Time here is spent outdoors! The scenery was unbelievable, the hikes were invigorating, and the service at the hotel was perfect. Meals were tasty and satisfying. They even went overboard on accommodating for a celiac diet. There was no chance of getting sick this trip! JT and M-IT were brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The historic lodges in all the western national parks were built nearly 100 years ago and have remained true to their original character. This one is set high on the side of Mt. Rainier with indescribable views in every direction. The open beam 3 story lobby is a history lesson all by itself with giant paper covered lamp shades hanging from the ceiling beams, a custom made grandfather clock made of logs and a piano built of local materials. We have stayed there on several occasions and the accommodations are spartan and tend to be expensive but you are not there for the room. This visit was a Sunday drive to have dinner in the restaurant. The food was very good. We had the two specials, prime rib and seafood pasta. Both had large portions and were very tasty. These were the most expensive entrees at $32. Dinner for 2 including a bottle of wine, one desert, 2 coffees, tax and tip were $126. It is not a cheap place to eat but the prices would be good value for the money in Seattle and you are in one of the most beautiful settings on earth.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsdukejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, the State
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Imagine - this historic inn was supposed to be torn down - so glad the citizens made their voices heard, and now you have the opportunity to stay here, after extensive updating and even adding the annex. We had a room in the original lodge with a view of the mountain. It's easy to put up with thin walls and squeaky floors and doors! They provide mid afternoon tea - very thoughtful. The staff is from many different countries and states - they are very friendly and give great advice. The cafe has early morning coffee and offers sandwiches and drinks. The gift shop has everything you may have forgotten to bring from home, and has a wonderful selection of souvenirs. We got to meet the artists who crafted the amazing lampshades, Dale C. Thompson. There will be a book available for purchase soon. Also in the lobby, we enjoyed the piano music.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simivalley1699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We agree! Paradise Inn is a great place to disconnect from your modern day distractions and reconnect with family and friends. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.
All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Rainier National Park
11.1 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
167 reviews
9.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
307 reviews
12.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
95 reviews
18.1 mi away
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rai...
#1 of 2 in Crystal Mountain
323 reviews
10.9 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier

Property: Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
Address: 52807 Paradise Road E., Mt Rainier National Park, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98368
Region: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Rainier National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1916 and designated as one of the "Great Lodges of the West" this historic guest lodge sits in the shadow of Mount Rainier surrounded by mountain meadows lush with wildflowers. Miles of hiking trails just outside the front door lead to adventures in all directions and offer panoramic views of glaciers and waterfalls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Mount Rainier National Park
Paradise Inn Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing