We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience - Especially for City Folk”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Cascades National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stehekin Valley Ranch
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I treated my husband to a bit of a different destination for his birthday. We are not campers - well I'm not anyway, so this was a compromise between the five-star hotel I would enjoy and the sleeping bag on the ground!
It's an interesting place to get to - no driving, you must take the Lake Chelan ferry or hike yourself up there. We chose the ferry. Very fast and fun. Then from the "landing" they bus you to the Ranch.
The tent cabin is just that - tent top, and window coverings and cabin walls. Two beds, hardly any lighting and a door that doesn't lock - a seemingly necessary thing, but then you get over it. I mean, where would someone go with your stuff?
The price includes the meals - which is good as there is no pizza delivery! You enjoy your meals at the community lodge. This is where you enjoy the grub, the HUGE fireplace, the upstairs reading & game room and all the other visitors - it's all about interaction in the lodge. This is also where the bathroom & showers are - take a flashlight because it is PITCH dark at night.
The Ranch offers a little bus to take you around and further up the road to hike around, see the rivers and waterfalls - and the best stop? The BAKERY. Yummy cinnamon rolls and excellent coffee.
Oh - be sure to take bug repellent. The mosquitos are HUGE! And agressive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGoddessofAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed 3 nights in a tent cabin at Stehekin Valley Ranch run by the Courtneys.
Stehehin valley ranch turns out to be the best place to stay in the remote place of Stehekin. It offers the best accommodation, food and transportation. The location is beautifully surrounded by green pasture.
Staying in a tent cabin is close to camping in the wilderness and yet has the comfort of sleeping in a real bed and having good food, 3 meals a day (prime rib on Friday).
Tent cabins do not have electricity and shower. A kerosene lamp and a battery lamp are provided. Shared toilet and shower room are very clean and just a few steps away.
Communal meal is the best thing to experience at Stehekin Valley ranch. A library room is also available to relax, to read and to.... connect to the internet. Stehekin Valley ranch has internet connection to the outside world if you have your own laptop.
The ranch also provides rafting, kayaking and horse riding activities. The kayak tour is excellent led by a young gentleman who grew up in Stehekin. The tour goes into the lake and the marsh of the river. I really recommend the kayaking tour. Unfortunately the water was to low in late August, rafting was close.
Transportation on the red shuttle bus is also included with the stay at Stehekin Valley Ranch.
The Courtneys also own the only bakery in Stehekin. The Bakery is a must stop for everyone to get ice cream and other sweets.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trang2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed one night at the Stehekin Valley Ranch but we would have been happy to stay a week. It's beautiful, remote, and the Courtney's were delightful hosts. The owner was there to greet us as soon as we arrived on the shuttle bus from the boat landing. We stayed in Tent Cabin #12 which was very clean and comfortable. It was the perfect location, a little ways from most of the cabins but convenient to the bathrooms and dining hall. I would suggest bringing a flashlight if you plan on reading at night in the tent cabins because there's no electricity. We arrived just in time for lunch--all meals were included. For supper, there were about a dozen homemade pies to choose from. My wife and I couldn't decide so we shared four different half slices! During our short stay we took a half day horse ride from their corral into the Northern Cascades.This place was all that we hoped it would be!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

When you are at Stehekin Valley Ranch, you don't have contact with the rest of the world, and you don't really care. The Stehekin Valley is located in the North Cascades National Park, and is only accessible via boat, plane, or a long hike. I recommend taking the sea-plane, as you get a great view of Lake Chelan and the surrounding mountains, and the trip only takes 30 minutes. The boat ride is nice, but it takes several hours. Anyhow, back to the SVR... This is a family run operation and they obviously take a lot of pride in what they do. The owners are very friendly and make an effort to get to know all of their visitors. There are two cabin options - rustic tent cabins and ranch cabins. We chose a ranch cabin with a queen and twin bed and private bath. Be aware, there are no phones / wi-fi / TV here. If you have to have those things, this probably isn't the place for you. There is no cell service anywhere in the Stehkin Valley. Our cabin was comfortable. There is no A/C, but there are plenty of windows to open and enjoy the fresh air. There is not a lot of light in the cabins at night (one bulb over the bed and two in the bathroom). You would be wise to take along a flashlight. The beds were comfortable. All of your meals are included at SVR and they are fantastic. Nothing fancy, just good eats. Breakfast features a number of made to order choices (omelets, pancakes, french toast). For lunch you have the option of packing a sack lunch in the morning to take with you, or there are hot lunches served as well. Dinner always has a featured menu item, but there are other choices always available. Dinner also includes an awesome dessert selection from the Stehekin Pastry Co. The dining area features long log tables, sawdust floors, and a huge fireplace. There are many activities available at the ranch including horseback riding, bicyling, rafting, kayaking. These cost extra but rates are reasonable. In addition, there are numerous hiking trails throughout the Stehekin Valley. There are National Park Service buses that transport visitors through the valley on 11 miles of road. There is no fee to ride the bus if you are staying at SVR. We only spent two nights at SVR, but we are already planning to return for a longer stay. We highly recommend Stehekin Valley Ranch.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We're not campers by nature but the tent cabins sounded quite fun when I looked at them on the internet before we booked. My husband was a little shocked by how basic they were when we arrived and we did have an ant problem the first night and were eaten alive by mosquitoes, but we gradually settled in.
The beds were really comfortable and I had the best night's sleep of our whole trip. The food was plentiful and very,very good. We met some lovely people and Cliff the owner was interesting and helpful.
We hiked to Agnes Gorge from the ranch, not to be recommended as it was about a 10 mile round trip in over 100 F. Take the bus to High Bridge and do the hike from there - it is lovely. Our favourite walk was to Lake Coon and then on the McGregor trail up to the waterfall, where we saw a bear on the trail. We enjoyed sitting outside the tent cabin or lying in the hammock reading or watching the horses in the morning.
We were both sad when it was time to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Stehekin Valley Ranch July of 2012 and the summer of 2010. This is the perfect place for a person who likes nature, outdoor activities, good food, peace and comfy but not luxurious accommodations. On the other hand, if Las Vegas is your favorite vacation spot, then the Stehekin Valley Ranch may not be for you. It takes some time and effort to get there. You either have to come by boat (including well-run and regularly scheduled ferries) or by plane. No roads to the outside. But the isolation and beauty of place really grabs you and makes the effort worth while. The views of the mountain valley and Lake Chelan are really spectacular. There is no night life. However, if you take advantage of the many outdoor activities such as hiking, horse back riding, biking, kayaking and rafting, the last thing on your mind in the evening will be trying to go out somewhere. You will just want to go to sleep to be ready for the next day's activities. Three meals a day are included in the price. The food is good and simple and there is plenty of it. The owners and the staff are friendly and accommodating. The Stehekin Valley Ranch is highly recommended!

David Goldstein

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Pros of SVR: great food, beautiful views, close to river, great hiking, near the PCT, clean facilities, beds are comfy. Cons: no privacy if you stay in a tent cabin (they are close to each other), little quiet from 8am to 11 pm, no place to sit outside and read and not be disturbed, the owner can be helpful but smothering, the tent cabins are dark inside even with both lanterns on. This is a good place for families and large groups but not the place for a couple or single looking for a quiet, relaxing retreat

Room Tip: Tent cabin 11 seemed to be the farthest away from others, but was still 20-30 feet away from other b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BLSmith45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stehekin Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stehekin Valley Ranch

Address: P.O. Box 36, Stehekin WA 98852, North Cascades National Park, WA
Region: United States > Washington > North Cascades National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in North Cascades National Park
Price Range: £68 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing