We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definite Bucket List area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hood Canal

Hood Canal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The longest fjord in the United States.
Silverdale, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Definite Bucket List area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

After completing a 2 month international tour, we were comparing our visits to the Hood Canal area, which is North America's longest fjord with other areas throughout the world. Our most recent Hood Canal stay was at The Historic Balch Retreat on Hood Canal, a historic waterfront home on the widest portion of the canal. With so many natural offerings it is every bit as impressive as the numerous places throughout the world we've traveled.

A previous reviewer must have missed the Mt Walker pull out/viewpoint just north of the Brinnon area on the Hwy 101 Scenic Byway. The views on a clear day are beyond spectacular that offers both the Seattle skyline and Rainier. Trails and numerous waterfalls are truly fab, especially Rocky Brook Falls. Seafood loaded beach has considerable wildlife, and an amazing amount of beautiful shells with a beached barge from the early 1900's at the historic vacation rental mentioned above. Definitely a not to miss area. When we want out of town company to have a great time and feel special, this is where we take them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank PickyTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“November on Hood Canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We rented a house called GiggleFish from VRB365. The house is right on Hood Canal with breathtaking views of the canal; eagles; heron; seals and so much more. The property is perfect with a main house and a cabin. We were a party of 6 and were comfortable using the house for a gather spot. The cabin is perfect for a couple and has the best showering. The main house has very low water pressure, but with some creativity and teamwork we made it work. Who would have thought that we could eat breakfast outside on the deck, but the weather was absolutely perfect and the kids loved the seakayaking!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you like nature...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Hood Canal is a beautiful natural setting. A true fjord, surrounded by the Olympic Mts within a couple of hours drive from Seattle. Even in the fall and winter the drama of the rain forest and snow capped mountains makes it worth the trip. Great places to stay and eat in the surrounding areas.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaRE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
289 reviews
173 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Disappointing as no real viewpoints”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We drove up the Hood Canal from Olympia to Port Angeles and hoped to be able to enjoy the beauty of the canal we had heard so much about.

Unfortunately our view was usually blocked by trees and there were no viewpoints to pull out onto to enjoy the view, stretch our legs and take some photos. Very disappointing - what glimpses we did get looked nice but these were few and far between.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eaglet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We had a cabin on Hood Canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We enjoyed our time on Hood Canal. We did a lot of crabbing there for Dungeness crab. They were yummy! The weather can be rainier than the rest of the area. The water is warm in the late summer.

Helpful?
Thank GrandmaB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hood Canal also viewed

Olympic National Park, WA
Olympic National Park, WA
 
Olympic National Park, WA
Olympic National Park, WA
 

Been to Hood Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing