We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too commercial, too crowded”

Alpine Visitor Center
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lausanne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Too commercial, too crowded”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

It was definitely a mistake to stop at Alpine. Next time I will just drive through. The place was full of visitors, very crowded, noisy and dirty. Not the atmosphere you expect after a nice drive through nature.
I had to wait for a free parking spot for about 10 min. I would drive away but I needed a bathroom and some food. Next time I will take a lunch box and stop at one of the amazing resting areas on the way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HighMikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    112
    23
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Views”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A fitting end to our drive up through Rocky Mountain Park. Ate picnic lunch whilst admiring the views. Even used one of the "Long Drop" loos. Very glad we got to this place

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chattendenmarge7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to take a break”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Very cool little gift shop at the top of RMNP. Nice place to stop, stretch your legs, use the restroom, and maybe buy a t-shirt or other must have tourist essential! Excellent views and a great drive from either direction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank phobian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Don't miss being at the top!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you make it to RMNP, you don't want to miss going to the top and visiting the Alpine Visitor Center. There is a large gift shop and also a place to eat, although (understandably) the prices are a bit "high" LOL. I saw elk herds and big horn sheep near there, also marmots. Be careful of altitude sickness, drink plenty of water and be mindful that the weather changes rapidly. I have been there twice and both times it has hailed (in August). But the scenery on Trail Ridge Road is unparalelled and should be experienced (hopefully in a relaxed and leisurely way).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murphy5708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a view !”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Shop is so much bigger than you imagine...like a tardis.
The view from the Centre, over the Rockies is something that will live with me forever .. You simply cannot explain how stunning this place is !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poppysteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpine Visitor Center also viewed

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
 

Been to Alpine Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing