We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Experience 60 minutes East of Fresno”
Review of Kings Canyon

Kings Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kings Canyon National Park is named for this large canyon, perfect for hiking.
Clovis, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Experience 60 minutes East of Fresno”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Leaving Fresno and driving straight east on Hwy 180 takes you from sea level to 6,000+ feet elevation and the largest trees in the world in just 60 minutes. I have taken dozens of visitors on this trip and made it one of the best 1/2 day trips most have ever had in their life. See the General Grant tree in the Grant grove, walk around for 60 minutes, have lunch at the restaurant (or eat at Sherwood Cafe on way back) and spend another 45 minutes at the Visitor Center.

Not quite as beautiful as visiting Yosemite but WAY easier to get there and back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    127
    29
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just fantastic.”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent the day driving through these two parks ending up at the John Muir Lodge. We had a fantastic day, climbed Moro Rock, walked round the meadow looking for bears and of course visited the Great Sherman Tree. Was travelling with my husband and two teenagers on a tour of California. This was one of my favourite days.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I like it better than Yosemite”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I go here often to discover new beautiful places. I like it better than Yosemite because it's just as beautiful without the crowds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Kings Canyon was worth the trip. We took a few wonderful hikes that took you from river side to meadows, to granite boulder hopping, and back into the forest. We had a wonderful time and wish we had more time to hike here, however the government shutdown took several days from our vacation and we were just happy to get two days in this area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Central, PA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful and easier to see”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Though not nearly as famous nor busy as its neighbor to the north, Yosemite, Kings Canyon is breathtakingly gorgeous and much easier to see due to much smaller crowds.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NeedABreakInSC-PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kings Canyon also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing