We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mice but great location”
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had reservations for three nights in room 303 of the Sequoia building of Wuksachi. The first night was uneventful at this over-priced location. The second night we got very little sleep as mice were running throughout the room and in our luggage. I discussed it with the staff at 6 AM and my concerns about hantavirus. We had visted Yosemite in 2012 when several people died after having been exposed to the mice-born virus so I am not at all patient when dealing with rodents in expensive rooms. When the manager arrived at 7 AM he promised a refund for the second night and also promised to cancel any charges for the third night as we checked out early. I will monitor my credit card statement to see if the promises are upheld and my deposits are refunded. If I wanted to deal with mice I would have booked a tent site.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huachucakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We take rodent reports extremely serious Huachucakid. We're very sorry that your visit to Sequoia & Kings Canyon was disrupted by mice. All reports trigger "exclusion" work to remove any rodents and any sign of rodents in any public or work areas people might have contact. We work with a national pest company on exclusion efforts to eliminate access to the spaces. In late spring there is a large population increase, and we increase our efforts accordingly. Being that this is a National park, poisons and bate stations (the most effective methods) can't be used. The danger of another animal ingesting the poisoned animal are too great. The good news is that the population growth season is short, so we're able to control the issue quickly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,360 - 1,366 of 2,464 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you want to see Sequoia National Park then this is the place to stay. Driving distances because of the winding roads makes is necessary to stay inside the park. It is about 2 miles from Lodgepole Village and Visitor Center that has a market, laundry, gift shop, and cafe. The main lodge is beautiful and contains a gift shop, restaurant, and conference rooms. It is the only place that has internet access if you want to call it that. What internet access is available is poor and it is non-existent in the rooms. In addition, there is no cell phone access. However there is a TV in the room with no tv guide. We had a deluxe king room that was ample in size in a beautiful location. There were not enough outlets in the room and access to existing outlets was very limited making it difficult to keep electronics charged. The bathroom had a large vanity area and there was a clothes line in the shower. Like some other National Park properties this also had liquid soap and liquid shampoo in the shower--Not good. There was a frig, coffee pot, no microwave, and no safe in the room for valuables, closet space was good. The room was clean as well as the towels and bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Considering this is one of the only hotels in Sequioa with not much competition it's a very comfy stay. The restaurant is very solid and affordable and room rates are pretty reasonable. The only cons I can think of are very thin walls and you think your on a jet when you flush the toilet. It's hard to be unhappy about anything in this beautiful setting.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We're Brits and we found the Sequoia National Park website extremely unhelpful so hopefully this review will be useful! If you want a few days of big trees then the Sequoia bit of the park is plenty. You won't make it to the King's Canyon or the other bits unless you’ve got more time - the distances are too great and the routes too inaccessible because of the altitude. Once you've picked that bit of the park, the route in and also out is from the village of Three Rivers. There are lots of motels here but they are a good 90 minutes' drive from the park proper. Inside the park you can either camp (we didn't) or stay at Wuksachi Lodge. Booking directly was much more expensive than using Expedia in our experience. The lodge is 7000 feet up and surrounded by beautiful forest. It takes a good hour to reach it by car from the entrance to the park because the road is so steep. It costs 20 dollars to enter the park or else you can get an annual pass covering all the national parks for 80 dollars. I thoroughly recommend Wuksachi Lodge. The rooms are hotel style, so very comfortable, all mod cons, good quality hotel level rooms. They are in buildings that are separate to the main lodge, where there's a small gift shop, a bar and a restaurant. There seemed to be meeting rooms and things too which we didn't use. The restaurant does breakfast, lunch and dinner all at set times. The food was fine, not amazing, but very reasonably priced and a really wide range with plenty of healthy options. Two buffet-style breakfast options - cooked or continental, both offering pretty much everything you might expect in either category. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. The lodge is a great base to explore the various walking trails round about and the staff will give you maps for trails of different lengths and difficulties. You will need a car to get to many of these interesting sites, but you're only looking at a ten minute drive each time. Slightly further down the mountain is a shop for the campers stocking many more gifts and lots of food items. The Sherman tree is also nearby. The car parks at each of these sorts of sites have basic toilets (bring your own hand sanitiser!) and bear lockers for food. There’s no cafe in the park though which is surely something the National Trust would remedy in no time! We went in late April 2014 and we really couldn’t tell from online information what type of weather to expect. For most of the winter everything is covered in snow and you need chains on your car but apparently this year wasn’t very bad for snow so there was only the odd patch of densely packed snow under the trees here and there. The roads were completely clear. The temperature was near freezing in the early morning but there was blazing sunshine by the afternoon, probably up to about 20 C. We were expecting to need cold weather coats and shoes but we didn’t at all. We may have just got lucky though.

Room Tip: I don't think there's much difference between the rooms. They all seemed to be very large wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nibbly_Pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We checked in late on a weekday not realizing how long it would take to get to the lodge. We came in from the South and navigating the windy road at night was a little nerve wracking but there was a full moon and it was a beautiful drive that took over an hour once we got inside the park. Because we checked in late we were not told we could have someone help us get our things to our room which required hauling our bags uphill. Ask for assistance - they will drive your stuff up from your car to the door. The lodge was nice and the room was of a decent size; typical double bed. It was amazing to stay inside the park and wake up in Sequoia. We dined at the lodge and did not find it overly priced. Since we were there off season it was the only place open but it suited our needs just fine and they had a nice variety for each meal. We left through the North entrance and that drive was significantly smoother.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BottleSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The lodge and staff there were wonderful. The experience of the Sequoias and wildlife were breathtaking. Spring is a wonderful time to go--roads not crowded. The food and service at the lodge were mediocre at best.

Room Tip: I stayed in a suite which was spacious and welcoming. No AC--and I needed help to open the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 738anitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Wuksachi lodge for two nights in early May. We had booked late (we had planned on camping but it was still too cold) and were told the only room available was an ADA (handicapped) room. It was on the first floor of the Stillman building. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend a stay here if you don’t mind paying slightly more for an average motel room to reap the benefits of the location.

The main lodge building, where you check in and also houses the lodge restaurant and gift shop, is a stand-alone building with no rooms in it. All the rooms are located in three separate buildings a short walk or drive from the main lodge. Dinner reservations for the restaurant appear to be required if you don’t want a long wait, even in the low season. There was a mix up with our dinner reservation one night but fortunately they had one spot open in the book and they got us in. The food was overall ok. It really depends on what you ordered. The gift shop has very little in the way of food options; just juice and some crackers/cookies. The lodge does offer what they refer to as a “boxed lunch” that you order the night before and pick up in the morning to take with you. They have menus in the room and it seemed like a good deal although we never ended up using it.

The room was worn, but my wife and I were overall happy with it. We had a walk in shower which mostly worked out but it did result in lots of water getting on the floor. The curtain had seen better days and had mold growing on it, but I have seen worse. On one of the mornings the hot water wasn’t working, but otherwise we did not have any issues.

The bed was comfortable although I would have appreciated more than two pillows on the bed. The room had a refrigerator and a TV with cable channels. There were lots of plugs available, two end tables beside the bed, and a sofa against the wall. The room was quite spacious and was warm during the chilly nights we stayed there. Essentially, all the amenities you’d want/expect in a standard hotel room. Everything was clean and the place was comfortable. The wifi seemed to work really well in our room. In fact, the reception was better than in the lodge area.

The biggest downside was transferring your luggage from your car to the room. Depending on the building you are in and how busy they are, you could be parked pretty far away. It wasn’t a huge deal to us as we were young and didn’t have much luggage/food, but if your car was loaded down or you had mobility issues it could be quite the undertaking (all food must be removed from cars to discourage the bears from breaking in). As a tip, if you drive north from the lodge about 20 minutes, maybe less, to the Grant Grove visitor center area, there is a “market” place that is a mini grocery store type place that is well stocked. They also have another lodge in that area, as well as a lodge restaurant, which seems like it is more on the cheaper side. There is also a market place grocery store place even closer in Lodgepole, just to the south (maybe 5 miles) that would certainly be more convenient but my wife and I never checked it out so we can’t offer an opinion.

We had a wonderful stay and highly recommend it for its location. It is almost dead center between the two parks and the most convenient lodging of all the main sites. One negative note, the lodge charges a deposit on your credit card and it takes forever for the deposit/hold to come off your credit card after you leave. Be sure that you don’t use a card that is close to its credit limit. Reading other reviews, other guests have seemed to have had the same issue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
14.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
554 reviews
8.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
658 reviews
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
182 reviews
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: £87 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing