We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Family Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorst Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dorst Campground
Camarillo, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

My family stayed at Dorst for 5 days and we had absolutely no complaints. It was a fantastic trip for the whole family. When you get there the rangers give you a good ten min. bear safety talk because Dorst does have many black bears. We did see 3 bears just outside of campground and heard there were bears wondering around at night but never felt we were in any danger. Just take care of your things and follow the rules and you won't have a problem. The Rangers were always driving around and were very polite. The kids loved it when the wind kicked up and the Sugar Pine trees were dropping the pinecones. We stayed in site 97. Beautiful spot, but barely any shade and could get very hot. Deer roamed the meadow morning and night and chipmunks everywhere.
Downfalls - The closest showers were at Stony Creek Lodge - 5 miles away. Also you will need to plan your day. Dorst is about 10 miles from General Sherman, because the road is so winding, this could take about 30 minutes.
We would definitely stay there again. We had absolutely no problems with other campers and by 11pm you could hear only the sounds on nature. There are creeks and hiking trails and everywhere you look it is absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luuccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    22
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
39
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
calif
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

The campground is nice, but when we were at our site last weekend. A macho ranger screamed at me because I did not respond to him quickly. There were other campers all around us
and I did not know that he was speaking to us at first. He was about 30 ft from everyone shouting from his truck, and screamed out "respond when I am speaking to you!!!" He had no reason to scream, my husband that was with me is a retired firefighter and we are well aware of fire safety. Anyways, it was a 8 hr trip and that ruined our vacation.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank blueishfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

Dorst Campground was surprisingly great. Don't let weather reports fool you (most websites stated the temperature at the base of the mountain range, which is in the 100's F during the day), but at Dorst it was 25 degrees cooler.
You are in good proximity to several of Sequoia National Park's Sites, like Crystal Cave or the Giant Forest, plus there are several hiking trail heads directly from the campground. One thing to note, if you want to visit Crystal Cave, go early--on the weekends, mid-day and evening visits are booked up with groups as big as 50, and with all large groups of tourists, it's very annoying.
We saw a lot of wildlife on the way into the park and while staying at our campsite. The rangers are very strict and lecture everyone entering the campground about bears and mountain lions. Contrary to IsgCalifornia's claim that they did not do enough to protect campers, I personally saw them touring the entire grounds hourly, sometimes every 30 minutes. They would scold and cite campers that were lazy and left food out or left their bear boxes open. I think they did a good job, considering they had to deal with annoying novice campers.
There was a lot of wildlife (deer, bears, etc) near the campgrounds, but if you store your food in the locker, they will not bug you. IsgCalifornia over-exaggerated the danger, and it's safe for young children. The bears seemed more afraid of the campers than you'd expect. Follow the rangers advice and don't leave anything in your car or tent. It's pretty simple.
The elevation of the site is over 6000 feet, so be prepared for a lot less oxygen. You can feel a bit out of breath occasionally. Also, if you want to see something interesting, buy a bag of potato chips (prior to ascending the mountain), do not open it and leave it on your dash.
Some downsides: Like most campsites that provide water and flush toilets, the clientèle is comprised of mostly (about 60%) of weekend-campers that have little regard for their neighbors. It wasn't uncommon to hear a car alarm booming, radio blasting, generator growling, or offensive drunken conversation from your neighbors. It would be nice if they reserved a portion of the campground to be "quiet;" i.e. no radio, no generators, no loud discussions.
Also, the sites are only a few dozen feet apart, so you feel a bit like sardines. There is no under-growth, so a camper can see everyone else's site.

Other than that, I'd recommend Dorst.

  • Liked — Views, Wildlife, Hikes
  • Disliked — People, Tourists
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank genscripter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

My friend and I stayed at Dorst campground in Sequoia National Park recently (in 7/08). Between the two of us, we have 4 children, ranging in ages from 7 to 10. While the campground is beautiful and convienent (halfway between Lodgepole and Grant's Grove) we had bears in our campsite each night, even though we stored our food and other provisions in the bear proof lockers. We followed the rules and didn't leave out our food and trash, but campers in other campsites did not follow the rules, so we had bears coming through our campsite to access the messy ones. I don't feel the rangers at Dorst did enough to enforce the campground rules, and let some campers get away with repeatedly breaking them, which put everyone camping at Dorst in danger from the bears. In my opinion, some of the campers should have been asked to leave after repeatedly breaking the rules regarding storing their trash and food items. Also, not mentioned in the National Park website, there is a mountain lion that is currently making it's home in or near the Dorst campground. Along with the 10 minute bear talk, we were also informed about the mountain lion when we checked in at the ranger station at Dorst. The mountain lion was spotted every day while we were staying at Dorst. We were warned to keep our children very close, not to let them go exploring near our campsite because of this mountain lion. The bears in our campsite each and every night were unsettling enough. The mountain lion was just too much. We had a reservation for 4 nights, but left one day early because of the problems with the wildlife. I would definitely visit Sequioa again with my children, but I would not camp there -- the bears have learned that humans are a source of easy food and is just not safe to camp there any longer. I should mention that I have camped extensively, including camping in Sequioa many years ago, when bears were not such a big problem. The bear problem is so bad now that it really ruins the experience.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — The bears and mountain lion
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank lsgCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

I really enjoyed Dorst Campground. We stayed at site 156. It was really huge. We had an RV and two tents. The spot was near an embankment that went down to a small creek. One of the guys we went with went fishing in the creek and caught some small fish. There was not a whole lot of shade during the day, but some closer near the trees. The first morning we were there deer wandered through our campsite! Check out the campground map, and you will be able to pick out a great campsite. Some of them are really close together. 160 looked nice too, it would be big enough for a tent and car, but not much else.

  • Liked — The location, beautiful trees
  • Disliked — Have to drive to different areas of the park. However, we did go on a nice hike from the campground.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank red-headtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2007

My family and I stayed at Dorst for three days and we had absolutely no complaints. It was great all the way through. There are a few creeks and hiking trails and there isn't a dull sight around, everywhere you look it's absolutely gorgeous. When you get there the rangers give you a good ten min bear safety talk becasue Dorst does have many black bears. We did see one bear just outside of our camp at about eleven p.m. but as soon as we made a noise the bear took off. Just take care of your things and follow the rules and you won't have a problem. I highly reccomend this camp, i've been there twice and it's easily one of my favorite camp sites i've ever been too. Great people, great wilderness, great camping!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I like everything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank eyeamjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2003

Dorst Creek, Sequoia is the place to go if you're looking for peace and quiet. The sites are pleasant with many trees. Wildlife is abundant with lots of deer, and of course, it wouldn't be real camping if you don't come across your typical, sweet-toothed California bear once in a while. If this happens, just bang some pots and pans and yell LOUD! The park rangers are there in no time to chase the bear back into the woods. Don't be afraid...Remember, we're hangin' on their territory.
Besides, they're just a little hungry (for food that is - not people).
Just remember to keep your food locked in the metal bear boxes. The only thing is, if you want to shower, you have to take a 20 minute drive to Lodgepole campground. But, the scenery on the drive is absolutely breath-taking that I didn't even care! I would rather stay at the calming & relaxing Dorst Creek than at the very congested Lodgepole any time. Sincerely, A Very Happy Camper

Helpful?
79 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels
22.3 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
24.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
22.2 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
29.8 mi away
Silver City Mountain Resort
Silver City Mountain Resort
#5 of 19 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
22.3 mi away
Stony Creek Lodge
Stony Creek Lodge
#18 of 19 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorst Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorst Campground

Property: Dorst Campground
Address: Seven-and-a-half miles northwest of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Region: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorst Campground has 204 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dorst Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing