We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but to be completely overhauled”
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
John Muir Lodge
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good restful sleep, located among the sequoias and sugar pines up in the Sierra Nevadas of Kings Canyon. Lodge was unattended, though, not even coffee around. But that's because just as we left the crews arrived for the makeover. They had a display case of the drawings and photos for the new furnishings etc. The central lobby and rooms will be made over in grand vacation lodge style.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for John Muir Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We drove along and did minor hikes off of King's Canyon Road. The Muir Lodge base was delightful. The common room was charming and enticed many folks out to mingle at the grand fireplace. The comfy furniture enticed many groups to use their computers, work puzzles or mingle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

At the end of May there are not a constant flow of tourists to this awesome area. The Lodge is centrally located to Sequoia Park and to Kings Canyon. Wandering day trips and lazy lounging both are accommodated here. Currently under new management the lodge has been given a sprucing up, remodeled in a budget woodsy feel and plans for wifi in the rooms are underway. As of this writing wifi is accessible only in public areas. That creates evenings of everyone privately focused in the public areas. :) There are some ranger activities and living history presentations here.
There are blissfully, no tv's. The rooms are clean, spacious and function well. It is not fancy. I wished for a balcony of which there are none. Staff is polite and fairly efficient. There is one restaurant which tries hard and meets the middle fairly efficiently. The market has unappetizing food and could make a better business with keeping current to food trends and flexibility. If you have high expectations of a luxury resort this is not for you. If your focus is this magnificent area and you want a comfortable clean place to stay consider JM Lodge.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the forest side. There are no elevators. Luggage must be carried up.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RebeccaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the John Muir Lodge. So thankful for my former boss referring this Lodge! The room was great and clean. Surprised upon arrival that there was no air conditioning, but called the desk for a fan and they immediately delivered one. With the window open and the fan going, we were very comfortable. Definitely glad to have had the breakfast price included in our stay (which is optional). Internet connections in the rooms would be helpful!

The location was great. We were able to tour all the areas we wanted in a timely manner.

Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40BettyV49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It is really about the location. If you want to see Kings Canyon in a timely manner then this is the place to stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Registration is at the Main road CA 180 along with the restaurant, gift shop, market, and Post Office. The lodge is a short distance from the main road in a very nice setting. Lobby is very nice with a fireplace and ample tables and chairs. The room we had (2 queen beds) was an adequate size. There were ample outlets with easy access for charging electronics. No safe in the room for storing valuables and electronics. No microwave or frig. Need a nightlight in the bathroom. The sink was separated from the rest of the bathroom. The towels were clean and thick. Housekeeping is OK but needs improvement. They missed a day of our 3 day stay, floors were not vacuumed, and the bathroom sink and floor were not cleaned. Sheets on the bed were clean but only a single flat sheet covered the mattress. The room needs more light and the table was very small for working. Cell phone access is limited as well as internet access. Internet can only be accessed in the lobby. However, renovations are in progress and more are coming. They are currently improving the sound proofing in the rooms as well as painting and replacing flooring. In the fall, the current restaurant will be taken down and replaced with a completely new building. I also saw the connection for cable behind the mirror in our room

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Whilst the property is a little dated especially the restaurant, the food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was big, clean and well maintained. We only had two nights and needed at least another 4 to do the area justice. Great lobby with open roaring fire but need internet connection in rooms as only in lobby although that was OK for us. We were given good advice by the staff when we were suddenly confronted with snow. Gift shop need more merchandise - on better quality - all the sizes I looked at were for XL and I could find a warm top!.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Everyone is so incredibly helpful and wanting to make your experience memorable. The hotel is going through renovations and upgrades, but every attempt was made to make us comfortable.
We are looking forward to returning when renovations are complete.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conniework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
14.7 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,398 reviews
5.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
630 reviews
16.5 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
308 reviews
22.9 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
22.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93641-9765
Region: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: £89 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing