We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern lodging alternative to cabins for family of five”
Review of John Muir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
John Muir Lodge
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Good experience at the John Muir Lodge -- they accommodated two adults and three kids with a rollaway at no charge (plus two doubles). Clean room for three nights thanks to diligent housekeeping. No A/C, no TV, no breakfast buffet -- but that's not we expect inside a national park lodge. We want a good location and a functional, clean room, and that is what you get. Summer rates are not cheap but are reasonable. Drawback -- the restaurant in Grant Grove that is walking distance from JMLodge is pretty bad. After one meal there, we to the market and got own food; we didn't care about cooking something hot. If that is important to you, you should consider the cabins.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the forest, not the parking lot, because you have the windows open and it's qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cgbroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Staff should tell guests at check in that fans are available in the summer. Room on the 2nd floor was so uncomfortably hot that we joined numerous other guests sleeping in the lobby. Staff member said we should have asked for a fan. Did not know that was an option? If I pay that much money for a room I should be comfortable sleeping there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susanclint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

John Muir lodge is very pleasant and a great way to enjoy the real sequoia. It is simple but nice and is in a good location in grant grove village, with various good food options around, including a small supermarket.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank j0hnmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a great rustic way to enjoy the Sequoia National Park. We used the package option and first enjoyed the BBQ Dinner. Upon arriving check-in was very smooth - as was check-out. We were very impressed with the lodge building and the rustic feel of the furnishings. It made for a great evening to go for a walk to further enjoy the natural beauty and then return to the "log cabin feel" lodge. Very clean, employees were very friendly, and the scenery can't be beat. Be sure to note the lack of TV or air conditioning if those are "must haves" for you. Otherwise, it is a great way to stay in the park!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel was clean and quite. The best part is the location. It is minutes away from several nice hiking trails within the sequoia forest in the Grant Grove area. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is about to go under a major renovation. It is clean and quiet. It needs a facelift. I think considering the lodge in Cedar Grove, this hotel is overpriced. It does not have an air conditioner in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texbeth96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you come up from Three Rivers, you can get a hike in before getting to the lodge. The drive and trail behind the lodge is surprisingly nice, with a fantastic view at the end. The lodge looks a little like a nice nursing home in the hallways, but the rooms are quite nice. The lounge is cozy, and the porches are great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intoadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
14.7 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,451 reviews
5.9 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
654 reviews
20.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
182 reviews
22.9 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
22 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Muir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93641-9765
Region: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: £82 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing