We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price makes this a good deal for average accommodation.”
Review of Cedar Grove Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cedar Grove Lodge
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very old lodge that definitely needs some upkeep and updating. AC was off for a day and spotty at other times. They did give me a credit for the inconvenience. We had a bottom room which had a patio and fridge and micro which is good to have. One day we did not have maid service by 4:30 and had to request it. Only one person at help desk and they may be on break or attending to other problems. Another time we got no soap and the bed spread was just thrown over the sheets. Very poor job of cleaning if done at all on a few of the days. Because the restaurant and stairs to other lodging is on top of the room it is a little noisy at times, but quiet for sleep. Loved the location and the fantastic view of the river and again the price was right for a NP.

Room Tip: There are only three patio rooms so try to request a end room. All three rooms face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave277-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our grandkids enjoyed running around looking for Big Foot. Very scenic drive. The grandkids got sick from the drive. have some Dramamine on hand. The river running near by was beautiful would be very pleasant to just sit and watch.

Room Tip: didn't have a TV. no phone reception either. which is fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We loved our stay here. This hotel is at the end of the park road. Beautiful scenery! It was definitely the prettiest drive in the park. The hotel was very clean and simple, but the walls were extremely thin. The best thing about the hotel was the river running right along side. It was great to sit by and have a picnic at the tables. At night we left our window open to listen to the roaring sound. The building runs with its end to the river instead of the rooms facing the river. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get there early, the rooms are given out on a first come basis. They start assigning them on the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texbeth96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Cedar Grove is in a very unique area and also very remote. Considering the remoteness, it was a lovely surprise. The scenery driving to the motel was spectacular. We enjoyed several hikes including Mist Falls, Lookout Mountain and the Hotel Creek/Lewis Creek Loop.

Room Tip: We always choose the upper floor to cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betsywesternNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Scenery driving to hotel and at hotel breathtaking. Many hiking trails available to satisfy different levels of fitness. Food acceptable but basic. Hotel clean and staff friendly and professional. Bring games to play at night if hiking hasn't worn you out. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cormorants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here in 2 years and we stayed in room 21 - Patio room both times. We love the location and that's why we chose here over the actual accommodation. The room is perfectly fine but they need to attend to the little things like the lights above the bed missing the glass screen so the bulbs are exposed and on top of your head. It would really improve overall impressions if things like that were attended to.
We couldn't get a wifi signal as that was out but that didnt concern us too much, it might others.
The food from the fast food counter was surprisingly nice and much appreciated after a long day. We forgot that there was a microwave as we could have brought our own healthier food.

Room Tip: The Patio room is nice but sitting out will mean you get eaten by the mosquitos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TASmart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wonderful experience! Really out of the way. If you find yourself staying at Cedar Grove in Kings Canyon, you were really trying to have this type of experience, as it is not one of those places you stumble upon easily. If you enjoy the challenge of getting to the end of the road and appreciate nature, go for it! The glacier formed canyon is similar to Yosemite, without the crowds and the amenities. If you prefer gourmet dining, I would recommend the nearby Sequoia Wuksachi Lodge, instead.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
13.1 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
644 reviews
13.3 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,429 reviews
16.5 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Silver City Mountain Resort
Silver City Mountain Resort
#3 of 19 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
132 reviews
12.9 mi away
Stony Creek Lodge
Stony Creek Lodge
#18 of 19 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
120 reviews
24.2 mi away
The River Inn & Cabins
The River Inn & Cabins
#10 of 11 in Three Rivers
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Region: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: £103 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Grove Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a glaciated mile-deep canyon, Cedar Grove Lodge is located in the heart of Kings Canyon National Park at Cedar Grove Village. Open May through October, this quaint lodge is an ideal location for travelers looking to explore some of Kings Canyon’s most alluring wilderness attractions, including North Dome, Grand Sentinel and Zumwalt Meadow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Cedar Grove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Cedar Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing