We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not Just a B&B”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Bathroom #1
Beautiful Veiws
Bathroom # 2
Room to Hike
Bathroom #3
Patio Area
Living Area
Bathroom #4
Living Room Area
Quail Greeting at Big Stump
California Mountain Quail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
nanangank...
Lancaster, PA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not Just a B&B”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

When Connie tells you to make yourself at home, she means it. She graciously not only gave us a bed, with breakfast, but made us feel like she was opening her home, and a bit of her life, to new friends. Her knowledge of the local area, and parks, was exceptionally helpful. In addition, it seems like many of her guests are from outside the US, which made for some very interesting and enjoyable conversations around the table each morning. We'd definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for staying with us and for the excellent review. It was a pleasure having you join the "family". I sincerely hope our paths will cross again, Connie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia E
1 review
“Absolute comfort!”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Warm, cozy, comfortable, and hospitable. Easy access to both Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. My husband and I would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will visit again should you return to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Truly enjoyed having your family visit. Thanks for your kind words! I hope you will visit again some time.

Connie, Cuee & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RE4Christ
Lakeland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience "Felt Like Being at Home"”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Connie is a down to earth person that we thoroughly enjoyed our visit with. Home was inviting and comfortable. Connie's 2 Australian Shepherds were soo friendly and loving, we love dogs. Breakfast was great and while having breakfast, conversation with other guest was pleasant. It was really, pretty much like being at home, this was our 1st stay at a B & B and we really didn't know what to expect. So glad we made this choice, highly recommend staying with Connie at "The Branded Calf". Connie was also very helpful and knowledgeable about the area National Parks. Thank you for reading our review, enjoy your stay. God Bless

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything :)
Liked least: I have no complaints.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuAnnH3
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
7
people found this review helpful

The setting is very pastoral and pleasant. My autistic son was intrigued by the horses and loved the friendly family dog. The breakfast was hearty and delicious and accommodating for both of my son's dietary issues. We were very pleased and have referred the location for a family member looking to travel in the Spring. The proximity is convenient for Sequoia National Park visitors with a 20 minute scenic drive. The owner also provided a few suggestions for other areas of interest which included a big cat sanctuary that thrilled both of my adult sons. A wonderful trip that we would like to repeat in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John N
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
7
people found this review helpful

If you want a b&b that is literally home from home then this is it! Beautiful,peaceful setting, lovely house and luxurious, comfortable rooms. Couple all this with a welcoming and friendly hostess ( and dog ), fantastic breakfast and wonderful views, what more could you want? Only half an hour from the entrance to the National Parks with the spectacular road making every yard of the journey worthwhile, the Branded Calf is ideally situated. My wife and I have just stayed for two days and would thoroughly recommend the experience.
If you are in the area then do NOT miss going through the King's Canyon and go right to the end. It is truly breathtaking and will stay in your memory for ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olaf H
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing a review! Please visit again should the opportunity arise.

Connie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing