We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Cabin - Stepping Back in Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver City Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Rustic Cabin - Stepping Back in Time”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in the historic Forest Glen cabin for one night ($100) prior to a backpacking trip in the Mineral King area. It was the perfect transition from the hotels of the valley to the tent we'd sleep in on the trail.

The cabin appears to be pushing 100 years old: original wood, dark inside save for two propane lamps, propane four-burner stove and oven, sink with cold running water, double and twin beds, small kitchen table inside, large deck with patio table and four chairs outside. Pots, pans, dishes, glassware, and utensils are provided.

The rustic bathrooms are about 50 feet down the hill from the Forest Glen cabin, and offer toilets, showers, and an outdoor sink.

Be prepared: bring your own linens and towels, be sure to get the Wi-Fi password when you check in, and bring a calling card or plenty of coins to be able to use the resort's pay phone -- there is no cellular phone service in the area.

We played horseshoes on site (free) and enjoyed some delicious homemade pie in the cafe (not free but worth every penny!).

Picking up groceries in Visalia before heading up the adventurous Mineral King road allowed us to cook a great meal in the cabin's kitchen. Dinner on the sunny deck, amidst the trees, was fabulous until the mosquitoes forced us back inside.

The road to Mineral King is not for everyone, and the rustic cabin isn't for everyone. But, if you're an outdoor adventurer looking for a bed to sleep in before exploring this remote corner of Sequoia National Park, Silver City hits the spot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWeekOrAWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    27
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
57
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent 6 nights in the Sawtooth Chalet with our family. We'd planned the vacation months in advance and have looked forward to the beauty of Mineral King. Our stay was delightful! The cabin was roomy enough for all eight of us including 3 little ones. The kitchen had lots of storage space for food and was well equipped. We were slightly concerned about the accessibility of the cabin as my husband is in a wheelchair. We needn't have worried...it more than met his needs. The roll-in shower is incredible. The campfire ring is right at the porch so all of us could enjoy S'mores and toasted marshmallows. My favorite part was sitting on the porch swing each morning to watch the sun hit the peaks across the valley. We saw mountain quail, black bears and deer from our chalet. Our three year old granddaughter loved the small park and the dollhouse. We took short hikes to waterfalls and streams. Of course, we enjoyed the pie and coffee at the restaurant! The 21 mile trip on the road back to Mineral King wasn't as bad as we had expected...just take it slow and easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in the Paradise Ridge cabin for 2 nights. Everything about this place is absolutely perfect: the views, the outdoor fireplace, the hammock strung between 2 trees, the attentive and friendly staff and the proximity to Mineral King's hiking trails. Besides the spectacular views through the cabin's huge windows, the cabins here are quite spacious, very comfortable and come equipped with most everything you'll need to cook if you'd prefer to not eat at the restaurant (excluding electrical appliances: the fridge is propane-powered).

There are far fewer people on this side of the park, so outdoor adventures are a bit more rustic--if you must see the Sherman tree or go up Moro Rock along with 20,000 other tourists, it'll take some time to get there, but in the end it's not that long of a drive. At Mineral King, we went up to Eagle Lake, which is one of the top stretches of trail I've ever seen: rewarding views from the very first step.

Go to this place, you'll not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalem
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went there with my husband as part of our 'national parks honeymoon'. It was a great experience - having our own log cabin and being basically in the wilderness (surrounded by incredible trees and views). The area is much quieter and less built up than other parts of the Sequoia park (ie round the Sherman tree) so great if you want a quiet getaway. The food was utterly delicious, and included everything from gourmet burgers to homemade pies. Also the guy on the front desk when we were there - Mike - was absolutely lovely, super friendly and gave us loads of advice on trails. Overall a fantastic experience! Hope to go back there some time :)

Room Tip: We had the a regular cabin which we liked (although there are a bunch of bigger fancier ones which l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj123Jerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

During a 5 month road trip across the U.S, I had the amazing opportunity to spend a few days at Silver City Mountain Resort. The view from our cabin was spectacular. Surrounded by trees and mountains, our cabin provided great views. We even had our own camp fire. The innkeepers were more the generous and were always willing to help us find our way around. This was definitely my most favorite place to stay while traveling.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eandp-reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My family and I stayed in the Florence Peak Chalet at Silver City in October of 2013. By far our best experience in Sequoia. This was my 6th trip to Sequoia National Park. Although the park is one of my favorites I had never been impressed with the accommodations or food. Silver City is different though. The Chalets are wonderful, spacious, clean, beautiful and well worth the price. Also the pie is the best I've ever had! We will definitely be back and I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Bring food unless you want to eat at the restaurant grocery stores are an hour away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiku, Hi.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We really loved visiting these cabins at the end of a long and winding road up into the Sierras. Our cabin didn't have electricity, the bathroom/shower was in a shared building and it got quite cold for a place with only a wood stove for heat, but we enjoyed every moment of our 2-night stay. The title "resort" might be a little misleading since this is definitely different from most peoples' idea of a resort, but it was just what we wanted. The staff was small (our visit was in September) since the cabins shut in October, I think. The three staff folks were stretched kind of thin since most of the cabins were full on our weekend. However, they all were attentive, polite and helpful. Apparently, the current owner lives in Eastern Europe, but we hope he pays attention to the property, keeps it up and hires enough people to staff it especially in the summers since we would like to visit again. The surrounding valley of Mineral King is so spectacular!

Room Tip: Read the descriptions of the cabins carefully so you know what you're getting. Some are obviousl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sierranevadavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
11.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,361 reviews
20.1 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
625 reviews
25.8 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
304 reviews
16.4 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
22.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver City Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver City Mountain Resort

Property: Silver City Mountain Resort
Address: Mile 21 Mineral King Road, PO Box 56, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver City Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver City Resort is a small boutique resort nestled deep in Sequoia National Park just minutes away from the breathtaking high altitude Mineral King Valley. What makes this destination so unique is that it shares its history with two of the oldest alpine settlements in the western United States. Within the Sierra Nevada mountain range of California, Silver City Resort and the neighboring seasonal communities of Silver City and Mineral King, contain more chapters of shared human history than any other community in the High Sierras for over 130 years. Silver City Resort offers a truly unique mountain experience. Located 21 miles up Mineral King Road Silver City offers lodging away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourism. Silver City offers guests an authentic mountain experience perfect for families, avid hikers, adventure seekers, and people who love nature. We provide private cabins each with a fully stocked kitchen, including pots and pans, dishes, cooking utensils, baking bowls, cutlery, silverware, etc… We have beautiful spacious chalets with open beam ceilings, bathrooms and showers. If luxury is not your cup of tea we also have smaller family cabins and last but not least our rugged historic cabins. Whether you are an adventurer looking for lodging in Sequoia, or a family looking for a great getaway Silver City Mountain Resort offers lodging during the summer months in Sequoia National Park. Opening up Memorial Day weekend in May and closing in mid to late October depending on snow fall. Silver City also includes a small store and restaurant. The resort is located 21 miles up Mineral King Road in the little cabin communities of Silver City and near the beautiful Mineral King Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Silver City Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver City Mountain Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing