We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy during the weekends, plenty of partiers and enforcement of quiet hours.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shenandoah National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mathews Arm Campground
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I've camped here off and on for the past 10 years but only because the kids love to go to Luray Caverns. If you're able to go during the week, then it's better but the weekends here seem to be party time for the DC populace who want to have a weekend adventure. None of the usual rules are respected and what should be a relaxing night in the wilderness ends up being a frustrating encounter with people who simply don't know how to behave in a campground. This is also probably one of the most crowded campgrounds I've ever been too so don't expect nice, secluded sites. On one horrible visit, the guy at the site next to ours decided to BLARE Beethoven's Ninth as a 'wake-up call' for everyone at about 6 a.m. Yes, really. The bathroom doors bang over and over all night, echoing through the whole place. RV's are mixed in with the sites so you will hear the generators running. Or you could have the same sad experience as the couple who picked out a nice spot, set up their little tent and chairs and then had a huge,ridonculous RV pull up right next to them so they got to spend their weekend looking at the side of it. :/

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank ClaudiaPlumwrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We've often stayed at Mathews Arm - and always enjoy the peace, the beauty, the convenience and amenities. It's clean, well spaced and just about perfect. The problem we had this time (which was a first) was a rowdy bunch of young parents and their 6 kids who took the 3 neighboring sites….and screamed and talked loudly every waking hour - and early in the mornings. While they *technically* did not break the "quiet hour rule", it would be nice if someone had posted or listed campground etiquette of speaking on low voices and not running around like banshees, and yelling 6 campsites away to "hurry up and come on", etc, etc. Rude. Just rude.
But THAT's not the campground's fault - just some examples of very poor parenting. We love the site and will do it again - although maybe during the week instead on busier weekends.

Room Tip: Loops A and B are great - C a bit more open to your neighbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank txstransplantnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. First night was great. Nice fire pit area, it wasn't too crowded. Everyone was very respectful of quite hours.

The bathrooms are fine for camping standards. Toilet paper, soap, electricity, and running water.

The guys took about a 2.5 mile hike to some beautiful waterfalls.

All the park employees were friendly.

Some sites have very little usable tent space due to either lack of grassy space or rocky ground. Pick carefully.

However, because the sites are so close together (some with nothing in between two sites), on the second afternoon three families all with multiple kids under the age of 6, decided to set up right next to us. They were loud, obnoxious, rude, and undisciplined. The parents were as bad as the kids! The ranger stopped by and asked us to move our tent because we were encroaching on their site, even though they had twice as much usable tent space than we did. The parents stayed up till all hours of the night talking around their fire, and their kids were up at the crack of dawn.

Stayed: June 2014
5  Thank DCNewleyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We camped Memorial Day weekend. It was completely booked. Sites are nice and wooded, most have fire rings, some only have standing grills, and some even have food lockers, which is nice. Rangers were friendly, and did frequent the loop every 10-15 minutes from 7-11, it seemed. Quiet hours are enforced, and begin at 10pm. There are plenty of trails around the campground, and one even leads to the largest falls in the park. There is a general store with basic sundries about 1 mile from the campground. Facilities, consisting of flush toilets, sinks, and potable water are clean and fairly close to any site. We had little to no cell coverage in the campground. This campground is much better than the overcrowded, village-like Big Meadows campground. If you can live without showers for a few days, it is definitely worth choosing Mathews Arm!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carterfinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you want to stay here be aware that it is a dog-friendly campground which, unfortunately these days, means it will be overrun with pit bulls. We met some lovely dog owners with some really cool and sweet dogs (whippet, golden retrievers, ridgebacks) but they were greatly outnumbered by people with pit bulls, probably 2:1. I kept my daughter close and the bear mace at the ready just in case.

Other than that its a really scenic area for car camping with easily accessible sites, basic facilities and some pretty nice hikes right out of the parking lot. It gets really crowded on weekends because it is the closest campground to the north park entrance/I-66 and everyone who wants to escape from DC for the weekend ends up here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank thiswaythatway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our first time camping. It's not a good time because of the heavy rain in the afternoon. Luckily rain stopped before dark, and we were able to set up the tent(by watching youtube). The campsite is pretty big for 8 ppl even though we only have 2 here. It also close to restroom and water. We really enjoyed it. Note: be sure to reserve online ahead for summer weekends.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xq h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Nice campground..bring your own water, port-a-pots & lights. One restroom for each loop. No showers so plan on a spitz bath if you are tenting it. If you are in a camper make sure you have it all with you there are no electric or water hookups. There is also no generator zones so check that out before you go. In mid May it was very noisy & crowed during the weekends. I recommend staying off season & up in the A area. Site 52 on the hill was spacious & backed up to the woods. The park ranges are very helpful. DO NOT leave food anywhere in the open. If you do expect the National Park Rangers to ticket you 75.00 I know first hand!

Room Tip: Far up on the A loop it's up on the higher part of the grounds & much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
7.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,004 reviews
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
7.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
5.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
136 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mathews Arm Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mathews Arm Campground

Address: Mile 22.1 Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, VA
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A campground with no showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mathews Arm Campground Hotel Shenandoah National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing