We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer week end at Shenandoah National Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lewis Mountain Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Summer week end at Shenandoah National Park”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The cabins are a bit rustic, but cover all basic necessities. Good shower and clean bathroom. There is a heating system which we didn't use. Excellent dining available at the Big Meadow Lodge about 7 miles away. We used the Tap Room at that Lodge for a light dinner and went back next morning for breakfast at the restaurant. Both meals were a good value. Lewis Mountain is a great location for hiking. Overall, an excellent value package..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSalles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    44
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
65
53
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Candler
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

It was very rainy with thunder storms so we couldn't build a fire or see the area...had to stay indoors (wind & lightening also)...got some rest, ate a cold supper, no tv, no fridge, no microwave, had to park away from cabin (a duplex unit) and carry our stuff a little way

Room Tip: take a good book incase weather is bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Cabins were as fun as camping without having inconviences of tent camping. Quiet area of Shenandoah with great access and view of woods rather than a busy campground. Definitely look into if you want a quieter stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theroseperiod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The cabins at Lewis Mountain are wonderful! Lewis Mountain is located a 10 minute drive from the center of the action at Big Meadows, making it easy to get to great hiking, dining and the ranger-led programs at the visitor center. But instead of sleeping in the middle of all that action (and crowds), you can stay in a cabin at Lewis Mountain and enjoy peace and quiet. The staff was exceptionally friendly and the cabin was perfect. There is also a campground at Lewis Mountain and a camp store. Skyland and Big Meadows are bigger and get more attention sometimes, but Lewis Mountain is a lovely choice too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jodi307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Cabins are acceptable, the staff is great, the environment is totally relaxing. Great access to all the facilities and hiking trails throughout SNP.....................................................

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paw Paw, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After a whirlwind trip through Washington DC and all it has to see; from museums to memorials, a slow sunny trip into the Skyline Drive was perfect. Then to stop and get a cabin that was clean and quiet put the whole experience in a perspective that by far exceeded my vacation expectations. The Lewis Mountain Cabins were the sweet ending to a very special day.I loved our little place in the woods and I believe that Lord willing, I will get another opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asilannassor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Loved Lewis Mountain Cabins! The campstore was well stocked. Although we had stopped at the Walmart in Ruckersville to get essentials, anything we forgot was available in in the campstore which opens at 9AM and closes at 6PM. The cabins were warm and dry. The grills use charcoal and were easy to use. Since we flew in to the area, I didn't have all the camping essentials that would have made the experience even better (such as a camping coffee pot and nice camping pots and pans). I guess we could have packed these, but I'm not a camping professional and don't even own such items. We made do, even so! The washing machine and dryer at the campstore are very good and reasonably priced. The best part of the experience, apart from eating grilled out hotdogs, was the Staff! Randy, Wes and Tammy are simply awesome. Very friendly and helpful and informative! If Shenandoah National Park weren't so far away, I'd come back every year to these cabins!

Room Tip: Be forewarned: the roof over the picnic tables of cabins 3&4 has a leak. If it rains, you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
15.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
974 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
9.9 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
211 reviews
18.2 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewis Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewis Mountain Cabins

Property: Lewis Mountain Cabins
Address: Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park, VA
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 32 site campground with laundry and shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Lewis Mountain Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewis Mountain Campground Hotel Shenandoah National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing