We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could definitely use some work...”

Front Royal RV Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shenandoah National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Front Royal RV Campground
Washington, D.C.
1 review
“Could definitely use some work...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Front Royal Campground over Memorial Day weekend. We were planning to stay at the campgrounds in Shenandoah National Park, but we didn't make reservations and the park was full. We began frantically calling campsites on a list given to us by a forest ranger, and Front Royal was the first campsite with an opening. We were so happy just to have a place to stay that we were more than willing to overlook the campground's many faults.

But other travelers might be a little more discriminating. The hot water heater was broken in the showers near the tent area of the camp, so we had to walk all the way to the front of the camp to shower. Also, the tent sites were pretty cluttered with ash, weeds and rocks. The managers told us to have our trash in the cans by night and they would empty the cans (to avoid tempting any bears to wander over), but the trash can was still full every morning. Thankfully, we didn't run into any hungry bears. We didn't use the pool, but it didn't look too inviting, and the water slide looks like it hasn't been used in years. On the bright side, the bathrooms were always clean and well stocked.

We thought the management--a husband and wife--were very nice and friendly. But this campsite has clearly seen better days.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Needs repairs
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nico03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    8
    7
    16
See reviews for
19
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

My family went to stay at this campground this past weekend (5/23/08) and we were highly disappointed. The positive was that it was very quite and relaxing. However the brochure said they would have pancake breakfast, movies, and a water slide. Their was nothing like this at all. The waterslide was overgrown, dirty and can tell they had no intentions of getting the slide ready for summer. The pool had about knee deep water in it and it should of been filled (5ft). The overall appearance was horrible. We kept thinking this place has so much potential and nothing is being done with it. The playground was not the best and a slide fell, while a child was on it. The miniture golf kept the kids interested for a while but was horribly distressed and could of been a little more manicured. Poison ivy was just growing everywhere. It was a shame and I can't see how they can get by with advertsiing false activities. Don't bother about going unless you have no kids.

  • Liked — Quit and relaxing
  • Disliked — Appearance, false advertisment
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mcnair04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2007

To start, we live in the town that this campground is in and we use to go there all the time (like every other weekend) and it has really gone down hill. It did use to be a KOA but the owners bought another campground and they sold this one to a married couple who will not hire any other help. Their website says that it offers all these activities like pancake breakfast, movie room and crafts this is not so. All the new owners did was copy the original website by the old owners and changed all the names to Front Royal RV Campground. There is not a movie room anymore, the arcade has been closed off and there are no weekend activities. This couple is extremely overwelmed and there is no way they can keep it up. The bathrooms are not always clean and the sewage seems to back up in the mens room quite a bit. A lot of the sites are starting to get overgrown with weeds and fallen limbs from trees. I admit that we still go there but it is nothing like it use to be. Do not be fooled by their website. It is false. Print if out and bring it with you and see what they say. We go because it is close to home but yet enough to get away from the stresses of work. On the flip side there is nothing prettier than Front Royal and there is so much histroy. Skyline Drive is a must see and is only about 3 miles from the campground.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Unable to understand owners with their poor accents, cleanliness, false advertising
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildcatfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shenandoah National Park hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2005

This campground was previously a KOA, but sometime between 2004 and 2005, it became Front Royal RV Campground. I'm not sure if that was at KOA's request, or from a change in ownership. This was probably a very nice campground a few decades back, but it didn't appear to have been maintained well in recent years. That being said, some recent improvements appear to have been made, the campground was clean, and the staff was friendly and accomodating. The water slide worked and was a lot of fun. We stayed in a tent site with power and water. All of the tent sites were surrounded by mature oaks, and though the sites were fairly close together, it wasn't crowded while we were there so we had ample privacy. The sites did show common signs of overuse, with lots of tree roots surfacing, and a good deal of ash mixed in with the soil, but that is typical at older camprgounds. The fishing pond was not even worth the difficult hike required to access it. All in all, we had fun and had no problems during our stay. This campground has potential, and a great location, so we may check it out again in a few years to see if it improves under the new ownership.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Concord (Kannapolis)
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Concord/Kannapolis
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Concord
Sleep Inn Concord
#15 of 26 in Concord
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Concord
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Kannapolis - Concord
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Concord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Front Royal RV Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Royal RV Campground

Property: Front Royal RV Campground
Address: 340 S. Front Royal, Shenandoah National Park, VA (Formerly Front Royal KOA)
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private campground near the entrance to the park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Front Royal Rv Campground Hotel Shenandoah National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing