We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting - rustic lodge with a variety of accommodations.”
Review of Big Meadows Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Meadows Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in the main lodge, upstairs in adjoining rooms (booked as a single room). There are many room choices - a few in the original main lodge, but most in newer separate buildings. Furnishings were fresh and clean, and above average for the rustic setting. We ate dinner in the lodge dining room and thoroughly enjoyed it! A bit pricey for the meal, but not overly so. Overall, we enjoyed it and hope to come back. WiFi is available in the great room of the lodge if you can't live without. Cell service is good right at the lodge also.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

rustic decor yet modern conveniences. Great views off the mountains and lots of wildlife. Restaurant is very pricey and not excellent food. Not many choices, but great view from the tables. Great live entertainment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelerX8413CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We enjoyed several nights at Big Meadows Lodge. Our room was comfortable, a bit "rustic", with a fireplace making it very cozy and comfortable. We walked out the door and onto the trail for a hike with a beautiful view of Shenandoah Valley and on to a waterfall. Wildlife was abundant, and the nearby SNP Visitor Center was interesting. Were there after July 4th weekend, so no crowds. A really quiet get-away!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank memullmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very charming, quaint old-style national park style lodge within the Shenandoah Park. Many hiking trails nearby for various lengths and difficulty. We had a suite which is perfect for a family and enjoyed sitting outside on the deck. It is a great place to get away and enjoy some peace and nature

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My best friend and I decided to vacation together with our families. We decided on the Big Meadows Lodge. We were a little concerned at first, because from the outside the rooms were not particularly attractive. Inside the rooms were quite nice and very clean. The main lodge building was very nice. There was a great room with a roaring fire going in it's large fireplace, rocking chairs to relax in as you enjoyed the view, and a man playing the guitar and singing Simon and Garfunkel songs. There were games and puzzles in the room. Outside deer, that were obviously quite used to the constant stream of visitors, roamed about. We ate two meals in the main dining room at the lodge. Everyone was quite happy with their meals. During dinner, we found ourselves already planning a future trip there. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good location in the Shenandoah National Park on Skyline Drive. Wildlife, scenic views, hiking -- easily accessible. Visited on the 4th of July long weekend; saw deer, bears w/cubs, turkeys, raccoons, skunks, and owls all on our first day. An owl was out in the tree from our front door during the day and a different one sitting on the railing out our back door that night.

Room Tip: Some rooms are either upper level or lower level. If you're not using a cabin, be sure to speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John5829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins with fireplace. Small but very comfortable and quiet. Grounds are lovely as are the views from the deck at the lodge - watched a sunset that was spectacular. Food is good, nice micro brew selection. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
9.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,021 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
59 reviews
23.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Culpeper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
141 reviews
16.1 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
218 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Meadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Meadows Lodge

Address: Mile 51.2, Skyline Dr, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22849
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range: £109 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Meadows Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Big Meadows Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Meadows Hotel Shenandoah National Park
Big Meadows Virginia
Big Meadow Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge Virginia
Big Meadows Shenandoah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing