We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great mountain experience!”
Review of Skyland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skyland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Skyline drive is great and staying at Skyland Lodge fits right in with the experience. The rooms are not fancy, but clean and well equipped and we slept well. I would call the food in the dining room, comfort food and very tasty. If you are traveling through the park have the total experience and stay at one of the lodges. The prices are also reasonable.

Room Tip: The rooms have two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,604 - 1,610 of 2,334 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We've been here a number of times in the past 30 years and always look forward to the food at the Lodge Dining Room and the view of the Shenandoah Valley while we dine. Never have we been disappointed and always hate to leave. I wouldn't recommend taking small children here as they tend to be disruptive and can put a crimp on a quiet visit. There are many trail and hiking opportunities as well. Upgrades on rooms and buldings have been started and will improve the overall facility within the next year or so. Decades of use tend to warrant up keep. Those who like mountain vacations should visit Shenandoah National Park. We learn something new about nature and the park's history every time we come and we talk about our favorite foods for days afterward.

Room Tip: If you like scenic views choose rooms in the lower buildings. Be courteous of others and be as quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent one night at Skyland as part of a day hike in Shenandoah. The hotel is conveniently and centrally located within the park at mile 42. Access is easy from both the main skyline drive as well as US 211.

This is a pretty good hotel. Travelers used to ultra clean and modern amenities will be disappointed. However, this is not the city, and one of the advantages of this hotel is the central location. There are only 12 channels on the television, and the furniture/fell of the rooms are quite rustic. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are adequate with plenty of hot water, and views are excellent - very beautiful sunset views from most of the rooms. We didn't come with kids, but there was a tot lot, and lots of open space for kids to run around and play,

The bed, sheets, and comforter are pretty basic. The Skyland restaurant is within walking distance from most of the properties.

Overall, this is a nice home base to stay during your stay at Shenandoah. It's a clean room where you can awake rejuvenated for a wonderful day in the park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gvr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The views were excellent and it was great to be close to the Skyline Drive. The restaurants had good food but the service was slow. We really enjoyed the drive. Everything is well marked. The room was rustic. Everything was clean and nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakesmom624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We did not expect much after reading the TA reviews and we were still disappointed. In a National Park, we would expect maybe rustic and a bit worn, but what we found was more like old and run down. Our room was very dark and poorly lighted, with very outdated furniture and a bed mattress that had seen better days probably a few years ago. The bathroom was always very damp, with things that could rust rusty, a ceiling that was falling apart over the bath, extremely poor lighting, a sink height closer to knee height than waist height, and a magnet for millipedes. Millipedes are like Centipedes but larger – about the size of your little finger. Over two days, I flushed seven found in the bathroom and tossed an additional four found on either the ceiling or floor of the bedroom. Walking around at night barefoot was a sporting proposition. Also, lots of spiders, crickets, flies, and assorted unknowns. I would expect to coexist with a fair number of insects in such a wooded setting, but the sheer number and variety was a bit too much. I guess you are paying more for the view and the location than the quality of the accommodations. In our case, my wife had booked the place six months ago as a spring-hiking Christmas present and had gone to great pains to get a room with a view. They booked us in the Shenandoah building. We had a great view…of a tree. The better view, unfortunately, was on the other side of the tree. If you stepped out of our ground floor room and looked about 60 degrees to the right, the view was indeed lovely, but if you then looked down, you would notice that you were standing in a rather deep puddle of muddy water that threatened to flow into the room under the gap beneath the door. You get the idea. This place needs lots of TLC and a serious management upgrade. Outside the park, this is definitely a one-star place. I gave it two stars because of the location inside the park. But, hey, we absolutely loved the restaurant!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I made a planned 2 day, 1 night trip to Shenandoah National Park (SNP), but left most of the details, including lodging, unplanned. When we arrived at the south entrance to the park I was surprised to see a sign indicating that Skyland had vacancies. The person at the entrance post told us that two hours ago there were 12 rooms. I immediately called for a reservation and was told there were only "preferred" rooms remaining for $175/night - we booked a room. (Before that we thought we would have to leave the park for a nearby hotel and then re-enter the next day.)
A preferred room is one with a ceiling fan, AC and TV. Check in was swift; the staff courteous. At first our room was a bit off-putting by appearing dingy and old, but then I realized that this is not your typical $175 room; location, location, location - a National Park. As many of the reviewers will tell you, the rooms are adequate, but in need of an upgrade, especially the bathrooms. Lighting was poor, but sufficient and the room and bathroom were nearly spotless. Bed sheets were soft and the towels were also soft and absorbent. Except for two carpenter ants early on, we had no issues. We had a preferred "white noise" fan in our room and had a restful sleep.
We ate the Skyland restaurant for dinner. It was crowded and the staff was busy, but our waiter was pleasant. The main course food was more like diner food and a bit over priced. I ate the turkey dinner plate and my husband had the featured fried chicken dinner. For dessert we split the house special blackberry ice cream pie; it was delicious. A generous portion of ice cream on a crunchy graham cracker crust topped with a fluffy meringue.
I persuaded my husband to attend the nightly entertainment at the bar restaurant (8:30-10.) The performer could not have been better suited to our taste, a solo acoustic guitarist who entertained the crowd with lesser know hits from the sixties and seventies. We did not order any food or drinks as we sat at the table and listened to the music, but our waitress could not have been more pleasant and accommodating by getting us each a glass of water and then coming back on several occasions to check on us.
The hotel is under renovation in the main lounge, restaurant and a few (not sure all) rooms. A sign indicating "Pardon our Appearance" suggested that they had planned to get a lot of the work completed over last winter, but the weather hindered their efforts. WiFi is currently only available in the hotel lounge near the restaurant, not the rooms.
Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a TV, a ceiling fan or AC, so if that's important, request it. No rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtjc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed in a cabin which was actually one cabin split in half. You can hear everything from the other half. Views were wonderful. At night the place is too lit up, had lights shinning in cabin windows.Food and bar are nice with good food and service. No TV in cabin and no cell service, at least for ATT. Wifi at office and dinning building. Many renovations appear to be going on.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to have a better view than most of the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjfster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
6.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,021 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
59 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
21.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Culpeper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland

Address: Skyline Dr Mile 41.7, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range: £116 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Skyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing