We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Skyland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skyland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed two nights at the end of a long trip up the Blue Ridge. Great setting, on the edge of the mountains with wonderful views. Dining room is standard for National Parks, highs and lows, a little disorganized, great waitress. Rooms are nice, with balconies. There is music at night, but the night we were there it seemed neither local nor good. Just loud. Obviously the Park is the draw and it is very accessible.

Room Tip: There are a variety of units, so be sure to ask what's available and look at a map of the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piotzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,570 - 1,576 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

I never knew about Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. What a wonderful place and we loved staying at the Skyland Lodge. One night is definitely not enough! We will be back! Peaceful and quiet, great food, and entertainment by.the Shenandoah Cloggers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daphne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just a wonderful place to unwind and enjoy the peacefulness that nature has to offer. If you like to walk or hike, this place is for you. It is always fun to spot the wildlife that abounds in the park. It is not a fancy place, but very well kept and clean. It is a great family place with lots of activities available for all ages.

Room Tip: Upstairs for the best view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SundayrOse_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The view was great and the room was comfortable. But that's about it. The lady at the front desk was exceptionally sweet. The lodge is close to the hiking trails and has a restaurant attached. The food was average but the views are spectacular. So if you want a no-nonsense kind of place for a pretty steep price, with no breakfast included you should stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is my second visit to Skyland Resort. Make sure you request a room with a view. It's breathtaking to see the valley below. We went in mid-April and it was just beautiful with spring-like weather one day and wintry weather the next. We even had about an inch of snow on the second day. The snow-blanketed view was just gorgeous. The rooms are very basic and there is little insulation. However, the heaters kept us warm enough. Food is expensive and choices are few at the Skyland Resort Lodge but you can always get better and cheaper food at the town of Luray which is about 40 minutes away. Try Uncle Buck's for inexpensive diner food (great breakfast option) and Rancho Viejo for good Mexican. If time permits, visit Luray Caverns. It's worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Perfect for us. We wanted quality and clean accommodations close to the hiking trails. The restaurant was reasonably priced with a decent variety in the menu. If you are doing Shenandoah, get a room if you can. The place is often booked.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a suite and was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Skyline drive is great and staying at Skyland Lodge fits right in with the experience. The rooms are not fancy, but clean and well equipped and we slept well. I would call the food in the dining room, comfort food and very tasty. If you are traveling through the park have the total experience and stay at one of the lodges. The prices are also reasonable.

Room Tip: The rooms have two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
6.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,005 reviews
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
6.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
136 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
20.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland

Address: Skyline Dr Mile 41.7, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range: £108 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Skyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing