We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Loved our whole trip!"”
Review of Skyland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skyland
Certificate of Excellence
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Loved our whole trip!"”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at Skyland Resort. We had a WONDERFUL stay. The view out of our room was gorgeous. We spent only one night & at in the Taproom. Had a good meal & great service. And it was great just jumping on our cycles & being on Skyline Drive right away! GREAT vacation!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    880
    272
    93
    41
See reviews for
786
1,018
102
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmdel, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms are old and need updating, but would have been ok except when we arrived, the floor was filthy. I wiped off a square of floor to have a clean spot for my feet when I got out of bed, and the washcloth was black. The food at the restaurant wasn't good, but not horrible, and they didn't price gouge too much. However, the service was very bad. Wrong meals, wrong prices, didn't bring things, and couldn't get other servers in the restaurant to help. We had a meal so bad, we all passed it around so nobody had to eat the whole thing. There was no discount for the terrible food-yet they knew we were dissatisfied with it. Front desk was not very friendly either. The hiking and scenery were great, but staying at the skyland lodge definitely put a hitch in our enjoyment.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucksmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyndon, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Shenandoah and Skyland never fail to please
...we are birders and the variety is wonderful. Of course we enjoy spotting bears too. All things considered the rooms are fine particularly whe n compared to our old sleeping bags when we camped at bIg meadows 20 years ago. Love this place. For us it is perfection.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Have been to Skyland many times. There are cabins to rent and there is also a motel unit. Rates are very reasonable. The scenery is just beautiful and there are many trails to hike in the area. Skyland also offers a nice restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. At times, in the evening, there was entertainment in the bar area. There is also a gift shop. Horseback riding is available. The past couple of times that we have visited there, we came with our dog. They have special rooms in the motel units that are dedicated for people traveling with pets.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patina1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolkamer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We had a remodeld room. The bath room is renewed and the room itself is fixed up. It still has the old feel which I like for this kind of resort.

Everything was clean en the bes was good. The outside furniture was not so clean so we did not use it but that was basically the only thing I could fault. We had a wonderfull stay and enjoyed the park a lot!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob_Nu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Excellent overall. Will be back for an extended stay. Room had beautiful sunset view and was within walking distance of the Stony Man Trail. Quick concessions had bakery items and great coffee. Had to call special number to get day of reservation as we were just passing through.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The rooms are situated to take full advantage of the beautiful views of the valley with additional mountain ranges in the distance. The room are rustic and basic, but everything worked and the rooms are undergoing upgrades. The restaurant is also basic but needs a decor update. The food was tasty. Vegetarian selections are limited. Avoid the "grab and go" in the lobby. The very best part is, of course, the location in the middle of the beautiful Shenandoah National Park. Fabulous hikes are nearby, and more trails can be found all along the Skyline Drive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collegevisitor014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
6.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
961 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
39 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.9 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland

Property: Skyland
Address: Skyline Dr Mile 41.7, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Skyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing